Blog Treasures 4~7

Happy Easter!

Welcome to Blog Treasures! Here you’ll find the best of the blogsphere from the past week. So, grab your coffee, sit back and above all – enjoy *smile*

Featured

The Bookshelf Muse (Angela Ackerman & Becca Puglisi) is a favorite online resource for me (as attested to by the link in my side column). This week saw a fantastic announcement that I wanted to be sure you all saw – the upcoming release of The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer’s Guide to Character Expression. I know it will be on my bookshelf soon – will be nice to have the “Muse” close at hand.

On the Publishing Industry

The Business Rusch: Audience by Kristine Kathryn Rusch.

Indie Publishing Thinking by Dean Wesley Smith. What does your revenue stream pie look like?

Should Trade Publishers Start Ditching Their B2B Imprints in a B2C World? from Mike Shatzkin. Also from Mike, A Feast of Data in Pew Survey of Ebook Readers.

Barnes & Nobles Allows Amazon-Published Children’s Books Back Into Stores by Chris Meadows.

On Aspects of Publishing

Cover Art: Tips for the Do-it-Y0urselfer from Talli Roland at EPubGuide.

Author Branding Plan: The Creed by Jen Talty.

Tips on Publishing and Marketing from Joanna Penn.

Writing Conferences – Beware of Crossing Deer by Kristen Lamb – who, by the way, will be a featured speaker at DFWCON on May 19-20, in case you’d like to meet the Social Media Jedi Master in person.

On Social Media

From August McLaughlin: Pinterest: How to Pin Without Getting Arrested.

5 Principles for Using Facebook by Jane Friedman.

Why I’m Glad I Joined Twitter by Ava Jae.

Navigating the World of Social Media by David Slegg at EPubGuide.

On Writing Craft

Larry Brooks recently spoke at an RWA chapter event in Portland and brings us the wisdom he learned in What I Just Learned From A Room Full of Romance Writers.

Back To Plot Basics from Martha Alderson the Plot Whisperer.

Four Tips for Adding a New Twist on an Old Plot by Janice Hardy.

Multi-published Romance Author Kara Lennox joins the Writers in the Storm this week with a new series – Plot Fixer: What To Do If Your Premise Isn’t Compelling.

How to Keep Strong Female Characters Likeable by Marcy Kennedy.

Connotation: Writing Between the Lines by Lisa Hall-Wilson.

The Dialogue Tag Debate by Billie Jo Woods.

Internal Dialogue by Elizabeth S. Craig.

Building Your Writer’s Craft Library by Carrie Mumford.

On the Writer’s Life

My best blog find in recent weeks is Ava Jae. This week Ava brings us a fun and thoughtful post on Why Writing Through Resistance is Essential.

Common Myths About Plots & Pants: Plotting Talk for Writers by Chipper Muse.

Jami Gold brings us a great tip to help bring comments on our work from multiple sources into a single document in MS Word Trick: Combining Changes and Comments. Also from Jami: How Do We Find Beta Readers?

Ways to be a More Productive Writer from Janice Hardy.

How to be a Full Time Writer from Chuck Wendig.

True Grit as a Writer by Bob Mayer.

Reading in Public: Three Steps to Captivate Your Audience by Gabriela Pereira.

Intriguing, Fun, Fit and more

Mary Jo Gibson brings us her Cabinet of Curiosities, all you Steampunkers will especially like the segment on Victorian Crime & Punishment.

My favorite fun video of the week is brought to us by Shea MacLeod: Zombie Ninja’s – this had me in tears – hilarious!

Leanne Shirtliffe shows us How To Search Bomb Our Friends.

Writer and fitness guru August McLaughlin takes a look at The Question Game on Steroids.

Catie Rhodes brings us some cool books and gadgets in What’s New: April 2012.

Reviews

Movies: Gloria Oliver reviews Mirror, Mirror and Wrath of the Titans. Pat Thunstrom reviews the Hunger Games (book and movie adaptation). Tameri Etherton reviews Hunger Games Left Me Starving.

Books: The lovely Em reviews the Hunger Games Trilogy. Sonia G. Mederios asks What Really Drives Dexter Morgan? (books and tv show aspects).

Television: Tiffany A. White brings us the Results of the 2012 Pick Per Night. Fun and humorous results! Tiffany also reviews the New Season of Survivor this week. Amber West reviews the new reality show: Shark Tank!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Blog Treasures 4~7

  1. Stacy Green says:

    Great mashup as always, Gene. Missed some of these!

  2. Leanne Shirtliffe says:

    I’ve been clicking on some of these this morning. I didn’t do a lot of blog reading this week, so thanks for assembling such great stuff, Gene!

    Sending you goofy faces from Canada. Oh. And I’m off to search bomb you.

  3. Thanks for the link love. Ooh – I made Gene’s mashup. I think this must be a significant milestone. 🙂 I think this must be a day for Canucks – there’s at 3 of us on here today. 😛

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Stacy: Thanks!

      Leanne: Bombs away, woohoo!

      Lisa: Yep, a total milestone – out of 500+ blog tweets this week, you made it. Nicely done. By the way, I totally dig the Moose People – er, um, Canucks *grin*

  4. Carrie M says:

    Yay to the Moose People!

    Great list o’ links Gene – I’m off to read. Thanks for another fantastic list (and for the mention) 🙂

  5. Happy Easter, Gene! Thanks for these fabulous resources and for including my links!

    Am I odd for never having heard the word Canucks before? Guessing it means brilliant bloggers (who happen to have Canadian accents)… 😉

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Carrie: Looking at my stats I actually have more readers from Canada today then the US, which has never happened before – so, definitely “Yay to the Moose People!” 🙂

      August: Canuck is a slang term for Canadians – Vancouver Canucks is a hockey team. There is actually a great deal of obscure history behind the term, maybe a future Designing post to honor my wonderful Canadian readers. Brilliant bloggers for sure. Enjoy the links and the holiday 🙂

  6. Jenny Hansen says:

    Funny about the big Canadian audience… I love these posts every Saturday, and I curse you for adding a few hours of reading to my schedule. 🙂

    Thank you for including Kara’s post from Writers In the Storm! She’ll be blogging the first week of the month every month from now on. 🙂

  7. Thanks for linking to my post as well 🙂 It’s always exciting to see one of my posts listed when I open up your mash-ups!

    I wish I could go to DFWCON. I’d love to be able to meet in person so many of the great writers I’ve met online. Unfortunately, it’s a little far from home and I’ve already been to NY for a conference this year. Maybe next year 🙂

  8. Happy Easter Gene! That book on character emotions is super fabulous. As are all of your blog treasures for this week. Once again, you’ve rocked the blogosphere! Thanks for having me in the company of such amazing writers. I wish I could go to DFWCON this year too, but next year for sure. Hopefully you’ll be there so I can give you a ginormous hug! Thanks so much for all your hard work and support of us writers. Love it.

  9. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    Another awesome mashup, Gene. I feel like a kid in a candy store. Which one should I pick? I think I’ll start with the video about Zombie Ninjas!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Jen: Looking forward to Kara’s post, her first one was very useful 🙂

      Marcy: I can’t make it this year either but am already planning now to go in 2013.

      Tameri: Thanks and I’d give you a big hug right back. Love my fellow writers 🙂

      Lynn: Zombie Ninja’s is a great pic – had my whole family cracking up!

  10. Lots of great links! I’ll have to check out the Cabinet of Curiosities one, since I’m a bit of a steampunk gal. 😉

  11. Pingback: Link Feast Vol. 3 | Reetta Raitanen's Blog

I'd love to chat with you!