ROWeaster 6~8

Happy Easter!

Roz Morris

Today, I have, for the first time ever, a review of a book by someone I know, the fabulous Roz Morris, a.k.a. @dirtywhitecandy (yes, that’s a hint to follow her). Roz is a multi-published best-selling ghost writer as well as having one written under her own name – the fantastic Memories of a Future Life (which I’ve also read and loved).

Beyond novels, Roz is an exceptional blogger covering writing craft and a cool series called Undercover Soundtrack where she profiles the playlists and musical tastes of people like James Scott Bell. Roz is a regular addition to my Blog Treasures writer’s mash-up because her content is always good – just throwing that in there in case you need more reason to go check her site out *smile*

Without further adieu (because I know you all have eggs to hunt)…

A Review of Nail Your Novel by Roz Morris

I loved Nail Your Novel as much for the format as the content. The book opens with something I’ve not seen in any other craft book, a front end index, which makes finding information quick and easy. Throughout the book, Roz follows a smooth format that includes concise steps on what to do and what to watch for. What is the focus of a particular part of the writing process? What should your inner critic be doing here and what shouldn’t it be doing? (Something I know we all struggle with). Scattered throughout the book are timely “Thumbnail notes” that expand on the information just discussed providing targeted reinforcement of concepts that I found very useful.

Roz has a clear-cut style and relaxed voice that is a pleasure to read. She presents a clean Ten Task process that guides the writer from initial inspiration to submission. At each stage, Roz provides tips and tricks, where to place your focus, when to stop and move on and what the focus of your inner critic should be to keep it from marauding through the work-in-progress. One of the other helpful things I found in Nail Your Novel are the plethora of handy and inspirational “games” that Roz provides that help to maximize your efforts at various stages of the writing process.

The book also gives a host of tips on how to revive abandoned works – a chance to save those orphaned drafts we all have – so that you can “draft, fix and finish with confidence”. Roz’s methods have already helped me move one project forward and I’ll be trying them on future works as well.

Nail Your Novel is a quick read packed with a mega-ton of useful advice and would make a great addition to any writer’s collection.

And now, this week’s update (I swear I’ll let you hunt eggs in a minute).

-Write 7k of fiction per week. Yep, all good here, although in honesty I just squeaked in this week due to a new ripple on the day job front. I also had a brief email conversation with my WWBC mentor and after making a tweak to my project logline I’ll be moving into stage two.

-Read and review 4 books by May 20th. I’m currently reading The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner. I don’t normally read YA but the book hooked me in by page three – yeah, it’s a great read so far. Might be done by next Sunday so I can review it – will see how the week goes.

-Visit at least 15 other ROWers each week. I know I visited around twelve on Monday for the opening check-in and then lost track. All the same – get out and support your fellow ROWmates – that, my friends, is the heart and soul of ROW.

Yes, you can go hunt eggs now *smile*

Have a great week and…

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to ROWeaster 6~8

  1. Gene – if Easter eggs are lovely surprises, I think I’ve found one here! Thank you – big virtual chocolate goodies to you!

  2. Marcia says:

    Read nail Your Novel and loved it. Also read Memories of a Future Life and loved that, too! Roz has been on my radar for some time. I’m glad you reviewed her how-to book for the benefit of everyone…it’s definitely worth reading!
    Great job on your first week, Gene. I hope job responsibilities don’t mess with your goals.
    Hurry and go find some eggs before your girls find them all!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Roz: Mmm – thanks for the chocolate and the great tips in Nail Your Novel. Have a lovely Easter πŸ™‚

      Marcia: Roz is someone that I hope will be on many peoples radar. The job bumps are one of the reasons why I stress having flexibility built into goals – one never knows what can happen and experience has taught me to be prepared. Have a great Easter πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks for putting Roz up here on your blog.. I am off to check out “Nail Your Novel” as soon as I am done commenting on your bodacious blog here.
    Way to go on your progress (7k a week – sweet!). And good luck in Stage Two..
    Have a great Easter, Gene.. I’ll see you around.

  4. Gloria Weber says:

    Thanks for putting “Nail Your Novel” on my radar. Congrats on making progress on your goals. Hope you find lots of yummy candy today. (I find mine in my kids’ baskets… Not like they need that much… Hehe!)

  5. authormarieandrews says:

    Definitely picking up Nail Your Novel – sounds like my kind of read. Congrats on keeping up with your 7k, that’s an amazing accomplishment! You’re always so generous with your words and your time – and I wanted you to know that it’s very much appreciated.

    πŸ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Darlene: Thanks and best of luck to you this round as well – once you’re free to enjoy it (not long to go). Have a nice Easter πŸ™‚

      Gloria: Oh, I would totally raid their baskets – once they slip into a sugar coma its all open game. Right? *grins*

      Marie: I think you’ll enjoy Nail Your Novel. One thing I’ve learned about reading craft books (83 such currently) is that every one of them has a pile of gems locked inside waiting to be mined. The more we read the more craft wealth acquire and the more we enrich our work. And Marie – I always appreciate your super positive support as well – thanks, right back atcha πŸ˜‰

  6. Carrie M says:

    Thanks for sharing this review! I’ve looked at Nail Your Novel several times; now I’ve added it to my ‘to-read’ list. Happy egg-hunting!

  7. Juliana Haygert says:

    I loved Nail Your Novel too! Great read!
    And great job on your goals, Gene! As always, only the best here πŸ˜‰
    Happy Easter!

  8. Thanks for the review. The book sounds interesting and I’ll definitely check it out. Great job on your goals this week and all your ROW support! Wishing you all the best for the upcoming week!

  9. KM Huber says:

    Nail Your Novel does sound great, Gene, For me, it’s the rescue of works not so much abandoned but written so long ago. Hairsplitting, don’t you know. Great goals, Gene, as always. How do you write 7K a week? Wow! If you feel like passing along any tips, you know where I am.

    As always, great blog, Gene.

    Karen

  10. Julie Glover says:

    Okay, I followed her! Thanks for the book review too.

    7k sounds like a great goal. I actually wrote 7,001 words myself last week, and it was a lot for me! Best wishes with that. I’ll be eager to hear how THE THIEF is. We read THE BOOK THIEF in my book club about a year ago, and one of the participants got the title wrong and read THE THIEF instead. She loved it!

    Have a terrific ROW80!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Carrie: Awesome, enjoy the read – I sure did!

      Juliana: Roz is the best. Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

      Raelyn: Definitely give it a read – Roz’s format is such that you can carry this with and get a quick segment in the checkout line.

      Karen: Nail Your Novel has lots of great ideas for helping to bring lost works back on track. How do I get 7k a week or more (and it is more, sometimes by a lot)? Sacred writing time is all I can say but perhaps I’ll do a class on it one day – just sayin πŸ™‚

      Julie: Too cool, Julie – Roz was one of the first great mentors I found online and her advice is always dead on. Saw you had 7000 and 1 *grins* keep at it because it gets easier with persistence. Loving The Thief so far can’t wait to share it with all of you.

  11. Hello, all! Just saw you wiggling your toes in WordPress from my end of the blogosphere and I find this is where you all came from! Thank you for your lovely comments, both on my blog and here. I write what I feel will be helpful and am genuinely touched when I find it has touched a chord.

  12. EllieAnn says:

    nice work on your word count! Awesome, man!
    And Roz’s book sounds really helpful, thanks for sharing the review.

  13. Jenny Hansen says:

    I love that Easter egg hunt picture, and I LOVE your ROW updates! Great job, my friend. Your 7K per week continues to amaze me. πŸ™‚

  14. Reetta Raitanen says:

    Thank you for the great review. I have Nail Your Novel in my Kindle already and I’ve bumped it up to be the next book I’ll read. Congrats on acing your ROW goals.

  15. Em says:

    Your 7k is still my aspiration!! Great work especially with a ripple at work. I adore that saying and from now I on I am going to have ripples rather than HUGE BIG TIDAL WAVES!!!

    Have a great week!

  16. Stacy Green says:

    Roz has some great advice, doesn’t she? And she’s always been so good about answering my questions, no matter how naive they were, lol.

    I actually wrote 7k this week, too, Gene – you were my inspiration. Don’t know if I can do it week after week, but I’m sure going to try. Congrats on a fabulous week, and good luck with this one.

  17. Pingback: Tall Tale Tuesday: What the Hexagon? « Ellie Ann

I'd love to chat with you!

