Blog Treasures 11-5

Welcome to Blog Treasures, my weekly roundup of the best of the blogsphere from the last week. I’m working hard, gearing up for NaNoWriMo, so for you NaNoites I’ve added a section of links just for you (although the writing advice contained in them applies to all writers). Enjoy the links!

Featured

Ennui: weariness, discontent, lack of interest, boredom. The blogging life is prone to moments of ennui where it all blurs together and the muse becomes disinterested. Occupational Hazard.

There were quite a few posts on this subject this week. Here are a few thought-provoking ones for your consideration. The Blogging Cycle: How Do You Stay Sane? by Jami Gold. Social Media Ennui by Kait Nolan. Blog Ennui and Platforms Built of Bodies by Susan Bischoff. The Life Cycle of a Blogger – Ten Stages by Roni Loren.

NaNo Fever

We are five days into NaNoWriMo and some of us are flying along while others are less so. If your looking for a creative burst to get the NaNo flowing try Larry Brooks NaNoWriMo tips series. NaNoWriMo #31: Into the Abyss will get you started.

Alexandra Sokoloff rounds up her NaNo prep series with Ready, Set, NaNo! Tips & Tricks Galore!

Jenny Hansen brings us 6 Easy Tips to Increase Your NaNo Word Count.

Kathy Owen explores 3 Things Yoda Can Teach NaNo Writers.

On Publishing and Social Media

Amy Shojai brings us tips and hints for Media Training Pitch-Craft.

Roz Morris reveals a few of the websites that Review Indie Authors Alongside Mainstream.

Jami Gold explores the subject of E-Publishers vs. Agents.

Kristen Lamb discusses How to Win the Hearts of Bloggers.

Dan Blank relates how People Deliver Higher ROI Then Technology. (For those not familiar, ROI = Return On Investment).

On the Craft of Writing

Agent extraordinaire Don Maass is featured this week on Writers In The Storm with It’s Not About The Cougar. Must read post!

Carrie Mumford offers us 5 Grammar Resources to Keep Our Skills Top-Notch.

From the Bookshelf Muse: Character Trait: Guarded & Weather Entry: Heat Wave.

Write It Sideways explores the question: Are Ambiguous Endings Powerful or Frustrating?

Kristen Lamb brings us Structure Part 5: Understanding your Seed Idea.

Janice Hardy guest posts on Pen & Parchment with tips & suggestions for mixing our Plotter and Pantser sides.

On the Writing Life

Debra Eve (a.k.a. Later Bloomer) brings us the Festival of Later Bloomers: 12 Days of Giveaways. Free PDF of the first book in her new series profiling some of the greatest late bloomers of all time. I’ve been reading it between NaNo sessions this week and Debra did a fantastic job. Highly recommended.

Shea MacLeod profiles some of the hottest indie chicks in Is Your Life Whispering to You?

Catie Rhodes brings us an incredible list of writing resources in The Learning Curve.

Life is subject to change. Laura Drake of Writers in the Storm offers us tips on how to handle Critique Group Changes.

Kristen Lamb baits the unsuspecting James Scott Bell with free chocolate and brings us a fantastic interview that won James his freedom in: Pay me in Flesh.

Jess Witkins hosts the fabulous Pam Hawley who offers us a Holiday Sanity Survival Kits for Writers.

Fun & Interesting Links

Art is one of the best sources of inspiration for writers. Mary Jo Gibson provides us with a plethora of artistic dreams in Cabinet of Curiosities and The Art of Propaganda.

Who Are the Best Guitarists (and Writers) of All Time? Weigh in with your suggestions at my ROWbro Kerry Meacham’s site.

Need a break? There were quite a few movie and TV reviews this week that might help you target in on a relaxing time. Kait Nolan: Thoughts on the Grimm Pilot; Tiffany A. White: Creeping Through the Murder House, Grimm vs. Evil & Dazed & Confused; Piper Bayard & Holmes: the movie Ides of March;

Renee Jacobson takes a look at the recent “Occupy” protests in an Opportunity for Dialogue.

Jenny Hansen wraps up her Undie Chronicles with The Final Episode.

Ellie Soderstrom brings us a fun post on Why Meth Dealers Are the Best Boyfriends.

Kate Wood offers us tasty treats in Easy & Yummy Thanksgiving Recipes.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Blog Treasures 11-5

  1. K.B. Owen says:

    Thanks, Gene, for the linky-love! So Yoda, resonated with you he did, hmmm?

    I always forget when I click on your blog that I’m then going to feel compelled to check about 5 other links before I start my Saturday chores! Well, there goes another hour…. 🙂

    Kathy

  2. Thanks for including me here, Gene. I have to admit — this is the thing I probably know the least about in the whole world, so I would be interested if some other folks would chime in and enlighten me about the whole Occupy Wall Street Movement.

    Like Kathy said, I should remember to click on you AFTER I take my shower on Saturday mornings! Such good stuff. 😉

  3. Piper Bayard says:

    Honored to be here, Gene. Thank you for taking the time and effort to put together this great mashup.

  4. Laura Drake says:

    Thanks, as usual, Gene for a great Mash-up of links. I loved the Plotter and Pantser post – I’m the same, but never saw it as a strength before! Someone helping me see something from a new point of view is rare and powerful.

    Thanks also for citing Writers in the Storm!
    Love your blog…

  5. Jess Witkins says:

    This looks like a particularly good batch of fresh baked blog links! But I have to correct you that the holiday survival post is a guest post written by my blogging twin in a parallel universe and Life List Club member, Pam Hawley. I’m just the happy host this week! Definitely a must read though, start prepping your survival kits, writers of the world!

  6. Writers who spend little time on the web should stop by your mash-ups religiously…as should the rest of us. 😉 Thanks for another terrific list, Gene. And best of luck with NaNoWriMo!

  7. Jami Gold says:

    Thanks for the link love, Gene! I just caught up on Jenny’s undies posts yesterday–Hilarious. Guess I need to check out The Final Episode now. 🙂

  8. carrie m says:

    Thanks again for taking the time to pull all of these posts together, Gene! I’m starting to rely on these as my Saturday morning blog reading 🙂 Thanks for the mention too!

  9. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    What an awesome mash-up, Gene. Thank you!

  10. kerrymeacham says:

    Thanks for the link, Gene. Great list, as always. ~clink~

  11. Thanks for including Writers in the Storm not once, but twice!, in your Blog Treasures, Gene. We appreciate it. And thanks also for directing me to Pay Me in Flesh. What fun–and information!
    Fae Rowen

  12. Thanks, Gene! Can’t believe you’re doing Nano and keeping up with all this stuff. You must only be sleeping three hours now!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Have I ever mentioned how much I think my readers rock! Well, you do 🙂

      The one nice thing about blogging is that even pre-shower everyone smells great.

      Jess: This is fixed. Thanks for the catch.

      Debra: Still at four hour of sleep a day, not sure I could function on three or I might try it 🙂 The cost is paid in not having time to fully comment back, tweet, etc. but hey one person can only do so much.

      Enjoy the links 😀

  13. asraidevin says:

    I love the categories of the links.

    I know the feeling about not being able to keep up with social media.

  14. amyshojai says:

    Wow…gotta bookmark this one and read more at my leisure (HA! the “L” word mocks me…) Thanks so much for the mention and the great roundup.

  15. I love when my blogging friends put together a list of really good links to peruse through. You did a superb job, Gene. Thank you for sharing the fruits of your research 🙂

  16. EllieAnn says:

    Hi Gene! Thanks so much for including my post in your mash up! I’m always honored to be on your site. =)

  17. Jenny Hansen says:

    I’m laughing at Amy’s comment above. The “L” word….hahahaha. I feel the same way but I will find the time. I have a nasty cold I’m battling, but I will WIN and get my NaNo act back into gear. 🙂

I'd love to chat with you!