ROWdate 11-6

Artist depiction of Earth and her current satellites. Courtesy of the ESA.

“Sir, there seems to be a massive debris field between us and NaNomia.”

“Maneuver us around it, Ensign”

“I can’t sir. It. It is surrounding the entire planet.”

“On screen.” (view screen comes on showing massive devastation obscuring the planet) “My god, what happened here”

Brainy Vulcan Annoyance “Well. Captain. I think the planets plot exploded.”

“Not the plot! There has to be a way through. Find it, Ensign. We must reach NaNomia.”

*smile*

Hi everyone!

The above sums up my first week in NaNoWriMo but worry not, the good Ensign is finding his way through. I’m sitting at 7920 words for NaNo and will be adding at least 2500 more today (hopefully more). My ROWbro Kerry Meacham and honorary ROWsis Jami Gold are planned for a few word sprint sessions later this morning and throughout the day and I’ll be write right there with them.

There have, of course, been a few twists and turns with the NaNo project, but I expected as much. I started building the storyline I’m writing in October so it is still new and shiny and watching dust motes float in the light stream from the morning sun. The kitten does the same thing. Its cute. Not so much when its ones plot, but I have some fantastic friends that are helping it along. (Thank you, Donna Newton, my incredible team leader at WWBC).

I’m up to date on Kristen’s Blogging for Brand lessons. I turned in my first full assignment earlier in the week and am waiting for Kristens awesome-dipped-in-jedi-glitter response (with 100 people in the class it does take a bit, no worries).

Ah, the treadmill. Made it 2 out of 3 this week. Yesterday, my washer died which turned our laundry room into a disaster zone of tools and “But I haven’t done my laundry yet” teen zombies. Of course, this is also where the treadmill is. New washer arrives Monday. I’ll be on the treadmill after that. Thanks to all of you that have tweeted your support, I truly appreciate it and want to let you know it does help keep me motivated.

Hope all of you have a fantastic week. Rock the ROW!

Peaceful Journeys.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to ROWdate 11-6

  1. Marcia says:

    Good morning, Gene! Interesting week you’re having, but it sounds like you have it under control. Those twists and turns can actually improve the story, in my experience anyway. Good luck on your sprints…hitting 10,000 would be awesome!

  2. kerrymeacham says:

    LOL – Love “I think the planet’s plot exploded” thing. Keep the faith ROWbro. I’ll see you at 9 a.m. ~clink~

  3. K.B. Owen says:

    Don’t forget daylight savings time is over, Kerry! Have fun with the sprint; Jenny H. and I did one a couple of weeks ago – really cool!

    Sorry to hear about your laundry angst, Gene! Especially with teen daughters. *shudder* Hang in there! πŸ™‚

  4. Em says:

    Sorry to hear your treadmill is out of bounds for a few days and hope it all gets sorted soon!

    I have found sprints so helpful to get myself motivated after dinner when I could easily procrastinate then freak out at how late it has gotten.

    As we draw close to the end of week one I hope you are all ready and prepared for week two!!!

  5. Nooooo, not the plot! Hehehe, awesome. Glad you’re doing well with the words. I might join you guys later for one of the sprints! Have a wonderful week 2 of Nano πŸ˜€

  6. heatherishither says:

    Good work on Nano! You can work out all the issues. Have a great week 2. πŸ™‚

  7. Stacy Green says:

    Good work on NaNo and still managing to do your other commitments. Have a great week!

  8. amyshojai says:

    I hate it when the plot goes all splattery–sort of like the URKs I have to clean up from the kitty now and again (dang hairballs!). Just let the kitten be your guide and all will be well.

    ….or so I’m told. *s*

    • Gene Lempp says:

      First sprint went well, 1186 in an hour and 1934 total today (just short of 10k and aiming for 12-13k by days end).

      The plot. Well everyone knows how a microfracture under pressure can become a major chasm. Yeah, that’s it. Anyway, I now know where the flaws and issues are which means I can address them. I made a correction and just kept going along with notes in the “Research” area on my WriteWay (which I love, love, love. Thanks to Kait Nolan).

      Next word sprint at noon. I’ll update again after that.

      Thanks to all of you for your great support πŸ™‚

  9. Ryan King says:

    I absolutely love your Trekkie comments. They make me smile every time I see them. Just remember, behind every good NaNo novel, there’s a Scotty- a miracle worker. I know right now yours is saying “I’m giving it all she’s got Captain”. He always comes through in the end. Just keep working at it and I have no doubt you’ll reach your goals.

  10. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    Great photo, and I love your Nanomia opening. You’re doing great with NaNo. I’m losing traction with mine, but will get back to it today. Bummer about the washer. They don’t make them like they used to and only last about five years, it seems. Best of luck with your NaNo progress today.

  11. Katy Bennett says:

    Sounds like you’re flying higher than satellites despite the washers attempts at sabotage. Best of luck for next week.

  12. Nellie says:

    HAHAHA! Oh yes, I’ve been there with my plots. Hopefully you have successfully reached NaNomia with no problems to date.

    :p

  13. Woo hoo, Gene! I’m keeping my fingers crossed for the 10k!!! Kinda hard to type with the fingers twisted into pretzels (minus salt). Love the idea behind the Twitter sprint. Gotta join you guys tomorrow afternoon!

  14. You made me smile with the NaNomia thing. :0)

    Good luck with the challenge that is NaNo, LOL. You’re a brave soul. Seriously, I hope you have a great NaNo week!

  15. Great progress, Gene! I’m sure the word sprints will get you the word count you are going for. And kudos on keeping up with the treadmill.

  16. Jenny Hansen says:

    Gene, I would have loved to join y’all (I will next weekend!) but I have a crazy cold. It’s killing me. I’m so excited with your progress!!! You go, go, GO!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      So I ended yesterday with 3111 added to my NaNo count. Thanks to everyone that joined Kerry and I in sprints, it was a excellent day. By the way, that is my highest one day word count ever and I can’t wait to surpass it.

      Ryan: Love the Scotty character, I will have to find a way to work him into one of my future openings. Thanks for the suggestion πŸ™‚

      Thanks to all of you for the incredible support. You make my dark days bright and my bright days blazing πŸ™‚

  17. OMG loved “planet’s plot exploded”! LOL!

    Great job on the word count and working towards your NaNo and ROW80 goals Gene – really an inspiration – keep up the great work! Woot woot!

  18. Sharon says:

    Ah, exploding planet plots … another reason I don’t do NaNo, because it takes a while for the plot to gel in my head, and by then, NaNo is over… *sigh*

    You have had a busy week. I too, have had teen zombies in my house. Now two of them are in their 20s and still resemble zombies even with a functioning laundry suite in the house. Yes, yes, it’s time they moved on, but two of them have moved out and then moved back in. I think I gave birth to mutant boomerang children…

    But I digress… Hope this week is laundry disaster- (and other disaster-) free!

  19. Cate Morgan says:

    LMAO @ Star Trek plotty conflicted-ness. Sounds like you need to engage time-split maneuvers, which was what ST always did to get themselves out of similar situations. “Yanno, Captain, if we build a giant slingshot and whip ourselves round the sun once or twice . . .”

    Hehehe. Good luck at disentangling yourself from the Evil Plot Minefield!

  20. Callene Rapp says:

    Too funny. Love the exploding plot!

I'd love to chat with you!

