ROW80 Update 9-21

Welcome,

Hard to believe that we are at the end of Round 3 already. While I didn’t achieve all the goals that I set out to attain I feel that I gained a few things greater then were on my list.

First, I made many new friends. The ROW80 participants are fantastic, supportive and I am proud to know each of you. My deepest thanks to all those that have stopped by and encouraged me through the hard times and shared the joys of the good.

Special thanks to my ROWbro, Kerry Meacham, I would not have made it to the end of the round without his wisdom and support. We will be back in the next Round *smile*

Second, I achieved my ultimate goal which was to determine what could and could not be attained during the 80 days. I’m already working on a new schedule and goals and what I have learned from my first ROW80 round is invaluable.

And so, for now, we part for a much needed rest and re-organization, but I know that the days will pass quickly and soon we will be back together once more, sharing the writers journey and striving towards our goals and dreams.

Until then, peaceful journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to ROW80 Update 9-21

  1. You’ve expressed exactly how I feel about RoW80, Gene. The support and friendship I’ve found here have been amazing. Have a wonderful break, and see you on Round 4!

  2. kerrymeacham says:

    I enjoyed it too Gene. Round 4 coming up.

  3. K.B. Owen says:

    Way to go, Gene…and you other ROW80ers!

  4. Jenny Hansen says:

    There’s a big party in the planning for the start of Round 4, and you and Kerry are gonna get tagged for a post. Are you in??

  5. Marcia says:

    Awesome, Gene! Making friends and learning something about yourself…can’t get better than that! See you and all the others in Round 4!

  6. Em says:

    I concur with everything you said! I used to think writing would be a very solitary journey but with ROW 80 around you are never alone. Enjoy the ‘rest’ and see you in round 4!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks for everyone for your support and comments. I look forward to seeing you all in Round 4 (this time as one of the sponsors). Have a great couple weeks πŸ™‚

      Jen: Let me confer with Kerry and we’ll be in touch πŸ™‚ (I’ll DM this to you as well, just covering bases).

  7. Diddo. That’s all I can say.( I hope everyone else knows that diddo means the same goes for me). I didn’t accomplish my overall goal for ROW80 but also gained more that I expected. We will bring in Round 4 with a Twitter party! As Jenny will be tagging Gene and Kerry, I also plan to tag Em, Elizabeth and Marcia if they’re up for it.

  8. yikici says:

    Gene, you have echoed my sentiments too; ROW80 was fun, an experience and made me see how things can be achieved as well as meeting fab-tastic supportive people. I love that you always draw on the positive and relay it back to us -I know that is what ROW80 is all about but still to see you and others actually embrace it and make it part of their working ethos is FAB! πŸ™‚

  9. L.S. Engler says:

    I couldn’t agree more that one of the absolute best parts of RoW80 has nothing to do with the writing, and everything to do with all the great people and support, as well as a good grip on what sort of goals are obtainable for you and which are not so much.

    I also like that the end of one round means the excitement of the next one! I can’t wait to see what you’ll have in store for us in Round 4, Gene. Best of luck!

  10. I’ve met lots of awesome people in ROW80. This was a great thing that Kait did for all of us.

    I think you did just fine. Sometimes we’re not sure what goals to set until we know how we work. Good luck in Round 4 and I’ll see you there!

  11. Well said! I agree that the support of fellow ROWers has been invaluable. Very much looking forward to the next round!

    Marie πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: 4 More Cowbell-ish Things | Jenny Hansen's Blog

  13. Katy Bennett says:

    great going Gene, see you in round 4

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks for all the great supportive comments. Participating in ROW80 has been one of the best choices I’ve made when it comes to writing. I look forward to seeing all of you in Round 4. Rock the ROW!

  14. Awesome! Congrats. I wasn’t sure what was a reasonable goal before I started ROW80 so I set some of my goals too big. But I did get a lot done and learned a lot more about setting goals that really work for me. I’m definitely in for Round 4.

  15. Jody Moller says:

    Great description of the mood of ROW80 Gene. It has been awesome fun hasn’t it? Looking forward to more in Round 4 (might have to get myself a ROWbro for the next round :))

  16. Lena Corazon says:

    Echoing everyone above to say that you’ve summed up my experiences with ROW80 perfectly. It has been a blast getting to know you and the other amazing participants, and it has done so much for my writing.

    Can’t wait to see what you tackle in Round 4!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Sonia: I did the same thing, high goals but am pleased with what I learned through the experience. I know what is realistic and have a better idea of how to plan a balanced schedule, which was part of the problem before (I was so excited to be in I forgot to plan for a major life change, silly me *grins*)

      Jody: Having a ROWbro is not only improves the odds of success but it also gives us someone to bounce ideas off of, refine goals and determine good adjusts once the round is in progress. Kerry was invaluable to me in all these ways and we are continuing forward together in round 4 (NaNowrimo is on the horizon).

      Lena: It has been great getting to know you Lena. Love your writing and the incredible support you’ve given not just to me but to many of the other participants. Thanks!

      I look forward to seeing all of you in Round 4 πŸ™‚

  17. deniz says:

    I love the way we get to adjust our goals as we go along. Here’s to a great Round 4!

  18. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Nice to have gotten gotten to know you too, Gene! And I’ve now signed up for Round 4 from Norway. πŸ™‚ September was a washout for me writing-wise, but the money was great, and this trip in great too! “See” you again in October.

I'd love to chat with you!

