Writing Blog Treasures 7~7

Welcome to Writing Blog Treasures! Here you’ll find the best of the blogsphere from the past week. So, grab your coffee, sit back and above all – enjoy *smile* As a note, I’m starting Candace Haven’s Fast Draft and Revision Hell class today, so for the next couple of weeks the list will be a bit shorter than it has been, including an absence of the “Featured” and “Movies” categories. Wish me luck and enjoy the links.

On the Publishing Industry

To Sustain Your Indie Epublishing Empire, Think in Multiples of 10 by D. D. Scott and EPubGuide.

Is it Harder for Self-Published Authors to “Break-in” at Amazon? by Lindsay Buroker.

The Author’s Guild Doesn’t Serve Writers by David Gaughran.

Exclusivity and Free by J.A. Konrath.

The Business Rusch: Careers, Critics and Professors by Kristine Rusch.

On Aspects of Publishing

Thou Shalt Not Steal. Yes, Thou by Theresa Stevens at Edittorrent. This is a short, powerful read – be sure to give it a look.

Time to Get Personal (Skills) – Publishing Decisions by Susan Spann. Excellent post!

Tips for Dealing with Bad Book Reviews by Lindsay Buroker.

On Social Media

5 Signs You’re Having a Blog Identity Crisis and 8 Ways to Fix It by Roni Loren. Excellent post!

Blogging – Learn From My Mistake. Or Not. It’s not Compulsory by Mhairi Simpson.

8 Blogging Styles You Can Use Today by Joel Friedlander.

How to Protect Your Privacy on Facebook by Carrie Mumford.

6 Rules of Facebook Engagement for Writers by Lisa Hall-Wilson.

On Writing Craft

Going Both Ways: Outlines for Plot, Pantser for Characters by Janice Hardy.

How to Write Characters Your Readers Will Love by Ava Jae.

Kill Them All. Does Killing Off Characters Make Readers Care Less by Janice Hardy.

Top 10 Tips for Writing Historical Fiction by Leanna Renee Hieber at DIYMFA.

How to Use Touch to Pull Your Readers into your Story by Marcy Kennedy.

Designing From Bones ~ Eaten by Theme – by Me. Let me show you how to cannibalize cannibalism to find visceral themes that resonate.

On the Writer’s Life

DIYMFA has a brand new sparkling workshop that allows for online help with 500 word excerpts. Find the details here: Introducing the DIY MFA Workshop.

A Letter to the Playwrights of England (that you should read, because it’s for you too) by James Killick.

The Freedom to Write by August McLaughlin – Exceptional!

The Hard Work of Writing – Do You Embrace It? by Jami Gold.

The (Not) So Surprising Keys to Writing Quickly by Ava Jae.

The Speed at Which One Ejaculates Prose by Chuck Wendig. Great post with excellent points!

How to become a BadAss Creative Writer by Jennifer Blanchard on Larry Brook’s site.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Writing Blog Treasures 7~7

  1. Seriously Gene, I thought I’d skin in here, check out the links and be on my way. There are just too darn many of them this week. I guess it’s a good thing this morning is cold and dreary ~ gives me loads of time to read them all. Yes, all of them because I don’t know what happened this week, but it was gone before I knew it so my blog reading is woefully behind. I’m still a little confused it’s Saturday. No more holidays in the middle of the week!

  2. Fabulous list – again. Thanks for including me.

  3. Thanks for posting, Gene! Love these link lists that you do. Especially, the “Writer’s Life” section. Tameri, it felt like Sunday when I woke up, but I am very glad it is Saturday.. 🙂

  4. Darlene ~ Sunday? Yikes! I thought it was Friday or Tuesday. Sunday would totally throw me. Have a great weekend anyway. 🙂

  5. Hi Gene,
    Once again, thanks for including Writers in the Storm among your treasures. Susan Spann’s series has helped clarify some “issues” I didn’t even know I had! And I really liked your Writing Craft links today. Some great stuff there. Thanks for all your time and effort to put this list together for us.
    -Fae Rowen

  6. Another awesome treasure trove, Gene. I see many goodies worth checking out… Thanks so much for the link-up! Have a great weekend. 🙂

  7. You’re Blog Treasures is chock full of goodness as usual. You’re my go to publishing link person and I always love to learn more about blogging and social media. Thank you. And good luck with Fast Draft.

  8. Marcia says:

    Spent a relaxing afternoon reading the posts in your links, Gene! Roni Loren’s post was talking to ME! I felt better afterward and it helped me make a couple of decisions. Thanks! Invaluable, my friend!

  9. Lynn Kelley says:

    You amaze me with your awesome Blot Treasures posts, Gene. Thank you!

  10. Roni Loren says:

    I’ve been away from my computer most of the week, so I’ve missed a lot. Thanks for the great round up!

  11. Roni Loren says:

    Oh, and good luck on Fast Draft! I’m going to be using some of Candace’s methods soon because I have three months to write my next book. Eek!

  12. Pingback: A Plethora of Amazing Links That Rocked My World | Jenny Hansen's Blog

  13. Pingback: Start Your Week Off Write: 9 Killer Resources for Weekly Writing Links | kristin nador writes anywhere

  14. Thanks for the awesome links!

  15. Ava Jae says:

    Thanks for including me, Gene! Much appreciated! ^_^

  16. Pingback: Links of the week #27 « S. J. Maylee

I'd love to chat with you!