ROWing On 7~8

Hi everyone! Just sticking with the update today so I get more time to visit and handle my goals. For a full list of my goals click on the ROW80 tab up on the header.

This week.

1) The Layered Writing Goal. Monday through Friday I worked on the plot line, characters and story world for my novella in preparation for FastDraft. That went well, including one sprint with #teamsprinty that was very useful. FastDraft started yesterday and I wrote 5021 words/4 scenes/20 pages. I also discovered that what I thought was a paranormal sci-fi story is actually a paranormal mystery, who knew. Anyway, I’m totally going with and loving it. I woke up early this morning, 3 A.M. with the story bouncing around in my skull so set to work. When I stopped a couple hours later I had written 5069 words/4 more scenes and another 20 pages. So, I would have to say that this goal, and FastDraft are working well for me – two “Woohoo Awesome!” days to prove it.

2) Reading: Didn’t do much of this during the week. I’m working my way through Alexandra Sokoloff’s Writing Love, which is excellent and I’m hoping to press through it over the coming week. This will be a busy one though so we’ll see how it works out.

3) Blog Transition: I was supposed to read through Melinda VanLone’s notes and research blog and hosting options – yeah, didn’t happen. It is on today’s plate though which shouldn’t be an issue since I cleared writing off my plate early.

4) Social Media: I did a bit of work on my GoodReads page but it is far from what I want. At least it’s started and I have Kait’s note from her site to guide me, which are wonderful by the way. As for Pinterest, that is another of those things I’ll be doing this afternoon. Thanks to all of you that connected with me there and by the end of the day I should have a couple of boards to look at. My wife was giving me pointers last night that should help out. By the way, I’m still looking to connect on Pinterest and GoodReads so if you are on either or both let me know.

5) Indie Career Goal. I did look over Kait’s site and am now reading through Lindsay Buroker’s and Joel Friedlander’s info on indie publishing, formatting, etc. I didn’t get a chance to test out the Scrivener formatting options, but I did get a software update that is supposed to fix a bug in how Scrivener formats e-pubs. Not in a huge hurry on this one since I have a bit of time yet.

6) Classes. First class is on the 9th with Marcy Kennedy and Lisa Hall-Wilson on Loglines. On the 10th I’m going into Naperville with the wife to see James Rollins on his book tour. On the 11th I’m taking a class by Shirley Jump on Brainmapping and then on the 14th a class by Donna Newton on Characters. So, by next week I should have a ton to talk about on this one. For now, just waiting for the fun *smile*

7) The Novella. Well, thanks to Candace Haven’s FastDraft, I’m 10,o9o words in and closing on the first plot point, which will happen early in tomorrow’s writing session. I’m enjoying the story and looking forward to getting past the setup and into the fun parts. Hopefully in a few months I’ll be able to share the story with all of you.

Hope your weeks were good ones and I look forward to visiting with as many of you as I can throughout the day. Be sure to get out there and encourage your fellow ROWers.

Stay strong and…

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ROWing On 7~8

  1. Julie Glover says:

    Wow, great start on the Fast Draft! Paranormal mystery sounds wonderful to me (sci-fi, not as much usually). Keep going and growing that WIP!

  2. Juliana Haygert says:

    Awesome progress, Gene! And you’re kicking butt with FastDraft! Hope you can keep that up and finish your novella in no time!!
    Me on goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/4952544-juliana !
    Me on pinterest: http://pinterest.com/julianahaygert/
    Have a great week!!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Julie: Thanks – really enjoying the pace and finally seeing the story for what it is has made a tremendous difference!

      Juliana: Thanks – I’ve noticed you kicking some FastDraft butt as well, great job! Added you on Pinterest and Goodreads πŸ™‚

  3. Sounds like you are doing pretty gosh darn good! πŸ˜€ Paranormal Mystery sounds awesome… Good luck with your goals, Gene… I know you got this!

    P.S. This is me on GoodReads!
    http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/5306677-darlene-steelman

  4. Marcia says:

    Wow, Gene! You’re a machine! I never thought I’d like paranormal anything, but after reading a friend’s book recently I’ve found I do like it! More than ever now I’m excited to read your paranormal/mystery! Fantastic progress! Looking forward to seeing your Pinterest boards!

  5. EM Castellan says:

    FastDraft is working out well for you, what a week! And you’ve been busy beside your writing, that’s great! I’m not on Goodreads or Pinterest yet, I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on those two social media platforms. Have a great week and happy writing!

  6. You’re on a roll! Congrats on the great start with FastDraft. The paranormal mystery story sounds really great.

  7. 5021 words??? Awesome, Gene! You’re really doing great with FastDraft. Something like that is just too much for me. LOL

    A paranormal mystery sounds yummy to me. Right up my alley…a combination of two of my favorite genres. πŸ™‚

  8. Jenny Hansen says:

    Lovin’ your progress, and you are a WRITING MACHINE, dude!! I’ve got to get my butt over to #teamsprinty (love that name…totally makes me feel perky). Also, I’m on GoodReads and totally meaning to do something with it. Also want to be on Pinterest but am afraid of the Time-Suck Vortex. Invite me please and I’ll brave it after FastDraft. I had trouble getting into that loop during vacation so I have to do it now. πŸ™‚

I'd love to chat with you!

