Blog Treasures 10-29

Welcome to Blog Treasures, my weekly roundup of the best of the blogsphere from the last week. I’m working hard, gearing up for NaNoWriMo, so for you NaNoites I’ve added a section of links just for you (although the writing advice contained in them applies to all writers). Enjoy the links!

Featured

Metrics. Numbers. Ratings. This topic seems to be constantly bouncing around the blogsphere. Is it just another way to drive ourselves insane? Do the number actually have any useful meaning? This week I’m featuring two posts that explore both sides of this topic.

Coming to us from Social Media Jedi Master of Writers, a.k.a. Kristen Lamb:

The Bright Side: Numbers Are Our Friends – Writers and the Wild World of Metrics.

The Dark Side: Metrics: Writer Friend or Ticket to Crazy Town?

NaNo Fever

Larry Brooks continues his 30 days of NaNo Tips with #22 thru #29. These are fantastic resources. Here is one to get you started: Tip #22: Stare Down Your Limiting Beliefs. Links to the rest of the tips can be found halfway down Larry’s side column.

All writers have rituals. This week Cate Woods opened up with one of her NaNo rituals in Essential Writing Tools: Totems. What sees you through the long NaNo run?

While not directly related to NaNo this post will definitely apply during last night writing sessions: What Food Fuels Your Writing? by my friend Jami Gold.

Alexandra Sokoloff continues her NaNo Prep series with The Elements of Act 2, Part 1. This is an in-depth look what many writers find to be the most difficult section of any novel. Masterfully written.

Janice Hardy offers a few posts targeted on NaNo prep: Planning Your Novel, Planning the Beginning, Planning the Middle.

Amanda Rudd explores the topic: Outline as Roadmap in Planning for NaNoWriMo.

On Publishing & Social Media

I had a few questions this week on how to get the most out of Tweetdeck. Pat Thunstrom has designed an excellent Tweetdeck Learning Guide that I highly recommend if you have any questions about this valuable tool.

Aliventures takes a look at the Digitalisation of Reading & Writing this week.

Amy Shojai offers us tips on Media Training & Finding Targets. Great resource!

Clay Morgan asks all of you Word Press bloggers: Are You Ready to be Freshly Pressed?

Bob Mayer asks Can You Write In More Than One Genre? Should You?

On The Craft of Writing

The Bookshelf Muse offers us excellent descriptive aids. This week: Character Trait: Talented, Soup & Layers (with great advice for story development)

Should you tie up all the ends when you type “The End”? is a question Roz Morris explores for us this week.

Maryrose Wood explores the quest for craft in How Do You Learn To Write? (guest post for Janice Hardy).

Kristen Lamb brings us Structure Part 4 – Testing Your Idea – Is it Strong Enough To Make an Interesting Novel?

Predating the MRU: Was Swain a Fan of Psychological Theory? is a question Jeannie Campbell explores this week.

On the Writing Life

Debra Eve (a.k.a. Later Bloomer/Elle B.) has a FREE e-book on Late Bloomers That Found Their Passion and Purpose. This resource is incredibly well-written. Be sure to get your copy and say “Hi” to Debra while your there.

August McLaughlin has compiled an awesome list of posts by Literary Agents with Advice for Writers. August also brings us advice on how to Meet Deadlines with R&R built in.

Dan Blank hooks up with advice from Eric Ries (The Lean Startup) on How To Become A Best-Selling Author. In-Depth and Highly Informative Information.

Writers in the Storm explores Critique Groups: How to Find Your Dream Team.

Write It Sideways takes an in-depth look at How to Write a Bio for Your Bi-Line or Query. Tons of added resources attached to this post.

James Killick takes a look at Four Lies the Internet Tells You About Writing.

Publishing Debates: Should We Take Sides? is a powerful question explored by Jami Gold this week.

Fun & Entertaining Links

Mary Jo Gibson recently visited the Frank Lloyd Wright Home & Studio in Chicago and provides us with a picture-studded review.

Holmes (of Piper & Holmes) says a final Good Riddance to Qaddafi.

Shea McLeod explores reincarnation and the story possibilities the subject holds in Deja Vu All Over Again.

Gloria Oliver loves watching movies and brought us a cool reviews this week of  Three Musketeers.

Ellie Soderstrom interviews actor Neil Brown Jr. (The Walking Dead & Battle: LA).

Carrie Mumford reviews Snowball, Dragonfly, Jew by Stuart Ross.

Jenny Hansen brings us Thunderwear! The continuing Panty-Gate Saga. Very fun read *smile*. Jenny also asks and explores: What is the Deal with Sexting?

RECIPES: Halloween inspired a few recipes this week. Here are my favorites: Fudge Pie from Kerry Meacham (his mom’s recipe); Pumpkin Fudge from Kathy Owen; Pumpkin Bread from Marcia A. Richards; Blueberry Banana Bread from August McLaughlin.

That’s all for this week. Join me Wednesday when we go looking for evil little people in my Designing from Bones series. For those of you that are interested, my Designing from Bones post on the Silk Road was featured on the Tour d’Afrique blog. Total coolness!

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Blog Treasures 10-29

  1. kerrymeacham says:

    Thanks for the link love ROWbro. Another great mashup. ~clink~

  2. Marcia says:

    Gene, what a powerhouse of links! I know what I’ll be doing today. 🙂 Thanks for including me in your awesome lineup!

  3. Laura Drake says:

    I never fail to find something new and great in your Mash-ups, Gene, thanks so much for rounding them up for us!

  4. educlaytion says:

    Thanks Gene! You rock bro.

  5. Love your research Gene! Thanks for including me. Now you have recipes too? Geez, I don’t think I will ever keep up with all the great things you find.

  6. Jenny Hansen says:

    I second what Laura said, plus I’ll thank you for the double linky-love.

    Every week, I think, “THIS week is my favorite blog treasures.” And every week I’m right! You continue to outdo yourself, Gene. 🙂

  7. K.B. Owen says:

    Aww, Gene, thanks for the great links, and including mine! If any of y’all make the pumpkin fudge, let me know how it turns out! Now, off to check those other cool links…

  8. Thanks for the link love. And more stuff to check out, as if you weren’t my secret source on Twitter already 😛

  9. Jami Gold says:

    Thanks for the link love! And oh my gosh, how did I miss so many posts? I know what I’ll be doing between editing sessions today. Holy cow! 🙂

  10. Catherine Johnson says:

    Wow, thanks for such a comprehensive list Gene! Heading over now.

  11. I always look forward to your treasure troves, Gene! Such an informative, well-organized list… Honored and thrilled to a part of it!

  12. carrie m says:

    Thanks for taking the time to pull these awesome links together, Gene! Reading them is now part of my regular Saturday schedule 🙂 Thanks also for the shout-out to my review last week!

  13. Thanks for including me, Gene – and as always, for digging up the interesting stuff I’d missed!

  14. Pingback: ROWdate 10-30 « Gene Lempp's Blog

  15. As always, wonderful mashup. I am behind schedule because we had family in town this weekend but I saved my Blog Treasures for this morning. Happy Halloween!

  16. Thanks, Gene! I second Larry and Alexandra as having the best Nano prep out there. Used them extensively last year. It also turns out I’m too technically incompetent to figure how to release my book to RSS subscribers, so I’m releasing it to everyone until this Saturday. Details in today’s post.

I'd love to chat with you!