ROWdate 10-30

“Captain, the wormhole is pulling us in. Engines at full. No escaping it now. I wonder where it will take us?”

“I know where it goes, Ensign.”

“Where?”

“NaNomia.”

“Sounds frightening.”

“Agreed, Ensign. However, this passing alien gave me a cool star map that shows where all the best restaurants are in the quadrant so maybe I’ll find a few places to take the wife. Head into the wormhole, Ensign and let the chaos be damned.”

Hello everyone! *smiles*

As you can tell, I’m chin deep in NaNo prep. Remember back when I said I had written 12k in prep. Yeah. Well it turns out that was me banging through finding my storyline. Finally got it. Fortunately, what I did in the first part of the month gave me a solid world, characters and such. I also have worked out a new design process, (with a bit of help from posts by Larry Brooks and Alex Sokoloff; you can find them both under NaNo Fever in my Blog Treasures 10-29 post), that has me blazing ahead at Warp 9 now with a fun ploutline (new word: plot + outline = ploutline, yep, I’m clever when my mind is exhausted).

I know many of you are doing NaNo along with my ROWbro Kerry and I and we would like to buddy up with all of the ROWNaNo’s out there. On the NaNoWriMo site I am GeneLempp and Kerry is TheProject (you’ll have to ask him where that name came from, his story, he gets to tell it *grins*).

For those of you not joining us for NaNo, I hope you will keep a pot of coffee (or other assorted energy boosting beverages), a word of support and a smile for your fellow ROWers. I know we will all need a voice or two of sanity over the coming month.

Okay, on to the goals.

I alluded to NaNo prep above and yes, I now have a storyline, world, primary characters and am plotted through the First Plot Point. Today I’ll be moving that ahead to the end. Note that I actually have more, the above is a transfer of the notes and details I’ve worked out over the past month being put into an official outline. All good here, I’ll be ready to go on Tuesday.

Kristen’s Blogging for Brand class is fantastic and I’m learning a great deal that I hope to apply on the other side of the NaNo wormhole. Still a month to go for the class and I’m up to date on all the lessons. Sheila Seabrook, from the class, was nice enough to loan me the “helmet of plotting protection” so I don’t get brain damage from banging my head on my desk during these final couple days. Thanks, Sheila *smile*

If you noticed, my manic squirrel mode cost me one treadmill walk. Simply forgot. My wife chided me for the oversight (chided is a very mild word here). I’ll be back on it today.

Time to get back to the prep but I’ll be around to visit some of you during my breaks today. Hope the last week and the coming one were fantastic for all of you. If not, hey, new week, new opportunities. Seize the now.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. โ€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,โ€ sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to ROWdate 10-30

  1. Katy Bennett says:

    Fantastic work, I also make up words as well, it was good enough for Shakespeare. I’m not a coffee drinker but I’ll throw some chocolate bars your way, you may need the sugar boost. Best of luck for November.

  2. Jenny Hansen says:

    I LOVE this update, Gene! The NaNo Fever is obviously ON at your place. It’s beginning to overtake mine as well. (Once I visit Dream Dinners, I’ll be all set!)

    P.S. FAB use of *portmanteau* with “ploutline!”

  3. Nancy J Nicholson says:

    Gene your energy is contagious. I think you’ll rock NaNo as much as you are Row80. Keep up the good work.

  4. Ha! Great opening to ‘plug’ NaNo! I’ll see you in the chaos.

  5. alberta ross says:

    If I can find you through the mayhem see you in nano land – best resturants eh – interesting – all the best for this week and for this month – am already your buddy will go and find your bro’

  6. K.B. Owen says:

    Woo-hoo, Gene – you are on FIRE! Good luck with NaNo. Repeat after me: no RED shirts! no RED shirts! (Star Trek analogy, lol). ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Stacy Green says:

    Great job on your goals. I’ve always said that so much of plotting is really first drafting, so it sounds like you’re well on your way. Good luck on NaNo!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Katy: Thanks! I’ll be needing those chocolate bars for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

      Jen: My portmanteau improves dramatically when I’m up against a deadline. Weee! NaNo is two days!

      Nancy: I will make it to 50k, just trying to have it not be a pile of words I can’t use at the end. Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

      Nadja: See ya in the chaos ๐Ÿ™‚

      Alberta: Super cool! Look forward to the NaNo journey with you!

      Kathy: No Red Shirts…after accidentally mixing in some bleach it is now pink ๐Ÿ™‚

      Stacy: Took my hybrid plotter/pantser self 28 out of 31 days to find what I was looking for, but, I found it. Thanks, Stacy ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Looking forward to watching the tweets fly around on Nov. 1 oooorrr the lack there of. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Kat Morrisey says:

    Great job on your goals!! I didn’t hit my exercise goal this week either (only a partial completion) but sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day. And, there is always this week to knock it out of the park, right? Good luck this week on your goals and see you in NaNomia!

  10. *readies coffee and words of support* *smiles*

  11. Em says:

    NaNo is so close I can almost taste it! Glad the prep work has gone so well….I feel ready to start writing now I think! Enjoy the last day of preparation time and see you when the madness sets in.

    ps. you reminded me I need to buy coffee, thanks!

  12. I’ve got Dr. Pepper, coffee, and smoothies. I figure I need something healthy to balance out the impending caffeine overdose! Glad you’re so prepared. You sound completely set. I’m a little nervous as we get closer….eek! Found you on Nano, going to look for Kerry now!

  13. Lena Corazon says:

    Gene, I *love* the sound of “ploutline”. I’m all stocked up on earl grey and jasmine tea (for those nights when I need to tone down the caffeine), and I’ll be building up my chocolate stash tomorrow, for weekly rewards.

    Good luck with the last couple days of planning!

  14. kerrymeacham says:

    Great job as always, ROWbro. Keep Rocking The ROW!!! ~clink~

  15. Susan A. says:

    I love seeing the intros to your ROW check-ins, they always give me a good laugh! As for NaNo prep, sounds like you are doing very well. I think you’ll be fully prepared come Tuesday. I’m not participating, but I will be rooting the rest of you on that are!

    Get back to that treadmill, it may be the only exercise you get while doing all that writing for the next month!

  16. Although I’m not in the chaos, I’m rooting for all of you, NaNo-ers (I just made it up — can you tell? Hah, it’s like “party-goers” *wink*)

    Great job with your outline process. It seems like you are zooming through! Oh, and I’m so jealous about your โ€œhelmet of plotting protectionโ€. Please pass it along when you’re done with it ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Marcia says:

    You’re doing so great, Gene! I’m impressed! I think your helmet will have to make the rounds or have Sheila see if she can make a few to pass around. we all seem to have the same issues with plotting. Keep up the progress!

I'd love to chat with you!

