Blog Treasures

Welcome to my weekly roundup of the best Treasures I’ve found on the blogsphere during the past week. Glad you stopped by, enjoy!

On Publishing and Social Media

James Killick brings us excellent advice with Five Reasons Why Blogging Makes You a Better Writer

Social Media Jedi Master, Kristen Lamb offers us her Initial Thoughts on Google +.

Tony Eldridge over at Marketing Tips hosts Sue Collier this week with 7 Reasons you should not use Social Media Marketing.

Mark Williams brings us an in depth look at Being The Boss – Controlling Our Own Destiny.

Bob Mayer is traveling this week and gives us his Notes from Thrillerfest Part 1.

On the Craft of Writing

Elizabeth S. Craig offers us a large selection of incredible writing resources: Writing Worksheets and other Tools. Elizabeth is also a superb resource for writing information. Take a look at her article on Characters Who Push.

Roz Morris over at Nail Your Novel explores how to handle back story effectively: How to wield back story with panache.

Close your eyes for a moment. Hear the birds? Smell anything on the breeze? Janice Hardy hosts K.A. Stewart this week who brings us excellent tips on Enhancing Your Descriptions. Janice also offers timely advice on how to manage our story threads in Defining Story Arcs.

Looking for great tips on building that new world to explore? Well, Fae Rowen of Writers in the Storm has some tips for you: World Building: Part 1- Physical Setting.

Is your Black Moment giving you a dark moment? Jeannie Campbell at Character Therapist explores the “dark night of the soul” in Rethinking Black Moments.

Becca Puglisi from Bookshelf Muse offers us Voice Tips from the Pros. Also this week from Bookshelf Muse: Weather Thesaurus Entry: Sunrise.

Marcia Richards, one of the founders of the Life List Club, shows us Six Saboteurs of Creativity and How to Thwart Them.

The brilliant Jami Gold deconstructs Green Lantern and offers a plethora of excellent writing tips in The Green Lantern Movie: How *Not* To Plot a Story and The Green Lantern Movie: How *Not* To Write Characters.

The fantastic Chuck Wendig gives us 25 Things You Should Know About Revisions. Be sure to check out his other “25’s Lists” while your there.

Are you feeling like nothing is going right with your writing. Here is a great piece by C. Hope Clark that takes a look at What’s Wrong? My Writing isn’t Working .

Fun Posts and Fan Fiction

Mary Jo Gibson from This Write Life gives us a chance to see some great art and take a virtual tour of the Chicago Art Institute. Mary Jo also features a couple of interactive pieces in her Cabinet of Curiosities. Be sure to check out the key-activated mechanical writing desk!

Do you love free stuff? How about free ebooks? Write It Sideways brings us a large list of resources that will fill your Kindle to bursting: Where to Find Free eBooks for Your Amazon Kindle.

If you love writing challenges than Sonia G. Medeiros is the place to look for fun monthly challenges: July Writing Challenge – Moonstruck.

Gloria Oliver brings us a couple of excellent movie reviews: Cars 2 & Transformers: Dark of the Moon.

Amanda Rudd explores The Age Old Question: Which Star Trek is Better?.

Three fun stories are running on the Fan Fiction front currently. Jen L. Kirchner starts her newest Vote-Your-Own-Adventure story this week and its off to a thrilling start: Site 27: Part One. Anne-Mhairi Simpson takes us on a journey Along the Coastline – Elemental Races #11. Mark Lidstone leads us through a nightmarish landscape filled with Zombies.

If you’re a history lover like me you’ll really enjoy a two-part series by Piper Bayard’s partner Holmes on the Opium Wars of China: First Opium War, Second Opium War.

Catie Rhodes of Full-Tilt Backwoods Boogie takes us on a ghostly tour of the Haunted Baker Hotel.

Manon Eileen explores the Weird Phenomenon of the Bermuda Triangle.

That’s all for this week. Be sure to check back on Wednesday when I’ll be exploring a couple of macabre aspects from history in my Designing from Bones series.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Blog Treasures

  1. Thanks for including me on your blog treasures! A great list for a Saturday morning read.

  2. rozmorris says:

    Thanks for the mention, Gene! And some great posts here that I didn’t happen upon first time round.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Mary Jo: Great to have you on the list! That writing desk video is simply awesome. It got me thinking of ways to design a modern version.

      Roz: You always have excellent articles! My pleasure to have you on the list. Enjoy the links 🙂

  3. kerrymeacham says:

    Great Mash-Up there ROWbro. Several I subscribe to, but more that I don’t. Geez, I’ve got to get to some of these AFTER I do some of my ROW80 stuff. Have a great weekend.

  4. Jami Gold says:

    Thanks for the link, Gene! (And you called me “brilliant”? *blush*) What a great collection of links here. Fabulous!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Well, I had a string of ten adjectives describing you and trimmed them down to “brilliant”, which describes your excellent assessment of Green Lantern. Thanks for the compliment, definitely a great grouping this week 🙂

  5. Catie Rhodes says:

    Thanks for the mention, Gene. Going to check out some other blogs I missed this week…

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Catie: Always welcome, great article on the Baker Hotel. Made me think it should be on Ghost Hunters to visit list.

      Jess: Given how busy I know your week has been congrats on squeezing in some reading time. I read about 150 (or more) blogs a week, just FYI. Keep up the good work Witkins 🙂

  6. Jess Witkins says:

    I feel accomplished having read a number of these already. I may finally be catching up with you, Gene. 😛 Great mash up!

  7. Manon Eileen says:

    Hey Gene 😀 Thanks for the mention, I appreciate it! Hope all is well with you today!

  8. Lynn Kelley says:

    I love your Blog Treasures posts. Thanks for compiling all these great sites for us to check out.
    Let me grab my Kindle so I can get all those free ebooks!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks Lynn! Definitely enjoy the Kindle link but I think it may take a few days to go through all the links. Suzannah at Write It Sideways did an excellent compilation.

  9. Marcia says:

    Wow! What an awesome list of links, Gene! Thanks for including me in your list! Now I can’t wait to check out some of the posts I missed in my travels!

  10. Amanda Rudd says:

    Hey, thanks so much for including me. I feel honored. I always love your collections of blog posts. You always find some really interesting things.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Amanda: Great to have you on this weeks list. You did such a fantastic over view of the various Star Trek series that I just had to include it. 🙂

      Elle: Jami Gold is an excellent writer (and super cool person), her deconstruction of Green Lantern is very accurate. Save your money. Thanks for the compliment and comment!

  11. Fantastic roundup, Gene! Found quite a few inspiring new writing folks. Can’t wait to read Jami Gold’s Green Lantern stuff, my husband being a graphic novel geek who decided we need to wait for DVD (not good money in a theater)!

  12. Jenny Hansen says:

    I got to the bottom of your post where you say, “That’s all for this week…” and immediately thought “that’s ALL, my foot…this is a LOT.”

    I can’t believe what a great mash-up you always have and, on behalf of Fae Rowen and all the Writers In The Storm bloggers, we are honored to be included. I’m very excited about her World Building series. 🙂

    Now I’m off to go read all these fun posts and fill up my Kindle…

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Always glad to have you (meaning all of you) on the list and Fae’s series on World-Building is excellent and timely.

      Thanks for the great compliment and fill that Kindle up till it begs you to stop 🙂

  13. Piper Bayard says:

    Hi Gene. Thanks so much for including Holmes on your list of awesome links. It’s an honor. You always have such a great mashup. 🙂

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Reading Holmes is one of my guilty pleasures. He always provides insightful and well written material. Thanks for the compliment and enjoy the links 🙂

  14. Fae Rowen says:

    Thanks for directing readers to my World Building blog. It’s been a long time since my name and the word “treasure” have been associated, so it’s a double thank-you!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Happy to have you on the list Fae! You’re post was excellent and timely, I’m looking forward to future installments. You are definitely a treasure 🙂

  15. *huge thumbs up* Hmmm…that seems to imply that I have huge thumbs…which I don’t. How about *628 thumbs up* Though, I don’t have 628 thumbs either. Perhaps I should just say “Awesome!” 😀

I'd love to chat with you!