ROW80 Update 7-10

Wow! What a whirlwind week, but I loved every minute of it.

Here’s how things stand for the first week.

  • The WIP word counts: Wednesday 570; Thursday 501; Friday 722 and 95 on Saturday. That brings my first week total to 3109 words which exceeds my goal. I also found some great new concepts while reading Save the Cat and am beginning to incorporate those into the outline.
  • I have been doing 750words at the end of every day as a way to ease my mind down so I can sleep. This is working quite well. I’ve completed every day: 779, 765, 767 and 787 respectively, Wednesday through Saturday. My typing and thought flows are starting to mesh as I had hoped and I’m noticing the productivity increase. This is turning into a treadmill to strengthen the mind.
  • Speaking of the treadmill, I did my Wednesday and Friday walks. Each one is getting easier and next week I’ll be pressing into the machines pre-programmed Aerobic workouts.
  • Save the Cat is an excellent read and I’m learning a some cool concepts that carry over into the novel writing realm. Currently on page 123 and should finish it tomorrow or Monday after which I’ll start working on the review for the later blog post expansion.
  • I have one post queued now and should have another by next Wednesday, which puts me on target to my goal of five by the end of this month.

That’s all for now.

Keep pressing for those goals!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to ROW80 Update 7-10

  1. Kerry Meacham says:

    Way to go Gene. Your rockin it ROWbro. I’ll be posting mine later this morning.

  2. Jody Moller says:

    great job! I hope you manage to hit your targets next week too. I haven’t read Save the Cat but have heard lots about it – I think I will have to track down a copy…

    • Gene Lempp says:

      I would definitely recommend Save the Cat. Excellent points on structure and creating a tight outline, plus Blake Snyder’s voice is easy on the eyes. Thanks for the compliment!

  3. Well done Gene! Keep up the good work!

  4. Emma Madden says:

    Your daily word count is impressive. If I could just turn off my internal editor mine might improve. You’ve had an excellent first week, keep it up πŸ™‚

  5. Kathy Owen says:

    I’ve just started Save the Cat, and I really like it. It’s clear, engaging to read, very down-to-earth, make tons of sense. My oldest is off to college this fall to study film, so he wanted to read it, too! Congrats on your progress this week, Gene. πŸ™‚

  6. Marcia says:

    Great job, Gene! Keep it up!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Emma: That pesky internal editor is the hardest thing to quiet, just remind it that if it doesn’t give you time to write freely then it won’t have anything to edit. πŸ™‚

      Kathy: Save the Cat is fantastic, best “Hey Gene, read this” referral I’ve had this year. Thanks for the congrats!

      Marcia: Thanks πŸ™‚

  7. Awesome! I love this challenge. It’s been keeping me on the straight and narrow with my writing too.

  8. alberta ross says:

    You doing well – must have a look at this cat book sounds interesting – all the best for the coming week

  9. Jenny Hansen says:

    My weekly check-in will be tomorrow (and a WILD week it has been!) – It’s great to see you doing such a fab job of “Rocking the Row!”

  10. kpsimmon says:

    Great job! Keep up the great work!

    KP

  11. Jen Kirchner says:

    Awesome job on your goals – especially the treadmill. I wish I had one in my house. I do my best creative thinking when I’m on one.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks Jen! Let me tell you the first couple days were hard cause well, Gene has been a lazy guy for few months when it comes to exercise, BUT I am already feeling the health benefits of using the “mill” again. Increased mental stamina comes with increased physical stamina. Can’t wait to see where that leaves me at the end of ROW80 πŸ™‚

  12. Gene – cover your ears, this may get loud. “Woooo-Whoooo” – Way to go! What a great week one! Your word counts look great and I can’t wait for future updates. What am I saying? Everything looks great – you’re exercising and you have posts queued up and ready to go. You, my good friend, are a rock star.

    I’m glad you’re enjoying Save the Cat. I have it on my desk to read after Story Engineering.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      LOL! Thanks Tiffany πŸ™‚

      Rock star eh, like the sound of that.

      I read Story Engineering a few months ago and use principles from it all the time. Incredible book. Save the Cat meshes nicely with Story Engineering for all the high-end structure principles. Add in a dash of James Scott Bell and a cup of Jack Bickham and you have top to bottom structure.

  13. Fantastic!

    I sort of gave up on ROW80. I’m taking two classes through Bob Mayer’s site plus in the midst of rewrites on book two while job hunting. It was all a little too much. lol

    • Gene Lempp says:

      No worries Shea. The whole point of ROW80 is to have goals and achieve something as a result. It sounds to me like you are doing both. You know, you could just make the classes and rewrites the goals for ROW80.

  14. Stacy Green says:

    I need to read Save the Cat. I keep putting it off because it’s for screenwriters, although I know a lot of the same principles apply. Good for you for having such a great week. I’ve been a bit fail on my goal of planning for my next book. I tend to be a panster, and while my planning has gotten much better, I still to write to get a feel for what the book needs.

    And good job on the exercise! Once you get into it, working out in any capacity seems to help everything else.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Save the Cat is an incredible book. Blake Snyder’s voice is easy on the eyes and brain, very well written. I used to be a pantser and transitioned into a plotter. What I find works when designing is to create a subject list of things I need to do. Then I just write on each subject. A setting, a character, a back story element, whatever. Then after that I can disect what I pants, the small chunk, and work it into an outline. I guess that would be the hybrid approach but it works for me.

      The exercise is fantastic, good health benefits and can feel it kicking in from just the one week of doing it.

      Thanks for the great comment Stacy πŸ™‚

  15. EllieAnn says:

    Man, that’s awesome! You’re a hard worker.

  16. Stacy Green says:

    Gene, you’re welcome. I read Story Engineering and it was good, but something about it was irritating. I can’t explain it, lol. For whatever reason, I’ve always had to sit down and start writing to flesh out an idea before I could get the story. Now, your plan sounds like something I could do. I might have to try that with the WIP I’m going to start.

    Glad the exercise is having such a good effect!

  17. Vicki Keire says:

    Killer word count. Wow. This line from your post intrigued me: “My typing and thought flows are starting to mesh as I had hoped and I’m noticing the productivity increase.” Is this related to the book, or do you mean something else entirely? I’m really interested in mind/body connection of creativity. And anything that helps w/ productivity interests me, too.
    Great momentum, have a good week!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Ah, an explanation: While I can type fast, I can’t always “create” at the speed I type. Typing “flow of consciousness” is one thing but I haven’t been able to write usable fiction at that speed. One of my goals for ROW80 is to start fixing this inefficiency. Part of the process is 750words which challenges me to type at full speed while organizing my thoughts. Over time, my hope is, that this will fix the issue. So far, I believe I was correct. Another part of it is the physical exercise. By increasing physical stamina I’m also increasing mental stamina. Hope that explains it πŸ™‚

      Have a great week Vicki, excellent comment!

  18. Vicki Keire says:

    It does, Gene. Thanks!

  19. catwoods says:

    Congrats on setting such concrete goals–and sticking to them.

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and allowing me to follow you home!

  20. Manon Eileen says:

    Well done Gene, keep it up πŸ˜€

  21. Pingback: Row80 – Week 2 Check-in | Jenny Hansen's Blog

I'd love to chat with you!

