ROWNaNo ~ Act Three: The Fiery Conclusion

Hi everyone! Only six days (including today) left to finish up NaNo – I hope all of you are in fine position to finish in style. Just a reminder to all of the NaNo’s out there that logging your work in for a final count starts today. Also, if you haven’t donated to NaNo – officially, the Office of Letters and Light – now would be a great time to do so. NaNo isn’t just in November, throughout the year they support writing camps, programs for children in disadvantaged areas and countries plus a host of other activities. A worthy cause that is helping to build our collective future. As always, I only promote what I find valuable and the Office of Letters and Light is a priceless treasure.

NaNo, Act 3 – Storm the Enemy Castle and Kick the Antag’s Butt (or die trying).

The Protagonist: Is all in, do or die there is no way to turn back. Ben finds himself entangled between discovering his past, coming to grips with the loss of his greatest love and finding himself in a budding romance – oh yeah, and saving the world. Not a to-do list for the weak of heart.

The Key Players: The ones who are closest to us are always tested. In loyalty. In honor. In trust. And all are about to be tested to their limits. Who will pass the deep test of faith and who will stand in the way of Ben’s success?

The Antagonist: New players are obstructing Ben’s success on all fronts, The Knights Templar, the dark immortal Lethe and a creature that knows the perfect way to get under Ben’s skin.

The Stakes: With one novella left to go of the three I set out to do, I’m in good shape, although completing the third one before the end of November is doubtful. However, Ben has come to a place where winning or failing will come down to a single choice, and a single moment. Choose wrong or be late and the world, the human world, may find itself blown away like chaff on a strong wind.

The Conflict: When you’re trying to save the world and nearly everyone you meet along the way wants you dead, or at least to fail – well, then you have conflict. Welcome to Ben’s world. I can’t wait to share his experience with all of you soon (a Marcia A. Richards cliffhanger – grins).

Which brings us to this weeks progress and a look forward to some post-NaNo goals.

I knew that the first part of this week would be chaotic. Thanksgiving approaching and arriving. The final burst of warm weather bringing a push to complete home projects and a stream of appointments. So, with a bit under 6k to go in NaNo I took a counter-intuitive move and stopped.

You see, the real reason I’m doing NaNo is to stress test my schedule, my system of doing things and myself. I learned a great deal over the first 17 or so days of NaNo. Enough that I decided to turn around and spend four days analyzing, reconfiguring and hunting needed resources. While this does put me off the “word count goal,” those are fairly meaningless to me. What I’ve gained instead is worth far more in the long run than the word count. I type fast, the words will be there.

As for NaNo, I’ll be back to writing today and should hit the 50k mark to officially “win.” The writing however, will continue unabated after that as I press to complete the third novella by the end of the month – or at least come close.

I hope you all had an excellent Thanksgiving. Be sure to get out and support your fellow ROWers.

Peaceful Journeys.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ROWNaNo ~ Act Three: The Fiery Conclusion

  1. Congrats on your fantastic progress! Sounds like you have no problem making life hell for your characters – I know I love doing that. 😀 Good luck finishing out NaNoWriMo, and have a great week!

  2. Marcia says:

    There was no doubt in my mind that you’d win NaNo again. I’m even happier for you that you found your “brilliant writing mode”…in other words, finding what works for you in an ongoing creative business-minded writing schedule. I know, that was a mouthful but it describes what I see you doing in the last few months and what I’m currently working on to create my “brilliant writing mode” which includes my writing business AND my life outside of writing. I’d been leaving out the latter–not a good idea.
    I’ve come to love the thrill of your cliffhangers! 🙂 Ben’s story is more and more intriguing. I’ll be first on line for an ARC!
    Stay on this track, my friend, for it’s seems very productive and especially a happier path for you than the one you were on the the first half of the year!

  3. Pingback: NaNo, day 26 and corporate visitors « Run4joy59's Blog

  4. Julie Glover says:

    I keep coming here because I like to know how you’re doing and get inspiration, Gene! Your progress shows me what is possible if I’ll apply myself in a concerted way.

    Congrats on kickin’ NaNo! I’m shaking my poms-poms as you cross the finish line!

I'd love to chat with you!