ROWNaNo Act One

Hi everyone! Well here we are four days into NaNo and my keyboard is wishing it was owned by someone that didn’t know how to type. Of course, I promptly reminded it (the keyboard) that it is getting a 401k and only 30 more years to retirement…hmm, perhaps I shouldn’t have reminded it (grins).

NaNo Act 1, the “Ordinary World”

Introduce the Protagonist: Hi, I’m Gene (toothy smile).

Is it an omen when the Reaper is following you?

Introduce the key players: Ben, “Joe” (I have not found a name I like for this guy yet but he is a great friend), Tillian, Nemtemi – the “team” from the novella’s I’m doing during NaNo.

Introduce the antagonist: Time. And some vaudeville sorceress named Morgana.

Introduce the stakes: 3 Novella’s drafted – and life as we know it disappearing with the genocide of humanity (happens all the time, but agents with single letter names handle the events quietly in the real world according to a “documentary” I saw once…).

Introduce the conflict: 3600 words a day for at least 25 of the 30 days in November. I’m currently at 10,835, right on pace. Ben can’t remember his life, but without him humanity is doomed. The only ones he can trust are all strangers he’s just met and pretty much everyone else is trying to kill him – for something he can’t remember. Some days are just rough.

NaNo Injury #1: This is what happens when you try to start the dishwasher quickly to get back to writing. The next bit of typing was less fun, but got done. Yes, that is my finger.

And the first turning point…well I will say it happens in a bar. That has a dancer pole in it.

Which, spins us to progress this week.

Up above is my NaNo progress, I’ve been spending a little over 3 hours a day on drafting. The rest has been wrapped up in completing my “Nano Preparations”, yep, I’m writing and still prepping. I’ve been looking back over my social media sites and cleaning and sprucing up the pages. Still have a few to go but I’m happy with the progress. Lots of other things going on but they’re not quite ready for daylight yet – I’ll keep you posted (smile).

That’s all for this week. I’ll leave you with a lovely cup of cappuccino my fav bartender Erin made for me last night to celebrate the success. Have a fantastic week, NaNo or not, may the words be with you my friends (smile).

Peaceful Journeys.

My name in cappuccino foam, woohoo! Thanks to Erin for the lovely surprise.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to ROWNaNo Act One

  1. 3600 words a day for 25 days is…. 90,000 words. Not a novella. Or are you writing several novellas for the month? If so, very nice. Very respectable goals and progress! (Well, nice respectable goals and progress if it’s one novel too.)

  2. Fallon says:

    You’re doing great so far, Gene! My goals for Nano are 2000 words a day during the week and 1000 a day over the weekends. So, far I’m staying on track. Good luck for the rest of the month!

  3. Gene, Gene the NaNo machine! Good for you–right on target! Hope it continues to go so well! The story is intriguing–amnesia, doom, and pole dancing! Can’t wait to read them!

  4. John Holton says:

    The trick will be keeping up the current level of productivity after November, but Go You!

  5. Lena Corazon says:

    Awesome stuff, Gene, but I’ve come to expect nothing less from you. Also, I love the synopsis–sounds like it’s going to be an entertaining read!

    As I’ve been pounding away on my keyboard for the last few days, I keep thinking of the line that Ringo Starr yells at the end of the song, “Helter Skelter”: “I’ve got blisters on my fingers!” I get the feeling that’s how many WriMos will be feeling by the end of the month. πŸ˜€

    Have a great week!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Camille: Your math is correct, and yes, I am doing Three 30k novella’s as my NaNo Challenge. I said it in a past post, but should probably reiterate it on occasion-thanks for the reminder πŸ™‚

      Fallon: Nice way to balance things out and make sure your weekends aren’t consumed. Impressive. Wishing you all the best as well πŸ™‚

      Marcia: If only pole dancing could save the world (laughs). Thanks Marcia – all the best for your edits πŸ™‚

      John: Yep, that is the battle we all face. Thanks.

      Lena: It’s been an interesting write if that is any indication (grins). Great line from Helter Skelter, should be the NaNo theme song. Thanks πŸ™‚

  6. Wowsa! Keep it up, man! Your productivity is freaking me out a little. I need to go for a walk now. lol

  7. My arms are tired, between reading that and typing my own 3,000 words! I’m doing 1,500 words four days a week, plus 3k each on Saturday and Sunday, and I feel like a slacker LOL. I’m up to 9,300, but I’m in awe of your productivity – keep it up! Your story sounds cool too – I love amnesia stories!

  8. K.B. Owen says:

    Cool – a monogrammed capuccino! You have ARRIVED, my friend. πŸ˜‰

    Good luck with the rest of NaNo!

  9. Jenny Hansen says:

    LOL…most of these comments made me smile. As did your post. πŸ™‚

    Keep at it, my friend…

  10. Jae says:

    Three novellas, wow! Sounds like you’ve got the right attitude to accomplish your goals and that you’re making great progress already. Keep it up!

  11. Julie Glover says:

    Fabulous progress! Woo-hoo! Love that custom cappuccino. πŸ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      J.R.: Thanks, hope you enjoyed the walk πŸ™‚

      Jennette: Awesome production! I would not call you a slacker, keep up the incredible progress πŸ™‚

      Kathy: Yep, one could say that πŸ˜‰

      Jenny: Thanks bud πŸ˜€

      Jae: Thanks, it is actually getting easier day by day. Just have to keep pushing πŸ™‚

      Julie: Thanks and it was a yummy NaNo delight πŸ™‚

  12. shanjeniah says:

    Gene –

    I love the way your passion, determination, and humor show through in everything you write.

    You are an inspiration.

    I love your photos and captions. My chef husband has written me love notes on chocolate covered strawberries, pizza, and mashed potatoes.

    I don’t set strict daily counts, because my days are pretty unpredictable, but that seems to be working really well for you.

  13. Pingback: Home – #ROW80, #NaNoWriMo, Thankvember, November 2012 « shanjeniah

I'd love to chat with you!