Sugared Apples and Sweet Writing

Hi there!

Coming in a bit late today.

We have been on the road this weekend enjoying parades – love how the smaller towns around us celebrate the harvest season. We’ve also been out to our local apple orchard to enjoy fresh cider and scrumpuous sugared apple donuts. Yeah, I know, have to be bad on the food occasionally to make all the healthy eating seem worthwhile *smile*

The goals (now that I made you hungry…)

Writing: This has been a fantastic week. I started out working on a plan (master diagram) for the series I’ve been working on. It is amazing how locking in elements helps define plot, character, reveal theme and bring out the heart of a story. As all the pantsers cringe – hey, this works for me – we all have our own methods.

After that I went on to plot the entire first novella in three days. In one of the other writer groups I’m part of, I’m calling it Fast Plotting.

One day to do what I call my Arc Diagram (half mindmap, half thread tracker) – my personal brainstorming method. Then, I had planned on broadening the tentpoles (Brooks, first plot point, midpoint, etc.), but as I started to do that I fell into working out a full treatment on the entire story. Over the course of two days. And while it needs refinement, I think its pretty damn good.

I guess we could say that my four hour dedicated writing block times are working out well. Oh, there was also a day in there where I finally defined my “personal process,” just to act as a loose guide to keep me moving forward. Already made a couple of adjustments but it is best to keep these things flexible.

Not much to say on other fronts. I was all about the writing this week. And a bit of social time (shout out to #MyWANA tweeps!). The writing is giving me new life and I can’t wait to repay the favor.

How was your week? Been around to encourage a few other ROWers in their quest for world-domination sharing a great story? I’d love to chat with you (smile)

Peace.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sugared Apples and Sweet Writing

  1. Marcia says:

    Awesome progress! You must be loving it, Gene! Can’t wait to hear more about the series. My hiatus begins on Wednesday and ends on Halloween when I plan to have the novella completed and out to betas. I’m halfway through re-plotting. I pantsed it the 1st time around so I have no notes from before I ‘lost’ the MS. But it’s going well. I’m sure yours will, as well. So, at this speed of yours, we should expect to hear of your completed 1st draft next week? πŸ™‚ Have a great one, my friend!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      I’m actually looking into getting a progress meter for my sidebar so that people can track my moves/progress through to completing the project. I don’t have any hard and fast deadlines, because I dislike those, but I do have soft targets in mind. Given the time vagaries of editing, readings, life in general, it is best to remain as flexible as possible in this area – but, always moving forward without hesitation.
      I’ll miss you while you’re on hiatus, but that just means I’ll have to email you and give you a nudge from time to time. Glad you found your way through and I know its going to be a great story once you finish it. Have a great week (month or so?), Marcia πŸ™‚

      • Marcia says:

        I used to have a progress meter for my original trilogy last year. It’s not only great for your readers, but also for you. You won’t want to see it sit stagnant, so you’ll keep writing and updating the meter. I agree with you on soft targets. Life = flexibility! I’ll miss you, too, but feel free to email me anytime. I do plan to attend to the “important” emails and I could use a nudge from you now and then. You’ll keep me meeting my own soft targets! πŸ™‚

  2. Juliana Haygert says:

    Awesome, Gene! I can feel your enthusiasm about your novella and your Fast Plotting!
    You’re most right about we all having our own methods when it comes to writing and I confess that my methods change per book too. Some I pantsed, some I plotted, some are 50-50 … I can’t never tell how it’s going to be until I sit down to write it lol
    Have a(nother) great week!

  3. Hmm, Marcia’s idea that a progress meter will make me keep making progress sounds good. You sound like you’re rockin’, Gene – kudos to you! And do you realize we’re coming up on one year for WANA1011?

  4. Great progress, Gene. Hours of undisturbed writing gets you in a good flow. And when you have discovered a process that works for you, everything is so much smoother.

  5. catwoods says:

    Fall, with its beautiful changing colors, crisp air and scrumptious harvest is rejuvinating. I hope I have as much luck getting back on track with my writing/blogging as you’ve made progress on your newest story.

    Enjoy thprocess!

  6. Julie Glover says:

    I have a bit of plotter-envy actually. My OCD side would love to have the novel all organized ahead of time. However, I’ve learned I’m what someone (August McLaughlin maybe?) called a “plantser”–somewhere in between plotter and pantser. Good for you sorting it all out! I like that term “Fast Plotting.”

    Have a great writing week, Gene!

  7. Jess Witkins says:

    Jealous! Hoping to plan a day of apple picking with my friend yet this month. But I uh *shuffles feet* suppose I should be writing…

  8. Cate Russell-Cole says:

    Apple donuts! Apple teacake. Apple scrolls… Gene, what have you done to my motivation to work? Now I just want to raid the nearest bakery. πŸ˜‰

    It sounds like you’ve had a great week. I love using mindmaps to plot things out. I’ve just published a blog post on using them for organisation as well as idea generation. The feedback was great. It’s such a brilliant tool to use. I can’t function as a ‘pantser’ either.

    Keep up the great work and enjoy your creative journey.
    Cheers, Cate (ROW80)

  9. I’m a plotter, so your master plan diagram sounds pretty good to me. Impressed with your four hour blocks. And I think it’s great that you defined your personal process! I think that’s something we all need to define for ourselves.

I'd love to chat with you!

