ROWdate 7~22

Hi everyone! It was an interesting week, some successes, a few failures and a few excellent learning experiences. Overall, I’d say the week went well even if I’m feeling a bit stalled in a few areas, but that was expected for the first month.

For a full list of my goals click on the ROW80 tab up above.

Here’s how this week went.

1) Writing: I successfully completed the first half of Candace Haven’s FastDraft class and am now moving into Revision Hell. The notes I took over the past two weeks are telling me that I have a great deal of work to do on this story, including what may be a full rewrite, which isn’t really a problem since I now have FastDraft in my collection of writing tools. Alongside of FastDraft, I’ve been working on a special project, studying a major dramatic series (TV) from a few years ago and a collection of movies. This is an approach I learned from reading Alexandra Sokoloff’s Writing Love. The insights are helping me pin down key aspects of the story while gaining a clear view of some things that looked cool at first glance but now I can see are extraneous.

2) I’m about halfway through Writing Love, mainly due to the above project. My plan is to work through the book, not just read it. In the past, I’ve done this as a double read through, but am experimenting with combining the two and finding good results. One fail point on this goal, I still haven’t gotten any reviews up on Goodreads but then I didn’t have a great deal of free time either. Thinking this part will see better progress once I’m through the class.

3) Blog Transition: No movement on this one this week, simply a matter of time and I’m not worried. Pieces are in place and just waiting for a couple weeks for when I have a bit more time available.

4) Social Media: Yeah, there hasn’t been a great deal of this as I’ve been focused on the writing. This one should see a pick up in August once the learning stage of FastDraft is past.

5) Ebook formatting: Also on hold until August although I am lining up a strong list of resources and material that will streamline the learning process on this one once I engage it.

6) The Novella: As I mentioned above, the first draft is complete but I know some major changes are coming for it. My plan is to do a reverse outline from the FirstDraft, which is standard for me – yep, we all have a bit different writing process – and then rewrite from that. I took fairly good notes over the last two weeks and already have part of this done.

That’s all for me this week. Be sure to get out and support your fellow ROWers.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ROWdate 7~22

  1. Lauren Garafalo says:

    Glad your FastDraft was a success!! Are you exhausted?? I love Alexandra’s blog and books. I think coming from a movie background myself, she makes the most sense to me. Looks like you’re keeping up pretty well considering you’ve been tackling Candace’s class. Keep at it!! πŸ˜€

  2. Juliana Haygert says:

    I’m so glad for your progress with FastDraft! You’re doing so, so great!
    Thanks for the tip on the book. This is the third or fourth “craft” book I buy and read after you mentioning it πŸ˜‰
    Keep up the good work! Have a great week!

  3. John Holton says:

    I bought Writing Love a few months ago, and I think it’s worked its way toward the back of the list. I think I’ll move it forward on your recommendation. The reverse outline sounds like a good idea; think I’ll do it for my Fast Draft “masterpiece”…

  4. Congrats on finishing your first draft. Your notes will help you to revise it well. And studying films is so useful. Sokoloff’s writing books are among my favourites. The examples and excercises make them genuine treasures.

  5. Marcia says:

    I think you’re doing great, Gene! Finishing Fast Draft and having a draft you can work with is definitely progress! I love the idea of using movies to help write your story. I write historicals and watch a lot of classic movies. The attitudes and various elements of living in the early part of the 20th century I glean help a lot. I’m almost finished with my website and will email you about some things I’ve learned when it’s done. Have another great week ahead, my friend!

  6. Mike Young says:

    Thanks for the comment on my blog. Already booked solid now with my Coursera course, but the Fast Draft workshops you mention look interesting. And not too expensive.
    Writing drafts goes OK for me – did two NaNoWriMo novels so far – it’s the revision that’s killing me.

  7. Julie Glover says:

    Hope Revision Hell is going okay! I’ve been secretly cheering you Fast Drafters on. Looks like a good week overall, Gene. Best wishes!

I'd love to chat with you!

