Writing Blog Treasures 11~10

Welcome to Writing Blog Treasures! Here you’ll find the best of the blogsphere from the past week. So, grab your coffee, sit back and above all – enjoy *smile*

NaNoWriMo

From Bob Mayer: Nanowrimo: Outlining Your Story // Point of View and Voice.

On Publishing

Self-Publishers Aren’t Killing the Industry; They’re Saving It by David Gaughran.

The KDP Select Blogposts Every Author Should Read by Laura Pepper Wu.

Want to be Read 100 Years From Now? Here’s How. by Kristine Rusch.

Shorter Novels in the Digital Age? by Elizabeth S. Craig. Excellent Post!

From Small Press to Self-Publishing with Laura Hunsaker, interview by Lindsay Buroker.

Writing on the Ether: Seeking Sanctuary by Porter Anderson.

On Aspects of Publishing

Read Like An Agent by Gabriela Pereira.

7 Ways to Get Your Book Reviewed by Dana Lynn Smith.

How to Write A Book Proposal by Jane Friedman. This is an in-depth look, lots of insight and resource links – recommended read.

Is the Kindle the Future of Literature or the Death of Publishing? by Megan Hopkins.

Strategy for Publishing Your Books: How Much to Publish in a Year and How To Get There by Ruth Ann Nordin.

From Joel Friedlander: Top 5 Goals for Your Book or Ebook Cover // 17 Things Self-Publishers Need To Know About Book Design.

On Social Media

3 Social Media Myths that can Cripple Our Author Platform by Kristen Lamb.

Want To Know Who Has “Unfollowed” You on Twitter? by MediaBistro.

On Blogging/Technology

High Concept Blogging: Achieving Bloggy Goodness in Record Time by Jen Hansen.

Using Excel to Keep Your Novel Organized by Laura Drake.

Writing Tool: Scrivener by Ava Jae.

On Writing Craft

Three Common Dialogue Challenges and How to Beat Them by Marcy Kennedy.

“When” Are You Telling? The Trouble with When Statements by Janice Hardy.

The Challenge With Creature Battles by Kait Nolan.

When Bad Ideas Sabotage Killer Concepts by Larry Brooks.

When To Put Grammar Aside (at least for a time) by Grammar Girl, Mignon Fogarty.

From K.M. Weiland: How To Write Sympathetic Characters // Six Compelling Antagonists.

Five Ways to Get Your First Draft Material Out of Your Head and Onto the Page by Joanna Penn. Also, be sure to check out Joanna’s Interview with Chuck Wendig wherein he discusses horror, character and the power of metaphor.

On the Writer’s Life

Source Code: Does What You Do Matter? by Marcy Kennedy. Highly recommended, excellent post!

Here are two excellent posts from Jeff Goins this week: When Fear Is Your Friend (And When It’s Not) and The Artist Manifesto: Will You Create?

Can We Tell When We Are Getting “Close”? by Jami Gold – is success about to find you?

Battlesong of the Storyteller by Chuck Wendig.

Writing in the Coffee Shop by Elizabeth S. Craig.

Be sure to check out my Designing from Bones series – links are right under my picture up top.

Peaceful Journeys.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Writing Blog Treasures 11~10

  1. Hi Gene,
    Thanks for another stellar group of links. Your blog treasures make my week-end “work” so easy.
    And thanks again for more blog love for Laura and Jenny.
    -Fae Rowen

  2. I made the list twice! Thank you bunches for including my posts 🙂
    I just came back from reading the Kristine Rusch post, and I have to admit that what will happen to my copyrights after I die is something I hadn’t thought about. While my husband and I do both have wills, once I start publishing, I’m going to have to go back and add some special language dealing with my books.

  3. Marcia says:

    Great mashup! Ruth Ann’s was my favorite as it sang to me today! I’m off to download Scrivener, and jot down some ideas. Loved that video interview between Joanna Penn and Chuck Wendig. She’s such a fan girl of him! He’s always hilarious, even when he keeps it clean. 🙂 Have a great weekend, my friend!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Fae: Always welcome 🙂

      Marcy: Yes, Kristine’s post got me thinking down the same line of thought. It is so easy to get caught up in the day to day activities that we forget to think about all the minutia associated with the long road of our careers. Protect your legacy at all times.

      Marcia: I’m still studying Ruth Ann’s post but she was a big shiny find for me this week. Woot! You are getting Scivener – there is a bit of a learning curve, but if you read the Help file it walks you through all the core parts of the program. The interview between Penn and Wendig was a total fav for me – always good to get it straight from the Blackbirds mouth, so to speak (grins). Hope you have a great weekend as well, my friend 🙂

  4. angelapeart says:

    I love visiting your blog, Gene! You offer the best, most comprehensive list of links. I can always find more than I can chew on in here 🙂

    Keep up a great job – your service to the writing community is amazing.

  5. Brilliant collection of links again. There’s something for everything. So many new delicious links I’d missed.

  6. Pingback: Link Feast for Writers, vol. 29 | Reetta Raitanen's Blog

I'd love to chat with you!