High Crusade & ROWdate 1-29

Hi everyone! I had a fantastic week, but before we get to that here is a review of the second book of my ROW challenge.

Review of “High Crusade” by Poul Anderson

What happens when aliens land in the middle of an English Army in 1345 that is set on conquering France? Well, when the English decide the aliens are demons then you get dead aliens.

“High Crusade” is a wonderful mix of Dark Ages chivalry, religious mysticism and feudalism sent into space against a high-tech but dilapidated alien culture. The book focuses on the attitudes, social mores and archaic view points of the “fish out of water” English as they travel to the stars and act in defense of merry old England. In the name of the King. And the Queen. And all that.

At 186 pages, this is a quick and enjoyable romp exploring a beautiful fancy through the eyes of Brother Parvus, a simple priest trying to make sense of a broader universe in contrast to the backwards religious views of his era. If you like history and sci-fi, I’d recommend this intriguing blend of the two for a few hours of delight.

And now, the ROW update

-7k of fiction per week. I wrote quite a bit over this and have what I think will be a novella brewing to the side as a result. Two words: Paranormal Archeologist. Yeah, fun stuff. I pretty much pantsed the story so there are quite a few holes to be filled in but the zero draft is fun and I know I’ll be able to piece it together over the next couple of months. Love the smell of percolating fiction.

-Turn in WWBC assignments on time. I was still on hiatus for this one, kinda. I had a couple chats with my team leader, Donna Newton and think I have the road block figured out. I have a trilogy in mind and was trying to write a single log line to encompass the entire project. Yeah, didn’t work. One book, one log line, one big bad troublemaker. I’ll be turning in material over this week, stay tuned.

-Treadmill for 30 minutes 5 times a week. I walked six times, bringing my 32 in 60 days challenge with Marcia Richards to 30. Two walks to go and three days left. I’ve got this one, no sweat. Well, yeah, there is sweat but its good sweat *smile*

-Read three fiction books during the round. Up above is the review for the second one. I’m currently on page 232 of David Gibbons “The Tiger Warrior” which is freaking amazing. I’ll be reading more of Gibbons in the future. Mystery, history, archeology and more. I should finish the book by the end of this week and will review it either next update or the following one.

-Keep up sponsor duties. All good here. I visited 27 ROWers last Sunday and look forward to seeing at least that many today.

Hope your week was a fantastic one and if not, progress is progress, my friend. Keep striving for the future.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. โ€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,โ€ sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to High Crusade & ROWdate 1-29

  1. callene says:

    Sounds like an interesting book. The crusades are one of my favorite historical periods, I may have to check it out…after I get through my other reading challenges, lol!

  2. Great week, Gene!
    Paranormal Archeologist sounds fun! Can’t wait to hear more about this idea!
    And woot on the exercise front too!
    Keep up the amazing job!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Callene: High Crusade is a fun light read; half-day read in reality. This one would be perfect for those doing the 100 novels in a year challenge. Thanks for the comment ๐Ÿ™‚

      Juliana: Yeah, I’ve been having a bit of fun with my fiction, exploring ideas and just finding out what’s floating around in my head. The Paranormal Archeologist is one of 3 or 4 cool ideas that have spawned from this since the start of the year. Thanks for the support ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Kerry Meacham says:

    Nice week, ROWbro. Sounds like you’re on a roll. Keep it going.

    ~clink~

  4. The Paranormal Archeologist sounds amazing!! Great work keeping up with all of your goals. Glad you’re making progress with fiction after changing your ideas about what genre you write, etc. Good luck with your loglines too! (I hate them LOL.) Have a wonderful week!!

  5. Jenny Hansen says:

    Your updates are so fun. “Love the smell of percolating fiction?” Totally made me giggle and appreciate. I agree with you, and the word choice is prime!! And I can’t believe you’re jamming out over 7K a week on your fiction – I am so completely impressed. That’s very far out of my reach right now.

    We’re busy little Sponsors, aren’t we?

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Lauren: Pigeon-holing my writing was the first great mistake. Now, I just write, not all that worried about the genre. That is someone else’s job to figure out. Thanks for the support ๐Ÿ™‚

      Jen: The only time I’m not busy is when I’m sleeping. And then, I guess that is busy too *smile*

  6. Marcia says:

    I’m always amazed at how much work you get done every single week! You’re a treadmill champ, too! Let me know if you want to keep up the challenge or try something new.
    Paranormal archeologist sounds very cool. I can’t wait to see how the story pans out.
    The Tiger Warrior sounds like a book I need to check out…it has so much of what I love to read.
    You had another stellar week. Thanks again for being an amazing partner, my friend. Couldn’t have gotten off to such a good start without you. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Stacy Green says:

    You’re doing great, Gene. Your consistency and motivation never cease to amaze me. Congrats!

  8. Hi Gene! Glad that you had a great week. The amount of stuff you’re juggling is amazing! And with 7K a week – truly impressive.

    High Crusade sounds amazing. I love the idea of medieval England mixed with aliens. Will have to check it out.

  9. Em says:

    ‘Love the smell of percolating fiction.’ This gem is going to be written down and put above my desk ๐Ÿ™‚

    Glad you are had such a great week and well done on the treadmill challenge! And I agree with some people above, a Paranormal archeologist sounds great! Have a brilliant week.

  10. Em says:

    ps. Was it me you were talking about in your ROW80 Post last week? Apologies if my ego has got it wrong ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. It sounds like you’re having a great week! Keep up the good work. I’m really jealous that you’re doing so well in exercise goals. But I WILL get back to it. I WILL! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Marcia: I’ll be writing you in the next day or two, just finished walk 31. I’ll write after walk 32 ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for all your support as well. I can’t tell you how many days, especially early on where the thought of failing the challenge is what got me on the treadmill. And now, I feel much better and its a habit I actually miss on rare days I don’t get to do it.

      Stacy: Thanks and I’m always glad to help with motivation ๐Ÿ™‚

      Annalise: I really think you would enjoy High Crusade and even if not, its short *grin* Thanks for the support!

      Em: Feel free to hang onto the percolating fiction, I’m honored. And to your P.S.: Yes, I was indeed referring to you in my last post on the ROW80 blog. You inspire me at times as well my friend. Oh, and your ego is fine ๐Ÿ™‚

      Lauralynn: Thanks! I left a “friendly nudge” for you on your update. Appreciate your support and always glad to reciprocate ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Sounds like a fabulous, week, Gene! Those are truly amazing wordcounts, kudos. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for the book recommendations! They definitely sound like novels that would be right up my alley. Not that I need anything else on my to read, pile, but hey, who knows …

    Have a great week!

  13. Thanks for being so great at showing by example how to work out goals and accomplish them! I am glad I came upon this wonderful world of writers at Row80. Looking forward to reading more of your check-ins.

    Peace,
    Morgan

  14. Natasha says:

    “the smell of percolating fiction” Such a great visual with just a few words. I should be so good in my writing LOL!!
    I like your reading goal. I’ve totally been trying to increase my reading during the week. Its been hard but I’m doing it. Good to see a great writer having an even better week ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for coming by my site! EXCELLENT SPONSOR SUPPORT ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Gene, you are a pretty popular guy around the blogosphere and yet you took the time to come by and encourage me. Thank you Gene. Uh, Paranormal Archeologist? That’s a new one for me Gene. That certainly is a brain teaser. You’re a great leader and you got a lot done this last week. I’m off to start the week anew! ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. K.B. Owen says:

    Nice job, Gene! I know you’ll get that trilogy nailed. Give it time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Lynn Kelley says:

    You’re on a roll, Gene! Keep going. The book sounds great. And it sounds like you had fun writing that novella. Have a great week!

  18. Wow–sounds like you have had a stellar week! Great job balancing exercise and writing and everything! Nice work! ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. You’re rocking the ROW as usual. Now that book sounds like it is right up my alley. I love that premise.
    You’re probably tired of this sort of thing by now, but tough stuff. I have awarded you the Kreativ Blogger award because you are both creative and inspiring. See here for details. http://www.prudencemacleod.com/

I'd love to chat with you!