ROWdate 11-27

Captains Log, well, it isn’t really a log, more of a file, but not one that will cut bars, unless they are fig. I digress. Ever since the unfortunate death of Security Guy Six by accidentally sentient saber-tooth chipmunks Councilor Helen and the away team have endeavored to educate the Federations newest furry members.

“Councilor, status update.”

“Oh, hey, Captain. Well, Scotty is out back showing the Munkians how to make bottle rockets. Confused Doctor’s Kid is holding an advanced class in using the alien device, he calls it Modern Warfare 301 but I have no idea what he means. He’s kinda creepy.”

“It isn’t just you Councilor. Boy creeps me out too.”

“I don’t think he would notice if we left, Captain.”

“I’ll take that under advisement. How is Brainy Annoying Vulcan’s class on the Theory of the Hypothesis of Logic coming along?”

“Well, BAV’s student,” giggle, “has taken to wearing a helmet after suffering a concussion from banging his head against the wall.”

Comm signal. “Captain, Star Fleet Command is ordering us to pick up medical supplies and deliver them to PlotMia. Apparently, they are experiencing an outbreak of Trope’s disease.”

“Very well. Councilor, gather the away team, I’m declaring NaNoMia conquered, er, peaceful law-abiding tax payers.”

“Um, sure, Captain.”

“Oh, and Councilor.”

“Yes, Captain?”

“Leave Confused Doctor’s Kid, I’ll just take his mom out for dinner and tell her he’s been given an important assignment to rediscover Jello or something.”

*smile* Hi everyone.

Jello is exactly what my brain feels like but I’m okay with that. As of 2:46 on Friday I am officially a NaNoWriMo Winner! The purple bar tastes looks great on my NaNo profile and let’s just say that I breathed a huge sigh of relief when it appeared.

I want to congratulate my other NaNo buddies that have completed NaNo as well: Alberta Ross, Em (wants to write and did), Juliana Haygart, Lena Corazon and Lady Antimony. You all rock! I’d also like to give a shout out to my ROWbro Kerry Meacham and Lauren Garafalo for leading the #ROW80 Sprint charges over the past month. Without those sprints I would have struggled to make it. Thank you *smile*

So, what now? NaNoWriMo is over for me (winners badge in my side column) and Kristen’s blogging class is over (notice the new banner and more is coming soon), so it is time to establish some new goals to keep moving things forward.

New goals, as of today.

1) The NaNo story did not go as I expected. No surprise. So over the course of December I’ll be applying the story building and structuring principles I’m learning through WWBC (Warrior Writers Boot Camp) to restructure it in preparation for a rewrite starting (hopefully) in January. I’ll also be participating in PlotWriMo to get extra insight. The only definable goals I can come up with for these are to hand my WWBC assignments in on time on Fridays and listen and apply each of the PlotWriMo lessons on a daily basis. Neither should be an issue but I’ll reserve the right to adjust this goal as things progress.

2) Participate in a treadmill challenge with Marcia Richards. Marcia is a great bud of mine from the Life List Club and over the course of December and January we will be keeping each other accountable for our treadmill times. I know Marcia has been gearing up for this and I’m excited to have her as a workout partner. Goal: 4 30-minute sessions on the treadmill every week for 32 total walks over the 60 days. Exceed this and I get a kid-free phone-free dinner out with my wife which is a rare and precious thing for us.

3) Revamping my blog. Already started on this but there will be more coming. Watch for a possible shift in site theme, new buttons and other tweaks. This is actually more of a warning then a goal, since I can’t define exactly what I’ll be doing. But if you happen to be visiting while I’m sitting here cursing at WordPress working on the adjustments just be aware that things could get a bit messy.

Well, that’s it for this update. I hope you all had a spectacular week and I look forward to visiting many of you today. Be sure to spread the love to your fellow ROWers *smile*

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to ROWdate 11-27

  1. Congratulations again, Gene! I love how you live your life with so much direction! Would you like to plan my son’s bar mitzvah? I’m sure with you at the helm, it would be…well, like fireworks. 🙂

  2. L.S. Engler says:

    A little Star Trek in the morning is a great start to the day. I know I appreciated it, anyway.

    Congratulations on winning NaNo! You’ve been flying through it, so I’m really not surprised that you got there, Gene!

  3. Congrats on winning NaNo! It sounds like you have a great plan for moving forward. Best of luck implementing the new goals this upcoming week.

  4. Congratulations on winning the NaNo! The new plan sounds great. All the best with the treadmill challenge — what a fabulous idea to pair up with a pal! I might do something similar. Thank you for this fabulous inspiration.

    Oh, good luck with redesigning your blog. I can’t wait to see the new loook.

  5. kerrymeacham says:

    Great job, ROWbro!!! Woot Woot !!!

    I’m getting ready for the Titans game (rain all day they’re saying), and I’m hoping to get some laptop time on the drive back to STL. At 43,003, I’m within site of the finish line.

    Great revised goals. Have an awesome week. ~clink~

  6. Em says:

    Thanks the shout out and I love the (wants to write and she did)! Made me laugh!

    Great that you have new goals set up and ready to go. I on the other hand need to think of where I go next.

    Keep up the great work.

  7. Marcia says:

    Woohoo! You won! Congratulations, Gene! Determination and perseverance are your bywords, right? You do know how to get the job done.
    I’m ready for our treadmill challenge…I’ve recuperated from my houseful of kids over the holiday week and am ready to go. I’m putting up a new page, which will air on Dec 1st, for the challenge outlining my goals and what we are doing. I’m also challenging myself in other ways.
    Can’t wait to see what else you’ll change in your blog. Love the new header and tagline!

  8. K.B. Owen says:

    Woot! Way to go, Gene! Nice-looking changes, too. 🙂

  9. Ryan King says:

    Congrats on NaNo! NaNo can turn anyone’s mind to Jello, don’t feel bad. Good luck with your new goals, especially that WordPress theme. It’s a doozie!

  10. Amanda Rudd says:

    Congratulations on winning NaNo! And good luck with the re-writes!

  11. Yay for finishing NaNo!
    An thanks for mentioning me 😉
    Nice new goals! Good luck with them!

  12. alberta ross says:

    well done winner – it was fun even if heads are filled with jello:) does the writing need much of a restructure or is it just jello thoughts – that treadmil challenge sounds harder than nano- I never was good at keeping at treadmill:)

    thanks for the mention.

    so will watch blog with interest – all the best for coming week

  13. Congrats on NaNo – that’s freaking AWESOME!! Love it…and love the new goals. You are a machine and an inspiration and I can’t wait to watch your progress. Woot woot! 🙂

  14. Congrats on finishing NaNoWriMo! That’s a huge accomplishment. 🙂

  15. amyshojai says:

    Bravo to you Gene! What a great accomplishment.

  16. Gina says:

    i hope you take a victory lap on that treadmill of yours 🙂 i’m quite impressed – i’ve never tried nano, and it sounds like such an ordeal.

    i’ve been asking the other nano winners – what was the biggest lesson you learned from buckling down and writing novel in one month?

I'd love to chat with you!