Blog Treasures 11-26

Welcome to Blog Treasures, my weekly roundup of the best of the blogsphere from the last week. We are in the final days of NaNoWriMo, so for you NaNoites I’ve added a section of links just for you (although the writing advice contained in them applies to all writers). Enjoy the links!

Featured

Keeping our priorities straight is the main key to finding success as writers or in any endeavor in life. Here is a fantastic post by Christina Katz (hosted by Jane Friedman) that reminds us that Platform and Social Media Must Not Be Your Center.

NaNoMania!

NaNoWriMo: Kernel Idea Examples by Bob Mayer. Finding the seed that gives birth to story. Also from Bob, The Common Traits of the Successful Writer.

NaNoWriMo: The Third-Quarter Drop Dead by Alexandra Sokoloff.

Structure Part 8 – Balancing the Scenes that Make Up Your Novel by Kristen Lamb. Excellent article for post-NaNo restructuring.

On Publishing and Social Media

Theresa Stevens of Edittorent takes a brief look at Penguins new division: Book Country. Worth the two minutes to read this one. Also, take a one-minute look at More on Book Country.

I Self-Published – Should You Too? by Roz Morris.

The Future of Books & Publishing by Joanna Penn (The Creative Penn).

Twitter: One Size Does Not Fit All by Jane Friedman.

Why Do You Need A Platform? by Lisa Gail Green.

On the Craft of Writing

When it comes to the craft, I spend more time on one site then any other: Janice Hardy’s The Other Side of the Story. Here are some samples from the past week that I found helpful. Plotting through “What’s Next” Part 2 & Writing a Selling Query or Pitch in Four Easy Steps (guest post by Elle Strauss).

From the Bookshelf Muse: Character Trait: Ruthless (Think Michael Corleone).

4 Steps for Organizing Plot Ideas Into A Novel by Jody Hedlund (guest posting on Writers In The Storm).

On the Writing Life

Competitions and Writing Opportunities by Donna Newton. Awesome resource!

3 Keys to Success: Show Up, Be Present and Hope for Serendipity by Dan Blank.

Six Common Writing Excuses (and how to overcome them) by Ali Luke (Aliventures).

Larry Brooks (Storyfix) hosted Art Holcomb this week with something every writer and every human being has: A Personal Story Arc. What stories are waiting in your past?

Staying on the above thought is an excellent article by Jane Friedman: What Scene From Your Past Would You Revisit?

Hearing Voices? Maybe You’re a Writer by Susan Bearman guest posting on Write It Sideways.

Fun & Interesting Links

Mary Jo Gibson’s Cabinet of Curiosities features museums, art and history from the past, present and future. Before the advent of the printing press painted artwork, tapestries and artistically fashioned items served as the novels of the day, telling stories and acting as points of inspiration for modern day writers (like Dan Brown). Mary Jo always has a fantastic array of information and resources. Give her a look, you’ll be glad you did.

The funniest post of the week goes to Leanne Shirtliffe with A Twisted Guide to the Worst Toys of 2011.

The Ultimate Gift Guide for Writers by Jami Gold. Pens with free chocolate?

Ellie Soderstrom continues her cool new series with two new offerings What I Want to be When I Grow Up: ArchaeologistScientist.

The World’s Sexiest Superhero by Shea MacLeod. Fun Read!

The Jane Austen Video Game!? by Susan Bischoff. Love this one!

Free E-books from Jeannie Campbell the Character Therapist.

Books & Reviews: Books I’m Crazy Grateful For by August McLaughlin. J.S. Marlo’s Unscripted by Carrie Mumford. Jessica Park’s Flat-Out Love by Jeannie Campbell. The Best Literary Fiction Blogs & Websites by Jane Friedman. Nathaniel Philbrick’s The Mayflower by Jess Witkins.

Movies & Television: The Long-Lost Family Dramas & DVR Priorities de Casa Blanca by Tiffany A. White; A review of Immortals by Gloria Oliver; Why Grimm has a Grim Future by Kait Nolan; We Want To Believe in X-Files 3 by Amanda Rudd; movies Timer by Susan Bischoff.

Recipes: Recipe Swap by Catie Rhodes; Sweet Obsessions – Holiday Foods Part 2 (2 recipes) by Marcia A. Richards. You can find hundreds of gluten-free recipes on Kait Nolan’s Pots & Plots.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Blog Treasures 11-26

  1. Thanks for the link to my superhero post. 🙂 You’ve got some great blog treasures listed!

  2. Laura Drake says:

    Thanks for the link to WITS, Gene — but you’re killing me! I’m supposed to be writing, and now I have all these links that I just HAVE to go look at, right NOW! Can I blame it on you?

    Hmmm. Works for me.

  3. amyshojai says:

    Lots of great links again. Thanks Gene, I can always count you you for terrific blog treasures.

  4. Jami Gold says:

    Thanks for the link, Gene! Between Thanksgiving and my deadline, I missed ALL of these, so thank you for providing this list. 🙂

  5. I can’t believed I missed a post touting pens with free chocolate!!! 😉 Thanks so much, Gene, for another fabulous mashup and including me in it.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Amy: Thanks 🙂

      Jami: Last week was a rough one for trying to keep up. Glad the links will help catch you up 🙂

      August: Personally, I think many smaller products would sell better if they included free chocolate.

  6. Thanks Gene – as always! And you always catch some terrific links I’ve missed. If you’re the Thanksgiving side of the Atlantic, I hope you had a good one.

  7. Marcia says:

    Thanks for the link luv! You always have so many amazing links! You do keep me busy on the weekends…so many I can’t resist! Thanks!

    Btw, this holiday week has prepped my endurance level for our upcoming challenge! I hope you’re ready for it! 🙂

  8. Lynn Kelley says:

    What a fantastic mashup, Gene. So many great links. Thank you!

  9. Jenny Hansen says:

    Gene, YOU are a treasure! I’m with the ladies, but for me it was between Thanksgiving and having a house full of sick people. Thank you so much for gathering these – it’s a tremendous service this week.

  10. carrie m says:

    Thanks again for an awesome round-up! I especially enjoyed Bob Mayer’s post about the common traits of successful writers. I have no idea how you dig all these fantastic links up, but keep ’em coming! (Also, thanks for the mention 🙂

  11. Leanne Shirtliffe says:

    Honoured to be among such company, Gene. I’m currently reworking that post for a majorish website. 🙂

    You rock!

  12. Pingback: #ROW80 Check-in: I’m B-a-a-ack! | Jenny Hansen's Blog

  13. showard76 says:

    Great post Gene and congratulations on winning NaNo! 🙂

  14. Laura Drake says:

    Congrats on Nano, Gene! Go dance!

  15. Congrats, Gene, on your NaNo win. AWESOME. PLUS, you took time to find and share these links?? You are my hero.

  16. Gene, you always find the best blogs! There are quite a few on here that I need to check out….especially Jody’s guest post and Shea’s sexy superheros. 🙂

    Thank you for giving me some link love. You are the best!

  17. Fabio Bueno says:

    Gene, special thanks for “Competitions and Writing Opportunities” link! I’m following Donna’s blog now.

  18. Fantastic list of links, Gene. I love visiting your blog and finding all these amazing resources at the tip of my fingers — and grouped by categories too! Thank you!

  19. Oh, I forgot — congratulations on winning the NaNo! You rock!

I'd love to chat with you!