ROWing at a Steady Pace

Hi everyone! Today I’ll be brief due to schedule. One note though: The next Time Management post will be out in the next two days where we’ll be looking at structured flexibility and scheduling. Hope you’ll join me. *smile*

Okay, on to the ROW goals.

1) Spend a minimum of 10 hours each week continuing to refine “Ben,” until it is ready to draft. This is not get done. Zero hours. The reason: I underestimated the amount of time I’d need for both some personal events this week and the amount of college work I’d have. No worries though, as it was expected that the first eight weeks of the college semester would place intense demands on my time. I’ll be carrying this goal into the coming week now that I can plan for college and the personal events are past. Goal carried.

2) Spend 15-30 minutes a day, up to 3 hours a week, writing or editing blog posts. Ship (publish) when ready. While I did not spend the total amount of time on this goal, I did spend some. I also posted the first time management post on Monday which can be found here: 168 Hours: Time & Productivity #1. Goal carried with the second time management post coming out in the next couple days.

3) Complete all college assignments on time and with my best work. At this point I have a 100% in Management–the other classes have yet to quiz or test. I’m up to speed on all upcoming assignments, have turned in the ones that were due, and in good shape. I also spent about 4 hours planning out most of the semester to ensure I stay ahead of the game and prepared. I did have one oversight, I underestimated the time requirements for the Management classes video lectures: Planned 10-20 minutes each and the first ones are 20-45 minutes, thus my failure to hit Goal #1 up above. I’ve now gone through and estimated time for all remaining lectures and should be better able to handle the flow. Goal carried.

And that is all for this week. See you all in a day or two with the next Time & Productivity post. Until then, be sure to visit your fellow ROWers–it may be the best visit they get all week.

Peaceful Journeys.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ROWing at a Steady Pace

  1. Sorry to had you had so little writing time this week, Gene. It’s often a battle, I know. Good luck on your goals to reconcile college work with writing, and have a great week!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Well I did have writing time, it just all had to focus on college projects. Indeed it can be difficult some weeks, but not complaining because I know the long-term benefits outweigh the short-term discomfort. Thanks for the support. 🙂

  2. Marcia says:

    Ah, stuff happens, right? We think we can plan for everything but, since we can’t really see into the future, we can get thrown off track. You’re great at getting back on track, though, and your ability to be flexible will minimize the stress of not meeting your objectives at the time planned. Wishing you a smooth week with no glitches!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Something I’ll address in a future time & productivity post are “guesstimates.” Rarely is the time element certain which is why flexibility is so important. Appreciate the support. 🙂

  3. Beth Camp says:

    Another writer here at ROW80 (sorry, I cannot remember who), suggested when time was at a premium to write simply 5 sentences a day. When I tried this, I was surprised that those 5 sentences quickly became 200 and then 400 and then 600 words. By the end of the week, I could add some more work to my wip. So, the added benefit of continuing to write — even a little — could be that I found myself thinking about my wip at odd moments, and then coming back refreshed, with new ideas when that little snippet of time opened up for my daily 5 sentences. Perhaps this will help in the coming week. It does help also that I get up each morning at 6, well before anyone else. But you are balancing other writing commitments with school, so I wish you well in the coming week.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Early mornings are a good time to get things done. I’m typically up between 4-5 a.m. (the alarm is set to 5). However, college work currently has me using 7-9 hours a day, so those early hours are spent reading and prepping homework assignments. No worries though. I remember the “5 sentence” post. While I’m not currently focused on drafting, I think I can adapt the idea to get in a slice of time each day. Thanks for the reminder and the support. 🙂

I'd love to chat with you!

