Rowing in a Kaleidoscope

photo by Kuba Bozanowski, WikiCommons CC

photo by Kuba Bozanowski, WikiCommons CC

Hi everyone!

This past week seems like a 100-mile an hour kaleidoscope blur. With ten days left in my summer college session, things are moving at breakneck speed. Since I’d prefer to use what free time I get today to visit some of my fellow ROW’ers, let’s move on to goals.

ROW Goals

1) Write 500 new words of fiction a day, or the equivalent (3500 words) during the course of the week. Word Count: 2017. Still seeing steady improvement thanks to the morning writing sessions and Saturday catchup. I’m happy with the forward motion and looking forward to the college break the first couple weeks of August to get better organized. Focused writing times are the key and I could still use improvement in this area. Keeping this goal for week four, continuing to refine.

2) Meet all college deadlines with my best work. I am currently sitting at the top of both of my classes. To say I’m pleased with this would be an understatement. I’m ecstatic. However, the next ten days will be a blur of activity with 4-5 quizzes, 6 (known) homework assignments, 2 tests, oh, and the final exams. This goal is my priority until the end of the month.

3) Spend 15-30 minutes a day, up to 3 hours a week, writing or editing blog posts. Ship (publish) when ready. I did manage to spend one block of time netting me a first draft of a blog post. Which considering the way the week went is an accomplishment. However, I feel I should adjust this goal until the end of the summer session. Goal Change: Complete the drafted post and publish it this week. Original goal suspended until August 1.

4) Pick one stalled project (I have a few) and get it ready to ship. “Project 1” is completed and parts of it are now being implemented. I have a job interview on Monday (which will tell you part of what Project 1 entails)–fingers crossed. This week I’ll be moving to “Project 2,” which is a stalled writing assignment I promised to a close friend. Goal: Draft the three articles belonging to “Project 2.”

Overall, I’d say it was a successful week. How about you? Be sure to get out and support your fellow ROWers, it may be the best visit many of us get this week.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Rowing in a Kaleidoscope

  1. I’m impressed that you got any writing in at all, with that schedule! 4 or 5 quizzes, two tests, plus finals this week? Yikes! Good luck – and keep up the good work!

  2. tanjagustavsson says:

    Wow, you do have a lot on your plate! Best of luck with all the tests and exams 😀

  3. Lena Corazon says:

    Great job as usual, Gene! Congrats on doing so well in your classes (though I never had any doubts), and best of luck as you finish up summer session. 😀

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks Lena! You are one of the people that inspires me to aspire to do my best academically–whether you know it or not, you are a stellar example in my opinion.

  4. Jess Witkins says:

    Ok, you kicked my butt in wordcount this week! I bow down to the Writer Whisperer and your awesome ROW accomplishments!

  5. Jenny Hansen says:

    I’m completely impressed. I tried my damnedest to get to the page last week and only got in 1000 words. It’s been utter chaos, but still. You inspire me. I know your schedule is chaos and you got over 2K. I’ll be stepping it up this week to see if I can keep up with my Wonder Twin!!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      What a compliment, thank you! Write in the gaps life leaves, my friend. Working on a post for that, and eventually, I’ll find enough gaps to get it completed…

  6. shanjeniah says:

    Wow….just wow. I feel like I want to be along the route somewhere, holding out a water bottle and an energy bar to help you through the marathon!

    I love the way you list the adaptations of your goals after detailing your progress. It’s less clunky than the way I’ve been doing it, and I am going to steal – I mean, BORROW- it, henceforth.

    In all the busy, please be sure to take a bit of time to enjoy, and catch a deep breath or two. Sending you lots of stamina for the long “week” ahead.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Wow, Shan, Thank you! Just leaving this comment is a “water bottle” on the daily marathon and greatly appreciated. Feel free to steal/borrow/use any of my techniques or formatting ideas. Thanks for the stamina boost, finding time to breath is a bit more problematic, but I’ll do my best. As always. *smile*

  7. Pingback: It’s (not) Learn Nothing Day (here): ROW80 Update, July 24, 2013 | shanjeniah

I'd love to chat with you!

