Rowing in a Circle

Hi everyone!

Well, I’d love to say that I accomplished more towards my goals this week than last, but not the case. The college part of my week was hectic to the point where the five day week for my Business class stretched into seven–one quiz still to go. Next week is just as buried.

I am not discouraged. It was expected that the first couple of weeks would be rough while I smoothed my system. For example, I’ll now be moving a writing block to the front end of the day, before homework, email, or anything else, just to be sure I get the time in.

ROW Goals

1) Write 500 new words of fiction a day, or the equivalent (3500 words) during the course of the week. Word Count: 1512. While not the count I was looking for, this is an improvement over last week. I’ll be shifting writing times around and squeezing them in the gaps between other events. Keeping the goal for week three while applying creative solutions to time organization.

2) Meet all college deadlines with my best work. All assignments are in, upcoming work is on track, but I’ll have to keep my focus here for a couple more weeks. As the short semester winds towards finals, the pace is accelerating to feverish pitch. Keeping goal for week three.

3) Spend 15-30 minutes a day, up to 3 hours a week, writing or editing blog posts. Ship (publish) when ready. No hesitations. This did not happen. However, I did spend a chunk of time yesterday refining the plan I had in hand and building a topic list–applying what I learned in Kristen Lamb’s Blogging for Brand class (highly recommended). I’ll be establishing a couple of dedicated blog writing times this week to get this goal moving forward. Adjusted Goal: Spend 30 minutes on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, writing or editing blog posts. Publish if ready.

4) Pick one stalled project (I have a few) and get it ready to ship. Yesterday, I spent a couple of hours outlining and organizing for a stalled personal project, “Project 1.” Progress was good and I’m hoping to get another block of time carved out for it today. I have a task list in hand which should help keep my work times focused. Adjusted Goal: Spend 4 hours this week moving “Project 1” towards implementation.

Overall, this week was better than last. Continuous improvement is the long-term goal after all.

How was your week? Having to adjust goals or cruising along? I’d love to chat with you.

Peaceful Journeys.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Rowing in a Circle

  1. Marcia says:

    More progress, good for you, Gene! I can see how your plan is smoothing out gradually getting you where you want to be.You’re juggling a lot of work, so pat yourself on the back!

  2. Good job making progress while learning what works for you! I’ve found that if I do the writing first, it’s more likely to get done. That isn’t always practical, but when I can do it, it’s a winner. That’s how I managed to win NaNo. I’ll be interested to see what other creative time management tricks you find. Good luck and have a great week!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      I think with focus I can make the early morning times count. Of course, focusing while the coffee is still kicking in will be the real trick. The one thing I know is that the first hour of the morning is the one least likely to derail plans, so slipping the writing in there has the best chance of success. Thanks for the support, Jennette!

  3. Jess Witkins says:

    Hey Partner! Nice job on the school work and focusing on those in between times of writing! You’ll get that word count!

  4. K.B. Owen says:

    Nice work, Gene, and not at all circular! You are the hardest working guy I’ve ever met, seriously. Keep the faith!

    ~Kathy

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thank you, Kathy–always wonderfully supportive, and appreciated. I will endeavor to keep the faith. Just hope my path led back towards Camelot one day soon.

  5. Lena Corazon says:

    Gene, it sounds like you’re definitely moving forward! Congrats on getting all the college assignments completed, and on refining your system for this round. Have a great week!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks, Lena! It is fun being back in college after 20 years off campus. The pace is a bit intimidating at times, but I can say that I’m enjoying education in a way I never could have appreciated when I was younger. Sharpens the mind when done properly. Thanks for the support!

  6. Cate Russell-Cole says:

    That is quite a week! Don’t fret about the word count Gene, if you can stay ahead of the College demands you will have aced it! Good luck.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      College and job hunting are my two primary daily activities. So really, the fact I am getting word count is pretty amazing when I think about it. Thanks!

  7. Best of luck maintaining your balance between school & writing. Lots to do! And have fun!!

  8. For me, coursework is a drain on my creative brain, and I admire anyone who can keep up with the writing while also having to take tests and write papers, so good for you! I think in the situation, consistency is the key, and it seems that you are getting there on that one.

    Good luck and have a great week, Gene!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      It has not been easy. There are many days I want to write, but by the time I get there the creative is curled in the corner shivering. Starting tomorrow, I’ll be putting in 15-30 minutes minimum, whatever I have available, first thing in the morning–while the coffee is still brewing–just to work on the fiction. Hoping it works. Thanks for the support, Ruth. 🙂

  9. Alex Wren says:

    I always loved the short semesters of summer in college because of the breakneck pace. Regular semesters just seemed to drag on, but the tight space of the short ones does cut into the time for other things. Sounds like you’ve got a solid plan on how to deal with that though. Best of luck 🙂

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Maybe if I was younger and with fewer obligations, then the breakneck pace would be cool. However, not the case. Most days it is a leap from task to task in a non-ending stream that leaves one wondering when last they ate something. Or what day it is. I digress, and do indeed have a plan. Thanks for the support, Alex. 🙂

  10. kimpdx says:

    You are making progress and continuing to check on and adjust your goals which is great. I was just commenting to someone else that sometimes we have to build up to achieving the full goals we set. It looks to me like you are building up nicely. Keep up the good work!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Interesting you mentioned goal adjustment. In my Business class we discussed goals and objectives. Most of what we call goals in ROW are actually objectives. A goal is to write a novel. An objective is to write a number of words or pages per day. Or, edit chapter one. When I view my “goals,” I am seeing them as objectives, which have to be adjusted on a weekly basis to remain effective. Try Something. Analyze results. Determine how to improve results. Set new objective. So far, it is working in a slow-growth manner–which is growth, and I’ll take it. Thanks for the support!

I'd love to chat with you!

