Returning to ROW

Hi everyone!

Yes, I know the round officially starts tomorrow, but right now I have time. And tomorrow is already full of activity. Ever feel tired a day early just because you see what’s coming? Yeah, some days carry their own special.

The past six months seem to have passed in a blink, a whirlwind to a land somewhere between Oz and the Twilight Zone. I’d love to say I’ve been wonderfully productive on all fronts, but that would not be the truth.

Regardless, the past is past. Time to move forward. With that concept in mind, I’m returning to ROW for my first round in 2013. I’ve missed the great friends I made during five previous rounds. I’ve missed the support. And, darn it, I just get more done when working alongside the fantastic that sparkles at the heart of ROW80.

I have a great deal to do, but to start the round, I’ll keep it simple. Simple works.

Goals

1) Write 500 new words of fiction a day, or the equivalent (3500 words) during the course of the week. I’m wording it this way because chaos loves to happen to inflexibility. This is the same goal I have with my good friend and accountability partner, Jess Witkins–double accountable because this one is just too important. And no, I’ve not been making it to the number in recent weeks. Close, but not quite there.

2) I’m back in college, working on a degree in Business with a Marketing focus. Currently, I’m in business and English classes. Goal two is focused on keeping up with the workflow of these two fast-paced summer classes. I have a test and two quizzes for Business and a quiz and multiple writing assignments for English. Getting it all done in good form and grades is the goal. Goal: Meet all college class deadlines with my best work.

3) My blog has languished for too long. This week, I’ll be brainstorming a new direction for the blog and getting the plan together to start things moving here again. Goal: Brainstorm ideas, take a look over what I’ve done and how I’d like to do things this time, and have a written return plan in hand by the end of the week.

4) Stop procrastinating on a stalled project. Goal: Pick one stalled project (I have a few) and get it ready to ship. I am a horrible procrastinator and, in all honesty, struggle with shipping my creative endeavors. So, this week, one moves forward in a significant way.

Those four will be a good start. I’ll not be setting “permanent” goals, I truly believe from past experience that those are doomed to fail. For me, at least.

I’m thrilled to be back in ROW and look forward to seeing what all of you are up to as well. Enjoy the journey. *smile*

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Returning to ROW

  1. K.B. Owen says:

    These look like terrific goals, Gene! Best of luck, and keep us posted. πŸ™‚

  2. Marcia says:

    That’s wonderful that you went back to school! Good luck with it and all of these great goals! I’ve missed you, Gene, and am glad to see you’re back in the saddle.

  3. Debbie Johansson says:

    Hi Gene. These are good goals in trying to balance writing with studies – I know just how difficult that can be! When do you finish? Best of luck! πŸ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Hi Debbie. I finish my degree in 2015, so a bit of a ways to go still. I’m really loving the classes and all the incredible information I’m learning. Thanks!

  4. Julie Glover says:

    Good to see you again! Great goals. I’m a terrible procrastinator at times too. I love coming up with ideas and starting projects, but seeing something through to the end is a little tougher for me. I’ll make sure to come around during ROW80 and cheer you on. Best wishes, Gene!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Great to see you, Julie. I’ve actually been over on your site reading older posts–very motivating! I hope you do pop in from time to time as I think I (we) could all learn a great deal from you. Thanks. πŸ™‚

  5. Debbie_e says:

    I’m another procrastinator who has a blog that tends to languish. I love your goals, and that you acknoledge that they need to be flexible. Good luck, Gene.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Hi Debbie. Flexibility is a major key in success. I just wish it hadn’t taken me so long to figure that little tidbit out. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the support!

  6. Emily Witt says:

    Good to see you back, Gene! I totally know what you mean about chaos loving inflexibility! I think that was my problem for most of last year. I’ve figure out a better goal for myself this year, hope your new way of doing things works for you, too!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Hi Emily. Glad to meet another fellow traveler. I think we hear too many “guru’s” talk about the need for a structured schedule, which in the modern era is the equivalent of a five-legged horse. I hope your new direction works out for you as well. Happy to be on the road with you. πŸ™‚

  7. Jump in and ROW, bud. It ain’t gonna git where you want it lessen you carry it there. If I can help, give a shout.

  8. Reetta Raitanen says:

    Great goals, Gene. Good luck with writing and school. I can’t wait to see the new direction of your blog.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Hi Reetta. I can’t wait to see the new direction either–I did work on goal 3 (blog) yesterday and think I have a good plan in hand. Should be moving things forward very soon. Thanks!

  9. Glad to see you back, Gene! Those sound like great goals — good luck!

  10. Cate Russell-Cole says:

    Welcome back and good luck Gene. I need to sort out and post my own goals. It is business planning time of the year, so the two will go hand in hand…

  11. Shah Wharton says:

    Great ideas, goals and philosophy. I too am a terrible procrastinator, I never would have guessed it of you though Gene. You’re always so organised. Best of luck with your week .X

    Shah X
    http://bit.ly/164gYNu

  12. shanjeniah says:

    I don’t call it procrastination – I call it seasoning. I need to let thins marinate and stew in their own juices for a while, here and there (the REAL reason I keep so many projects going at once – there’s always something else waiting, when I need to step away from something).

    i like to have long-term goals, but this round, I’m making weekly small goals that move me in those directions, since summer is high social time for unschooling families, and the busiest homeschooling administration period, too. Last summer, I got completely mired in my inflexible goals, so, this summer, there will be a whole lot of wiggle and splashing roo,!

    I’m so glad you’re back! You have inspired me more than you know. May ROW80 help you build your dreams! =D

  13. Pingback: Of Passion and Calmness – ROW80 Update, 7/4/13 | shanjeniah

I'd love to chat with you!

