Did Facebook Change Something? 5 Tips For Page Owners to ‘It’s All Good’

Facebook can feel overwhelming, especially when one is learning the ropes. Do I need a page or a profile? Or both? How do I get the most benefit from my time? Facebook is constantly making changes, can I trust the platform?

These are questions I found myself asking a couple months ago when taking the plunge back into Facebook. To answer them, I took a class by Lisa Hall-Wilson, and found out not just the answers, but a depth of information that has served me well.

This is why I’m excited Lisa accepted my invitation to come and share a bit of Facebook wisdom with all of you.

Take it away, Lisa.

Did Facebook Change Something? 5 Tips For Page Owners to ‘It’s All Good’

I hang out on Facebook a lot, and I hear the same things from my writer friends over and over. Do I need a page or can I use my profile? (I answered that here) 2) I don’t know what to post now that I have a page.

People like to point fingers at the Zuck. If Facebook would just stop changing things I could figure this out. Really? Facebook changing things isn’t the heart of the issue. Most of the changes are cosmetic and don’t alter the way people use Facebook, or why they hang out there. Most of the changes actually make a lot of sense in terms of preserving the user experience. (Don’t throw anything – I’m totally serious.) Some changes are clearly for monetary gain, but FB is free. You don’t have to advertise to be successful, and as long as that remains the case the rest is just the price of admission.

Writers – write.

So – do what you’re good at. Writers and authors make a living by conveying our thoughts and feelings (whether through non-fiction or fictional characters) to others and hopefully evoking an emotional response. Facebook is no different. And then it doesn’t matter what Facebook changes.

Connecting with people on Facebook doesn’t have to be hard, but it will take practice. You will have to experiment and some of those experiments will fail. Facebook is the slowest of all the online social media platforms to build a tribe or community on, so be patient.

Give yourself at least 8 months, a year is better, to build an audience on Facebook. Yes, it’s THAT slow. If you’re not consistent, if you post sporadically, if you annoy people, that timeline only grows longer.

I put most of my effort into building a tribe on my profile because I’m a journalist as well as a fiction author. I have a page, but I don’t spend a lot of time there. I also administrate the WANA Intl page. The photo below got a dozen likes on my page (less than 400 fans). The same photo on the WANA page got over 170 shares. Size matters, so don’t get too discouraged. Success is measured differently based on the size of your page.

steven king quote

Here are 5 content tips from my upcoming class Steering Through The Facebook Winds Of Change to help you plan for successful page administration. **Note: Many of these strategies will also work for those using a profile exclusively to build platform on Facebook.

  1. Be aware of your writer/author brand. A like is considered an endorsement on Facebook, and people have lost their jobs over a simple like – so be very aware of what you’re liking and commenting on with your profile or your page. If you’re a children’s author, it might not be wise to like your favorite erotica author’s page. And this has nothing to do with how you spend your personal time or your likes and interests – you’re building an image. Make sure it’s the one you want to convey.
  2. Think like OZ. Remember the great and powerful wizard of OZ behind his curtain with his big voice? I know – when Dorothy pulled back the curtain everyone was disappointed. But, pulling back the curtain is what fans are looking for from their favorite authors. They want a glimpse into the writer’s life. Where do you get your ideas? What does your office look like? What makes you laugh? What movie did you just watch – what did you think of it? If your readers pulled back the curtain what would you want to show them?
  3. Give commentary. When you share a photo or a link, explain (very briefly) why you’re sharing it. Writers are thinkers. Share your personal insights even if they seem oddball. Journalists do this with news items – brainstorm how you can do this with your topic or genre. Let your voice shine through, and let fans see your humor, your passion, etc.
  4. Use Facebook the WANA way. The WANA way is relationships first – before self-promotion, before selling anything. Always provide value. Always. Be helpful. Be open. Be charitable. Share links from other authors, even if they never share anything of yours. Show up and join the conversation. Be authentic. Don’t spam!
  5. Use status updates to demonstrate you’re a good writer. Don’t waste your time blowing your own horn telling people how great a writer you are. That’s such a turn off. Crafting well-written, well-thought status updates will attract people to what you have to say, and to your blog – and maybe even your books, better than spamming the world with BUY MY BOOK!

I hope you found those tips helpful. Of course, there’s so much more to it. In my new class running May 4th and 18th, we’ll cover the 12 areas every page owner should focus on, best practices for driving traffic to your website and for better edge rank, and I’ll send you a list of resources to help you when you’re on your own. PLUS, 8 people will receive a live critique of their page with tips on how to improve. Learn more here. As a bonus for Gene Lempp readers, use the code Lisa20 to receive 20% off.

Lisa_hall_wilson2Lisa Hall-Wilson is an award-winning freelance writer for the faith-based market in Canada specializing in interviews, profiles, social justice initiatives, Facebook administration, press releases, print and web marketing copy. She writes dark fantasy novels, blogs Through The Fire, and is a social media instructor for WANA International. Find her at lisahallwilson.com or on Facebook at facebook.com/lisawilsonwriter

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Social Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Did Facebook Change Something? 5 Tips For Page Owners to ‘It’s All Good’

  1. Thanks for having me here!

  2. Awesome, Lisa. Can you please chat with the Zuck and let him change the name of my page. That would be awesome. I’m NOT starting over, but it has the name of my OLD blog — Teachers and Twits. Is this such a huge disaster?(Please say it’s fine. Please say it’s fine. Please say it’s fine.) If not, can you please come and move in with me for a little while to help me fix that? My guest room is very pretty. And Tech doesn’t pee on the toilet seat much these days. I mean his aim has gotten much better.

    • It depends. You can request a name change and explain why you want it changed. If the change is significant, FB probably won’t do it. You can merge pages with similar names. The other option is to let all your fans know you’re moving, give lots of notice and a date. I’ve had to do this and most of my fans moved with me. You’re better to have a page for your name than your blog. Fairly inexpensively you can promote (today it’s now called Boost) your post so more of your fans see it. You have to have 400 fans to promote/boost a post.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Sadly, Renee, you’ll likely have to migrate people over. I had to do this at one point as well. As long as you give people enough warning of the shift, you should be fine.

  3. Ginger Calem says:

    Great tips! I love FB and hang out on my profile and my page all the time.

  4. Thanks for these tips, Lisa. Now if only I could figure out my author brand and where my target readers hang out, I’d be able to better implement your advice! Is your course a good fit for those of us who are still “finding ourselves” or do I need some foundational answers first?

    • A general knowledge of FB terminology would be helpful. It’s going to move pretty fast, I plan to unpack a lot of info in those two 90 minute webinars, but the last 1/2 hr of each webinar is reserved for critiques and q&a. Each session will be recorded so you can listen again later.

  5. What a timely post. I’m just now trying to figure out the whole fan/author page deal. I’m taking an on-line class about it, but it’s stiill so confusing to me. I like that LIsa said it takes time. It will take me a year to figure out how to like people back and such. By then FB will have changed everything.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • lol Nooo! That’s my point. The changes don’t really matter. 😀 It can be very slow and frustrating. Having an idea of what you want your page to achieve, what the goal of having it is, success is easier to attain.

  6. I love it. I went to bookmark this for later reading and received this warning: The link you are visiting:https://genelempp.wordpress.com/2013/04/24/did-facebook-change-something-5-tips-for-page-owners-to-its-all-good/#comment-7550
    Facebook thinks this site may be unsafe. If you’re not familiar with it, please provide feedback by marking it as spam (you’ll be brought back to Facebook). On an article about Facebook – gotta love it.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Ironic isn’t it *grins* And about as useful as when I was recently warned for having to many outstanding friend requests – as if there is any reason they should care. I will say this, Facebook is a wonderful source of ironic humor, if one is into that sort of thing 🙂

  7. annepeterson says:

    Great info, Lisa. Thanks so much. You certainly do know your facebook info.

  8. Pingback: Writing Resources 27 April 2013 | Gene Lempp ~ Writer

  9. Pingback: Link Feast For Writers, vol. 46 | Reetta Raitanen's Blog

  10. Pingback: Mind Sieve 4/29/13 | Gloria Oliver

I'd love to chat with you!

