Resistance is Futility

Borg Docking Station, WikiCommons (CC)

Borg Docking Station, WikiCommons (CC)

Yes, I know. Everyone heard a Borg when they read the headline, and no, I didn’t typo.

In the Star Trek Borg episodes, the line “Resistance is Futile” equates to Resistance is Without Meaning. As we know, and was answered in those much lauded Trekisodes, resistance to domination is never futile.

However, I have a different thought in mind:

Resistance is Futility

Futility here would mean a “waste of effort or time.” To put the thought in perspective, here is a quote from Steven Pressfield’s The War of Art:

“On the field of the self stand a knight and a dragon.

You are the knight.

Resistance is the dragon.”

– Steven Pressfield

Resistance, in this case, is the enemy. During times of transition, especially professional ones, it is easy to fall prey to this form of resistance.

It wants to encourage self-doubt. It wants to reinforce old bad habits. It wants to knock you down and keep kicking mud in your face until you cry for your mother and give up. Yep, six or sixty, you will still cry for your mother if you let Resistance win as bully.

Resistance is a dragon bent on devouring your dreams. It feasts on the sweet roasting smell of hope and desire. It wants everything you want, to never happen.

And now, I believe, we are all ready for the armor and sword.

As Pressfield illustrates, the dragon is not the only one on the field. There is also a Knight. That is you. Congratulations, you were just knighted *smile*

Edmund Blair Leighton Accolade, WikiCommons (CC)

Edmund Blair Leighton Accolade, WikiCommons (CC)

Traditional knights are:

Fearless. Facing any enemy regardless of a field bleak.

Dedicated to their craft. Without mastery of skills they are but crow meat.

Loyal to their chosen cause. Leading the charge with banner flowing high.

Resistance wants to eat the knight. His horse. And probably the pendant too.

But here is the thing, Resistance, dream-eating dragon, is only inside our heads.

Every day we wake up and have to decide what we want to do with the time granted us. We have thoughts, ideas, plans, goals, and a host of productive tasks begging to be on the days agenda. We might even have a moments hope of getting something accomplished.

And that, is when Resistance wakes up. Stomach growling. Ready to feast on our fresh vision. There are tasks to be done. Children to be laundered and clothes to be dressed *smile*

The random phone call intrudes. Facebook, say no more. Tweet much? Oh look, a game. A whatever catches the moment and steals away the productive plan.

You see, that is all Resistance wants. It is a dragon. But it is only a thief. It breathes the illusion of fire while picking your pocket with its tail.

Disney used to have a cute little purple dragon in one of the pavilions at Epcot, its name was Figment. Dragon = Figment of the Imagination. Still seems real though, doesn’t it?

St. George and the Dragon, drawn by Arthur Rackham, Open Clip Art (CC)

St. George and the Dragon, drawn by Arthur Rackham, Open Clip Art (CC)

The battle is new every day, but we are knights.

We win when we engage our plans.

When we pursue our dreams without fear.

When we do the work.

When we move with purpose.

Then, the dragon becomes the Figment it is, at least at that time on that day. And that, dear friends, is all that matters. Win every battle you can by pursuing your dreams.

Resistance to domination is never without meaning. Resistance does not have to be futility either – we win every time we face the dragon and say:

Step aside Wyrm, I’ve things to do. *smile*

Felt the impact of Resistance? Fought the battle and won? Lost? What is the most humorous trick Resistance has used (just one more episode of Ripper Street is mine)? I’d love to chat with you.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Surviving Transition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Resistance is Futility

  1. Debora Dale says:

    I will not lay down my sword, I will fight! 🙂

    Loved this post – and it could not have come at a better time. I hate to say it but I often let that dragon devour much of my hope and energy. The mightiest sword I have is ‘accountability’. If I put my writing or plotting goal out there to family and/or writing friends, I usually accomplish it – mostly. If I keep it to myself and try to go it alone, I almost always flounder.

    You’ve identified the enemy in this post. At least now we can have a fair fight. 🙂

  2. Alas, my resistance comes from my own mind. And it is hard to ignore the voice that screams: You suck. You will never edit this mess into something beautiful. But I am off to try for a few hours. I totally understand why creative types off themselves. This is not an easy path. I’m totally at a crossroads here. Who knew?

  3. Why do I picture Resistance as Toothless from “How to Train Your Dragon”? Is it because he doesn’t look as dangerous as he could be? 🙂
    I’m with Renee – sometimes Resistance is me, myself and I. My own head, my own self-doubt, and my own lack of concentration when I start to feel overwhelmed. However, Resistance has been really, really sneaky in other areas here lately. Such as I want to do nothing more than to finish reading all the books in a series, or I want to sit back and get caught up on my TV shows. I’ve been able to finally resist him when it comes to *finally* working on my new website, but he sure is fighting me to the death on everything else.

  4. Gene, this post is so encouraging. Since my husband lost his job due to the recession five years ago we have been fighting dragons. Our home is full of adult children who came home to roast and reestablish themselves so they can move out again. When they are home the house is no longer quiet. I work part-time and come home exhausted. My head is full of resistance lies that I struggle with daily. Watching TV or catching up on missed episodes thanks to On Demand can be my biggest dream killer.
    Thanks for this encouraging post. I will mention, however,that it was Star Trek that had the Borg not Star Wars, *smile*. I have always been a fan of Star Trek and the Borg was the one enemy that I disliked above all others. Who wants to be like everyone else and lose your identity. People succumb to this in their lives all the time. Thanks for reminding me that as I writer I can overcome the Borg mentality of the world around me.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Debora: Indeed, keep that sword ready. Accountability is a powerful motivator to move past Resistance, especially when we include those closest to us. I don’t think it needs to be a “fair” fight though *grins* Any advantage over Resistance (such as Accountability) is fair in my book. Keep up the fight 🙂

      Renee: Our minds can be rough neighborhoods at night with a broken down car and a flashing sign over our heads that says “Carries lots of cash.” However, it is still Just Our Mind – and, we are therefore capable of controlling it and ignoring its fears. Perfectionism, which is hand in hand with the self-doubt demon of “Not Good Enough,” loves to screw with us. It is one of my demons as well although this one is on the run for me currently. Here is the thing Renee, just do the work the best you can, follow the process (write, edit, beta, edit, release) and know that perfection is perfectly impossible. By setting realistic expectations, instead of starry eyed ones, this servant of Resistance, perfectionism, can be put in a dark cage to cry alone about how horrible the tiny flaws are. Meanwhile, you’ll be putting out the writing, knowing that you’ll improve as you move along. Battle on, Renee – you do not battle alone.

      Melinda: LOL! Love the reference to Toothless, and yes, agree with you. Resistance is always in our minds (external resistance is your mom ripping your hard drive with all your writing out of your computer and mailing it to Santa). It is only as dangerous as we allow it to be and when we take positive productive action every day, we win. Books and TV are big distractions (although Reading is actually part of being a writer) – perhaps using them as rewards for completing a productive task would help (the method I use). Keep up the great fight, Melinda 🙂

      Jubilee: Thanks for the heads up on “Star Wars,” fixed it – just glad I didn’t type Trek Wars or something even more off course *smile* We’ve (wife and I) lost jobs in the past six-seven months as well, plus all the kids cycling in and out and yes, it does get to be a weight at times. However, what really stops us is usually in our own minds. We can choose to let life events slow us, or we can keep moving, and thus, increasing the odds of future improvement and success. Keep resisting the Borg – individuality is the greatest gift any of us has 🙂

  5. Cate Russell-Cole says:

    Actually, I thought of the Vogons from the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy.

    This is a great post Gene. Thanks for the encouragement.

  6. Actually, what I like about my version of Resistance is that when I do things he says I can’t do, he goes away and sulks. Quietly. Good times.

    Outstanding post, Gene!

  7. Pingback: Mind Sieve 3/11/13 | Gloria Oliver

I'd love to chat with you!

