ROWNaNo Act Three

Hi everyone! We are now past the Midpoint of NaNo and I hope that everyone participating is making great progress and finding a smooth rhythm. The “NaNo preparations” are all done (laughs) only to be replaced by a long list of other tasks. While the to-do list may never end, it is exciting and I have to say I’ve never enjoyed “work” quite so much.

NaNo Act 2, Part 2 – Taking the Battle to the Enemy, The Hero becomes a Warrior.

The Protagonist: No longer “thinks” about sitting down to write. He just does it. In the story world, Ben has acquired a demon steed and is charging right into the teeth of the enemy, but survival is always a tenuous thing.

The Key Players: The crew is a bit banged up from battle, but new friends are there to inject much needed hope into the devolving chaos. Let us hope that it is enough to turn the tide.

The Antagonist: Does a Banshee cry, or only wail? Some questions unveil answers that the heart may weep to know.

The Stakes: Two novella’s drafted, but still a ways to go – I’m not holding my breath anymore, but I’m not sprinting up the mountain either (smile). If the person you loved most died and was trapped from “passing beyond”, would you kill them again to save them? Just one of the questions Ben is struggling with.

The Conflict: Ben and company are scattered, bleeding within and without and facing an opponent that knows only rage and revenge – that might qualify as conflict. Might (grins).

The Second Plot Point is on the horizon. So is the Dark Night of the Soul. Dig deep, friends, on the other side of the Dark Night is a Bright New Dawn. Go claim the Dawn!

Which brings us to this weeks progress.

On the Writing front I’m at 44,948 for NaNo and plan to cross the 50k threshold either Monday or Tuesday. I’d love to say that everything has gone smoothly, but, not the case. The second novella came in “lighter” than expected. If number 3 comes in close, I’ll be at around 75k this month. I’m very pleased with the progress and know that I’ll be able to sort it all out during edits.

I spent part of the past week watching some of the movies from my “List of Great Movies.” This is an Alexandra Sokoloff concept where you make a list of your favorite movies for genre, hero, villain, most romantic kisses, etc. – and then watch them as a writer. This week I covered:

  • Book of Eli: Near-perfect Journey structure; highly-compelling protagonist and ally; powerful story world concept.
  • Brothers Grimm: Blended genre story, compelling and innovative use of myth and fable.
  • Event Horizon: Dark. Eerie. “It” wants to kill you. Oh, and a great “descent into madness” character.
  • Children of Men: Powerful story concept, strong Journey structure. Normal man saves the world. Dark. Gritty.
  • Total Recall (1990): Amnesia (techno-magic, non-natural); Excellent settings, innovative approach to mutants; strong story concept.

These movies come off my list for my novella series, but they also fit with my long term writing plans. I guess you could say they are my core, from which I build. Which is a bit disturbing now that I look back at them, but hey, there it is. (grins).

After a few interruptions (one day where I was wrapped up in appointments), I’ve taken the past two days to put a full schedule into place and am tweaking a few things, such as how I use Scrivener. A day of planning now, will net months of production down the line. I’ll be talking about all of that soon – changes to the blog are still in the wind, just waiting for the NaNo rush to end.

That is all for me this week. I hope you all have had excellent weeks and would encourage you to get out and visit your fellow ROWers – say hi, encourage, give them a virtual hug, or a bit of tough love – we need it all.

Peaceful Journeys.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to ROWNaNo Act Three

  1. kerrymeacham says:

    It looks like you’re kicking some NaNo butt there, Gene. Keep it going ROWbro.

  2. Jenny Hansen says:

    Dang dude! FIVE movies *and* NaNo??!! I am completely impressed (and quite movitivated cuz I’m a total slacker next to that). Still, I’m back at Crossfit and work, so I count this week as a win. Shingles don’t last forever, even though they seem to hang on and on.

    Have a FAB Thanksgiving!!

  3. EM Castellan says:

    You’re rocking NaNoWriMo Gene! That’s awesome πŸ™‚ I love the idea of watching movies with a writer’s eye, I am going to try that! Hope you have a good week…

  4. Wow! Your progress is amazing, and your books sound amazing too. Keep up the awesome work, and have a great Thanksgiving!

  5. S. J. Maylee says:

    Go, Gene, Go. You rocked it this week, well done. You got me thinking about what movies I should watch for my writer’s eye. See, Gene, every time I’m here you inspire. Thanks, Gene. Happy Thanksgiving.

  6. John Holton says:

    Nice going! Have a good Thanksgiving!

  7. Marcia says:

    Amazing progress! The books are more intriguing every time you let a few tidbits loose on us. Your excitement and love of this new chapter in your life is inspiring and makes me smile for you! Have a fabulous Thanksgiving, my good friend.

  8. Laura says:

    You are rocking Nano Gene. Keep going. You’re almost there. I love your ‘watching movies with a writers eye’ too.
    Have a good week. x

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Kerry: Great to see you ROWbro! Thanks πŸ™‚

      Jenny: Woot, things are improving for you! Have a great Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

      EM: Alexandra Sokoloff talks about “watching movies as a writer” in her book Writing Love, if you want a functional system that will allow you to pull the secrets out of the movie, while still enjoying it. All the best and thanks πŸ™‚

      Jennette: Thanks! Have a great Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

      SJ: You know I consider you every week just to be sure I have a fun takeaway or insight (grins). Have a great Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

      John: Thanks! Have a great Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

      Marcia: Yep, I am a bit of a tease, but it goes with the occupation (smile). Have a fantastic Thanksgiving, my good friend πŸ˜€

      Laura: Movies are a book on speed, if one views them correctly. Thanks for the support and have a great Thanksgiving πŸ™‚

  9. Kicking some serious butt! Awesome!
    Keep that up, Gene!

  10. You are a writing MACHINE! πŸ™‚ Great job as always, Gene.

  11. alberta says:

    you inspired me on in nano – your story sounds like a good read – I have to confess that after a couple of years up here in cyberspace I find I am totaly at a loss on the films – I think thats why I didnt really like the book you recomended I am just not film orientated:( the thought of watching them back to back to analyze for writing – well I can’t think it – so that makes me? – I’m not sure what frankly – defcient in some way obviously in this day and age, again:( why aren’t I more visual I wonder – anyway it works for you and that is good and from the response from everyone else – maybe I will make it a new project – get some films out and watch them:) Over the festivities maybe

    good week and I agree on the planning saving time later – haven’t finished getting to grip with scrivner yet but I sure missed it during the 1st part of nano when I had to work in word – have transfered it all back to scrivner so happy again:)

    all the best for the week and rest of nano:)

  12. Wow, you’re going great guns, Gene! Congrats! I’m limping at a little over 13,000 words at the moment, but that’s ok. At least I got this new project started, and I’m getting an ever better idea of how to realize it. πŸ™‚

    Good luck, and keep up the good work!

  13. Pingback: Kindling New Fires – Thankvember NaNoROW 11/21/1 « shanjeniah

  14. Julie Glover says:

    You continue to inspire me. Great job with NaNo & ROW80! Best wishes with finishing strong for November!

I'd love to chat with you!

