Painting, Plotting and Progress

Hi there! Bit late in the day, but actually early for me. We are repainting our house so I spent the past five hours painting. And plotting. And talking to characters. We all painted together. It was fun (grins).

The week went quite well. Not as fast on progress as I’d like, but isn’t that always the case. I’m currently doing my second pass on the story treatment. I like most of what I had. Changed a few things and the story continues to become clearer day by day. As are the characters. Oh, I have a fun cast. Ben (protag) and I went over his look and outfit this week. We do not agree on all costume choices. I’ll win with research I think – have to find him the look he wants in a better fashion than he wants it is all.

As for direct progress, I’m at the Midpoint now on the second pass. Alongside of this I’m putting together Sequence Cards that have a “block” of action – setting on the back – flow of action, hook, scene breakdown and expected page range for the Sequence (an Alexandra Sokoloff, screenwriter term, i.e. a block of scenes with a contiguous setting and/or point of action).

I am still getting in the four hours every day and actually look forward to the time. Which is a good sign.

Just a quick shoutout to my favorite maiden of the Cowbell Awesomeness, Jenny Hansen. She is learning Scrivener this week, actually in a class for it. Go Jen! I know you’ll be sharing tidbits with us in the coming months.

I bring this up because…if you aren’t using this program you are missing huge amounts of productivity. I’m not saying it works for all parts of the process – I’m currently working with paper and pencil. That’s just how I plot. But, when it comes time to organize and write, yeah, Scrivener time. It also has improved quite a bit on the conversion to epub process. Not an ad, like always, I only recommend what I find useful.

On the other side of my “work day”, I’ve picked up a couple of guides from Joel Friedlander on Copyright and ISBN/Barcodes, all good things for an indie to know. I’m also working my way through David Gaughran’s Let’s Go Digital. Taking my time as this book is full of useful self-pub tips and techniques. Yes, recommended.

I have not been personally present on social media enough. I have been commenting more broadly on blogs, but still struggling a bit with finding good times to “hang out”. I tried having Tweetdeck run while I was plotting for a couple of nights. But I got so wrapped up in the writing I forgot it was there.

And – that is my week. How was yours? Be sure to support your fellow ROWers.

Peace.

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Painting, Plotting and Progress

  1. You’re preaching to the choir, Gene — I’ve been using Scrivener for years. πŸ™‚ I’ve even bought it twice! I even bought a used Mac way back when to do the revisions on the first draft of Shadow of Stone — before there was a Windows version! So I guess you could call me a convert. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the brainstorming. That’s just about my favorite phase of the writing process. Everything is possible, and the book still has the potential to be the most brilliant thing ever written. *g*

    Have a great week!

  2. I often progress through the day with my characters in tow or they progress through my day with me in tow. Either way, they are ever present…shades of me.

    Best,

    S. Thomas Summers
    Author of Private Hercules McGraw: Poems of the American Civil War

  3. Marcia says:

    Another great week, Gene! Keep piling those weeks up and they’ll result in an amazing book! I lost my Scrivener when I lost everything else, so I’m downloading it again, but I may need tips on using it. I have the tutorials, but I learn better from real people.
    So what color are you painting the house? Going back to writing now. πŸ˜‰

  4. Love how your characters argue with you about things like what to wear! πŸ˜€ I never got into Scrivener because it wasn’t available for Windows until recently, and by then, I’d bought WriteWay Pro. Haven’t published since I got it, but I’m looking forward to seeing if it streamlines my process on that end. I hear you about social media, too – I do the same thing. Open up Hootsuite, post a couple tweets, go do some writing… next thing I know, I click over and the owl’s gone to sleep. Not a bad thing, I guess. Have a great week!

  5. Julie Glover says:

    I’m in that Scrivener class with Jenny! (And Raelyn Barclay too.) It’s been great so far. The instructor, Gwen Hernandez, has introduced me to a few features I wasn’t using that I certainly will now.

    Have a fabulous week! I’m hoping to get about 4 hours of replotting and rewriting a day in as well. Happy ROW80. πŸ™‚

  6. Jenny Hansen says:

    You are the best, Gene! “…favorite maiden of the Cowbell Awesomeness” is like the best line ever. LOL. Glad the ROW is going well for you – I am completely fascinated with the systems you’re setting up. I don’t know that I could do them, but I like them A LOT. πŸ™‚

  7. GAAAH! Don’t mention the p-word: painting. I’ve been trying to stall my wife with the explanation that “the paint isn’t peeling, it’s shedding because winter’s coming”. She’s still not buying it, but it’s all I got.

    Progress is always progress, bro. Good job!

  8. Way to go, Gene! House painting (with . . . um friends) and writing. Getting lots of things done.

    Keep up the good work!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  9. alberta says:

    ah those companions:) chatting arguing generally hanging out/about – tried to get the scrivener for dummies but not out yet here in UK so will trog on just using the word process bit can’t make head not tail of the manual and videos – I need the dummy:(
    keep smiling:)

  10. I have to agree – Scrivener is the best thing out there IMHO. I should take a class on it though, I don’t think I’m using it to full capacity, ’cause I’m actually very disorganized about it. Yeah, my organizer is disorganized…

I'd love to chat with you!

