ROWchanges 8~5

Hi everyone! Making a few adjustments this week both to my goals and to my overall focus. Yesterday, I went through and migrated 36 of 40 WordPress email subscriptions over to Google Reader, the other 4 didn’t have an RSS option available (but they should, hint). I also moved a dozen or more of the Feedburner ones to Google, but I have around 50 so there is a bit more to go on that part.

Why am I doing this? Basically, time management. On Google Reader I can easily peruse all the posts that are coming in and make choices on whether to read, tweet, or pass (or a combination thereof). It is taking a couple of steps out of the process and will help to streamline time spent on this activity. I’m all about streamlining these days, freeing as much time from non-writing tasks to write is the goal.

Later today I’ll be organizing the Gmail folder, learning how to target email directly into folders, rearranging what I have saved, dumping a ton of mail I have saved for no reason at all and generally maximizing this tool. That will be the rest of the week as well with Gmail, Evernote, Dropbox and a host of other productivity tools being maximized to require the least time possible to gain the most benefit. A large part of that is simply learning the programs better and “training” myself to use them without having to hunt for the methods. Do you ever take time to train yourself to software or just kinda muddle through?

Anyway, I’m taking notes on all of this and will turn my efforts into blog posts somewhere down the road to pass on what I learn. Stay tuned.

Okay, on to the goals.

Writing: I’m currently re-plotting the novella from the reverse outline and I’m really excited about it. Yes, the first draft is pretty much getting tossed out at this point but it was not a waste of time by any stretch. I’m not setting a hard time line to be done but my general aim is for late September, early October.

Reading: I’m still working on Writing Love by Alexandra Sokoloff. There is so much valuable information in this book I’m taking my time, doing the various assignments and applying various techniques from the book as I go along. I also took a day out to re-read Steven Pressfield’s Turning Pro, which is a wonderfully motivating read if you have a couple of hours (and literally that is all it takes).

Blog Transition: This will start to hit full swing in late August and I plan to migrate sites by the end of September. I’ve come up with some fun ideas, like releasing a small free e-book and newsletter at the same time that I transition – just seems right to group it all together. This will take a bit more effort and may delay the final launch but I think it will be worth it in the end.

Social Media: I’m a bit torn about Pinterest because of the “Photo Crisis” issue and have suspended activity on this platform for the time being. My boards are still up, but I’m not adding anything new to them. I’m hoping to get onto Goodreads this week with a book list and the first few reviews but as this promises to be a busy week we’ll see exactly how much I get done here. The big news on the Social Media front is the reclamation of #MyWANA. This thread is what made me fall in love with Twitter and its how I made my first friends online. Over time, it has become so inundated with links and spam that, well, I, and many others had to let it go. However, all of that is about to change. If you haven’t read this, take a few minutes to do so – Kristen Lamb is taking back #MyWANA.

E-Book Formatting: Not a lot of movement here yet but I’ve managed to compile a great list of resources and materials and feel confident that I’ll be able to put together at least a basic e-book when the time comes. Really, for me, getting to actually do something is the best way to learn it.

Novella: See “Writing” up above. Also, a few other projects have been muttering in my head over the past week and I’m making sure to scribble or Evernote everything as it comes, however, my primary focus is on the novella.

That’s it for me this week. Be sure to get out and visit your fellow ROWer’s. Have a fantastic week.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ROWchanges 8~5

  1. Marcia says:

    I’ve done the same with Pinterest. I deleted all my boards once, reestablished best I could and now I’m not doing much with it. I wonder if all the non-writer/non-blogger folks who have just been having fun with it, have heard about the ruckus over repinning.
    What a job that is to reorganize all your blog reading! Good for you! I’m sure you’ll be relieved when it’s done and thrilled with all your extra writing time! Have a great week ahead!

  2. Whoa, everything you’re accomplishing and still have on your to-do list is making me dizzy πŸ˜€ You awe me, Gene. I’m really looking forward to hearing your insights on streamlining your blog reading and email. After 17 weeks of Link Feasts my link gathering process is still too inefficient.

    And thanks for the Turning Pro recommendation. It got a bump on my to-read list as it is a short read.

    Pinterest pains me :/ I love it with passion but it’s not smart to use it until something changes. I don’t have the heart to take down my boards yet but I’m gathering the guts to do it.

  3. Jenny Hansen says:

    I think because I do 90% of my tweeting from my phone, I didn’t realize how much people were abusing the automated tools. I’m delighted that Kristen took it back. I basically use Triberr as a Google Reader and networking tool, and to support peeps like you. πŸ™‚

    I’m incredibly interested in learning how to prepare eBooks for publishing. There’s nothing that irks me more than people having messy formatting, especially if it’s not scalable.

  4. Juliana Haygert says:

    I don’t have enough courage to delete my pinterest boards … or to stop adding.
    I read Writing Love this past week and I thought it was really good. Thanks again for suggesting it πŸ˜‰
    I re-organized all my blog reading to google reader a couple of months ago, and changed gmail accounts. It was a LOT of work but it was worth it. Now everything is organized and divided between my personal and professional account.
    Keep the good work, Gene! Have a great week!

  5. Julie Glover says:

    I get so many great craft book recommendations on your blog, Gene. Thanks for sharing those!

    I agree with your hint: Hey, people, if you don’t have an RSS feed, I WILL NOT follow your blog. It’s not that I don’t like you. I simply don’t do email follows. I do, however, throw all of my feeds into my email program because it is WAY EASIER to sort and scan there. Kudos to Windows Live Mail for adding that feature.

    Here’s to another wonderful ROW80 week!

  6. Lauren Garafalo says:

    I need to do all this organization at some point too. Luckily mine is not nearly as long a list as yours! I never really thought about how people would follow my blog. I know I’ve messed around with a few options, but I honestly don’t know how it’s set up right now. *adds to list*

    Fantastic work on all you’ve been doing! You’re really keeping up even with your very challenging list of goals. Have a great week!

  7. Kim Switzer says:

    I did some of that same sort of blog and e-mail reorganizing earlier this summer. You just reminded me that I wasn’t quite finished. Back to that… As far as learning the programs, I tend to poke and prod and muddle until I get it figured out. Probably actually using tutorials and such would make my life easier, but I never remember that I want to do that when I’m in the middle of pushing buttons to see what happens.

    It sounds like the reverse outline is working well for you. Great stuff! Looking forward to hearing more about how it’s going.

  8. You can add a blog to your Google reader even if they don’t offer an RSS option. Just paste their blog URL in the subscribe box in your Google reader πŸ™‚

I'd love to chat with you!

