Designing from Bones ~ Temporary Hiatus

Hi everyone. Due to the current photo crisis, Designing from Bones is on hiatus while I seek out and learn how to use various Creative Commons photo sharing sites. I appreciate your patronage and enjoyment of these posts and will endeavor to keep the break as brief as possible.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Designing from Bones and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Designing from Bones ~ Temporary Hiatus

  1. K.B. Owen says:

    Good luck, Gene! The photos you were using are tough to replace. I’ve been going through a similar challenge. It’s definitely time-consuming.

  2. Marcia says:

    I agree with Kathy, Gene. It may be tough to find photos like that in creative commons. There are lots of sites where you can pay for them, the cheapest being canstockphoto.com. But not sure you’ll find what you need there either. Wikicommons might be your best bet. I wish you luck and success in finding a location!

  3. Best of luck, Gene! As you know, I’m a fan of making our own simple graphics, tooβ€”and using our own photos. Creative Commons can be great, if you know how to use it well. Their search tool helps: http://search.creativecommons.org/
    I’ve done a bunch of research on the topic, so if I can lend a hand, feel free to reach out. In either case, I’m sure you’ll rock it and find a system you love soon. πŸ™‚

  4. Jenny Hansen says:

    You responsible blogger, you! Can’t wait to see you back in action… πŸ™‚

  5. Catie Rhodes says:

    Gene, I do understand. Believe me on this. πŸ˜‰

    I am sure this is not going to help you a bit, but you are aware of the group Kristen Lamb set up on flickr, aren’t you? If not, here’s the link:

    http://www.flickr.com/groups/wana/

  6. Good luck. I’ll miss Designing from Bones while it’s on hiatus, but I understand the situation and think you’re doing the right thing.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Kathy: Yes, it is, but it is the right thing to do, so the time is well spent πŸ™‚

      Marcia: I’m actually building a nice list of resources thanks to the posts I had on this on Blog Treasures Saturday. Also, August is generously helping me figure it all out (or will be once I write her tomorrow – shh, no telling her).

      August: Yes, I do have some questions but oddly, Roni’s FAQ post (which will be on this weeks Blog Treasures) answered some of them. I’ll be in contact with the small group of questions I have. The CC search tool is pretty good, not as functional as it could be but it works.

      Jenny: Yep and soon. Thanks πŸ™‚

      Catie: Oh, I know – I voted on your site and considered doing the same thing but I only use pics in one of three posts a week so decided to just take the time and make the shift. I have the WANA Commons site on my new pic site list (bookmarks). Peace πŸ™‚

      Marcy: I think so too. By the way, thanks for having Melinda on your site with the photo site list, it has been a HUGE help πŸ™‚

I'd love to chat with you!

