ROWdate 7~29

Hi everyone! Just sticking with the update today.

Writing: I’m currently reverse outlining the piece I wrote in FastDraft. Some of what I had is good or at least the general idea behind it was good. I think the overall project will look a great deal better once I rewrite. Reverse outlining and bulking up the characters will be my continuing task over the next week, hoping to have this done by then.

Reading: Not much on this front. I read one more chapter of Writing Love. Yep.

Blog Transition: I came up with some good ideas for a new schedule, new post ideas, a banner and some layout ideas. My focus is on looking over a broad selection of blogs to see what I like and don’t, what can and can’t be done and finding a schedule and system that will work better for me. Still no idea on hosting but it hasn’t been my top priority.

Social Media: Well I spent about 15 minutes on Goodreads which was long enough to approve new friends and make a couple small tweaks to my page. I was on Pinterest a couple of times, about 45 minutes, added a new board, repinned a couple dozen items from the people I’m following and picked up a couple of new people to follow. I’m liking Pinterest because it is easy to use and fit into the free moments.

Ebook formatting: Not much here, however, I do have a pair of projects in mind for free ebooks to have on the blog that will be my test subjects over the next month or so. Hoping to have one put together by the end of the round.

Novella: This one goes hand in hand with “writing” up above. I should probably merge them but as this may not be my only writing project, I’ll resist the urge at this point.

Hope you are all having great weeks. Look forward to visiting a bunch of you today.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to ROWdate 7~29

  1. K.B. Owen says:

    Great goals, Gene! Looks like you’re making progress in all areas. Good luck!

  2. Marcia says:

    Great week! You got a little of everything done! Good for you on your plan to offer free ebooks on your site. I’m working on that myself! Have another great week, Gene!

  3. Nice progress! Have fun with your backwards outline, and a great week in general. πŸ™‚

  4. Juliana Haygert says:

    Great progress! Reverse outlining should be fun! Good luck next week!

  5. Reverse outlining? An interesting concept. I can see the usefulness of it, though. Good luck with that and all your other projects. You’re doing great, as you usually do. πŸ™‚

  6. Lauren Garafalo says:

    Sounds like you had a pretty good week. Hope this one is even more productive!!

  7. Wow, Gene, you got a ton done this week – keep up the good work! Hopefully your reverse outline will come in handy for revision (at least, I assume that’s what it’s for?). Have a great week!

  8. Julie Glover says:

    Looks like a good week, Gene. I reversed outlined one of my books, and it really helped me to see plot problems and correct them. Best wishes with that!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Kathy: Thanks!

      Marcia: I’ve read quite a bit in the past couple of months about turning blog content into ebooks and think it is a good way to breath new life into the archives. Thanks πŸ™‚

      JR: Thanks. I’ll have to do a post on reverse outlining at some point as this technique seems unfamiliar to many people.

      Juliana: Thanks!

      Gigi: Thanks for the link, very informative.

      Lauralynn: Thanks. Yes, reverse outlining is actually standard for me as a converted and now hybrid pantser.

      Lauren: Thanks!

      Jennette: Yes, that is what it is for πŸ™‚ Thanks!

      Julie: It does help identify plot issues. Also character points and interesting settings etc., I tend to write quickly (FastDrafter) and the reverse outline lets me get in touch with the heart of the story heading into revisions.

I'd love to chat with you!

