ROWdate 7~15

Hi everyone! Well, I got so caught up in reading, FastDrafting and plotting this novella that I almost forgot it was Sunday. I’m sure that’s never happened to anyone else…

So, I’ll be brief today.

For my full goals click on the ROW80 tap up above.

Writing: I’m currently in Candace Haven’s FastDraft which has gone well over all. I had one off day where I only wrote 5 pages (about 1200 words), but other than that I’ve been hitting the 5k mark or above every day. It was amazing how quickly this let me see the flaws in my story, but it was equally amazing how rapidly I saw ways to improve it. Moving at the speed of FastDraft is like seeing through the veil…if that makes any sense. If not, just ignore me *smile*

Reading: I read the Screenwriter’s Fairy Tale by Todd Klick, twice, it’s a fast read. I still have to get a review up on GoodReads and Amazon for it but will try to do that by end of day tomorrow. Five stars all the way. Next is to finish Writing Love by Alexandra Sokoloff, then I think I’ll be reading Kait Nolan’s Red, which is highly recommended and been on my Kindle for a couple months while I concentrated on craft books – I could really use a fun adventure and I’m sure Kait will deliver on that one.

Blog Transition: This coming Friday/Saturday I’ll be purchasing the WP.org site and linking up with a hosting service. Still haven’t made the final determination on that one but it is a short list. Since this is a breakdown goal, the above is the current item, have to update my ROW page.

Social Media: I’ve lined up a quick half dozen reviews to go on Goodreads and Amazon which will be happening throughout this week as well as putting together my “already read” and “waiting to be read lists”. On Pinterest I now have three boards and I’ll be spending at least a half hour on that later today to expand it a bit. Thanks to all of you that have hooked up with me over there and re-pinned the few things I’ve managed to pull together.

E-book formatting: Still nothing to report here. I’m concentrated on writing at the moment and will hit this one harder in August.

Classes: This goal is on hiatus due to reasons beyond my control. I’ll be removing it from my overall goal list.

The Novella: I have most of a first draft. I’ve rewritten a few sections, made some character adjustments and generally been seeing that all the things I should have done up front. I decided to handle this one with only a light amount of prep to see what would have the most value to me in the future. Now I know and the original list of “do this before you write” is shorter now – and the things I know I need, well, I now know I need them, to what extent I need them and exactly what I need them to do. So, it’s all good.

Be sure to get out and visit your fellow ROWers! That’s it for me…

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ROWdate 7~15

  1. EM Castellan says:

    You’re doing really well with your goals, especially the writing ones, that’s great! I hope you have a good week and happy writing!

  2. Marcia says:

    Sounds like you have all your bases covered, Gene! Great work on keeping up with Fast Draft and the Novella is shaping up! Have a great week ahead and stay cool!

  3. Yay Gene! Sounds like you are working your butt off.. Kudos to you! I’ll have to get over and check out your Pinterest… Take care and enjoy your week…

  4. Reetta Raitanen says:

    Great job on meeting your writing goals and getting reading done. I highly recommend Kait’s Red. It’s an excellent book and a fun read. And thanks for the reminder about Goodreads updates and reviews. I need to catch up on that front.

  5. Wow, amazing progress with the FastDraft course, Gene! Makes me all the more inclined to take it sometime myself.

    You have so many blog and social media goals it makes me dizzy just reading them. *g* Congrats on the progress and good luck!

    Have a great week. πŸ™‚

  6. alberta says:

    well done on progress there, I too have Red waiting to be read – trouble with kindle books I have to read them on the computer and I dont find that so easy but hey ho – it can be done – all the best for coming week:)

    • Gene Lempp says:

      As you can tell by my late response – the goals are keeping me busy πŸ™‚

      EM: Thanks!

      Marcia: Having the bases covered is the super secret unlisted goal. I wanted to see what it would take to write, manage platform, read, learn new information, etc., all at the same time – which is basically the bulk of what is required to be a full-time indie. Not an easy thing, but it does help one learn to prioritize to survive in a rapid manner.

      Darlene: Thanks, look forward to seeing you on Pinterest πŸ™‚

      Reetta: I don’t think there is a way to be caught up on all fronts (grins) – but I sure am trying to find a way. Best to you πŸ™‚

      Ruth: FastDraft…write 20 pages a day, the time is sacrosanct, no distractions unless the house is burning down around you/you are dead/you are in a coma. No internal editor allowed, don’t fix typos, don’t hunt words and do not re-read what you’ve written until the project is done – keep a working journal to give you daily starting points and to log ideas as they arise. That is the basics and I’d bet you could handle it with no problem. On average, this has taken me 3 hours a day. Thanks, Ruth πŸ™‚

      Alberta: I have Kindle on my PC and my phone, but for some reason, Red won’t move to my phone so I’ll be reading it on the PC as well. Granted, that is my least favorite way to read fiction, but for Kait, I’ll do it. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: #ROW80 Round 3: Last Wednesday in July! | The Sound of One Hand Typing

I'd love to chat with you!

