ROWreturn 6~17

Hi everyone!

First off, Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there *smile* Being a dad is not always an easy job, but our kids are worth the effort, worth the moments of conflict, worth the time and attention. And, just as our children rely on their mothers for love and nurturing, so they rely on their dads for strength, security and guidance. While the “job” does not pay, the rewards are priceless and completely worth the effort and occasional heart break that comes as a part of parenting. Enjoy your days fellow dads and kudos for all the hard work you’ve invested in your kids futures.

Second – Yes, I am back. I want to thank all of you that stopped by to comment, tweet, email and generally support my family and I over the past week. While I’m not going to go into detail of what was going on, your support, concern and virtual hugs were greatly appreciated. I’m honored to have such wonderful friends *smile*

Third – (stop looking at my list, yeah you, I see you) – I read Steve Pressfields The War of Art a week ago, absolutely fantastic read.Β  If you are a writer (high chance of that with this post) and you’ve ever found yourself as your greatest obstacle (what writer hasn’t?) and you’d like to discover the true nature of the obstacle (inner Resistance), how to overcome the obstacle and how to thrive – then, read this book! Yes, that is a mini review and my full endorsement of The War of Art. This may well be the most powerful book on the realities and path of the writer’s life I’ve ever read. I’m re-reading it currently, a bit slower this time and taking notes, so perhaps I’ll do an expanded review in the future.

Next (see I stopped using numbers), goals. I’m adjusting my goals. And, since there are only four days left in this round, I’m going to totally not say what they are until Round 3 starts. However, my primary goal is to write for at least one hour every day, no word count, whatever I get is fine as long as the time is dedicated solely to writing. For those of you that are a part of #teamsprinty be looking for me to pop in more often. I can’t say I’ll make it every day but I will be making an effort to spend my hour with all of you.

And now, well, I’m going to get some more coffee, do a little reading, a little writing, hug my wife and kids and enjoy my Father’s Day *smile*

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to ROWreturn 6~17

  1. Happy Father’s Day, Gene πŸ™‚ It’s good to see you back and good to know you are on the other side of what you faced when you left. Thanks for the recommendation on War of Art–I will check it out. Have a great week!

  2. Marcia says:

    Happy, happy Dad’s day, my friend! I hope your day is relaxing and that everyone spoils you all day! You certainly deserve it! So, glad things are settling down for you and the worst is over. The War of Art sounds like it was made for me (inner resistance)…on my way to get it now! πŸ™‚

  3. Juliana Haygert says:

    Happy Father’s Day! I’m glad you’re back!
    The War of Art sounds like a great read for me. I might tackle that one next. Thanks πŸ˜‰

  4. S. J. Maylee says:

    Happy Father’s Day!! Hope you have a wonderful day with your family!! ((hugs))
    I like how your looking at round 3. I will most certainly be taking that idea with me.

  5. alberta says:

    well enjoy your father’s day and look foward to seeing you next round – enjoy the hols and happy writing/reading:)

  6. Jenny Hansen says:

    And he’s baaaaaaaack! Love it. My universe is better with you in it and happy. πŸ™‚

    That cartoon at the bottom made me and my hubby laugh our asses off. Thanks for that!

  7. K.B. Owen says:

    Gene, enjoy your Father’s Day – you deserve it! πŸ™‚

  8. John Holton says:

    Hapy Father’s Day! I’m glad things are settling down for you.

  9. Gene, I hope whatever you were going through, that things have been resolved or have at least gotten better. Sometimes life throws us some curve balls. Sending you good thoughts!

  10. Happy Father’s Day and welcome back. Hope the situation has settled down out or been resolved. Love the cartoon…of course, with boys I see that happening with the car more than the credit cards, LOL.

  11. Julie Glover says:

    Welcome back, and I love this line: “just as our children rely on their mothers for love and nurturing, so they rely on their dads for strength, security and guidance.” So very true. I am blessed to have a fabulous husband fathering my sons. Your family is obviously blessed by you, Gene. Happy (belated) Father’s Day! And I’ll see you in Round 3. πŸ™‚

  12. Pingback: Tall Tale Tuesday: Where You From? « Ellie Ann

  13. Eden says:

    Well, Happy (belated) Father’s Day to you. Or, as my husband likes to say… Every day is Father’s Day and every day is Mother’s Day… We don’t stop being parents because the day changes, and we don’t stop celebrating that fact (or we shouldn’t). just because we don’t get dinner and a Hallmark card.

    So celebrate for yourself again today, and tomorrow… And keep celebrating, in little ways, in big hugs and lots of joy.

    And glad you’re back on the ROW80. One hour a day… Sometimes that can be more challenging than it seems. I wish you the best with it.

I'd love to chat with you!

