ROWdate 5~27

Hi everyone! I’ve had a strange and interesting week and thought I’d share a bit of it with you. I don’t normally talk about my “world”, a personal choice, but today I’m going to diverge from that.

First up, my oldest daughter. Beth. She is eighteen and graduates high school in four days as third in her class with a 4.0 GPA. Beth has always been driven to learn and excel, I call her my boy and she is a tough, rock-solid, young woman. She is an all-star academic, has enough varsity sports letters and chevons to cover the entire sleeve of her school jacket and won her schools most prestigious mathematics award. She has been accepted to a major university and fully funded for their pre-law program, my future prosecutor.

And on Thursday night, Beth was named as City Athlete of the Year for the mid-sized city we live in – a major honor that came hoped for but unexpected. We are all very proud of her. I am very proud of her.

Why do I bring this up? First, to honor her achievements, because they are well-earned. Second, because Thursday morning I realized that I hadn’t posted on Wednesday. Sometimes we have such fantastic stuff going on in our worlds that other things just fall to the side for a time. There is nothing wrong with that. And this is my point, because I see many people stressing when their lives interfere with the nuances of their goals, when some small thing falls to the side so that something greater can have our attention. Life is meant to be enjoyed. Those close to us deserve our honor and attention and times, we should never let the little things keep us from missing the moments that are truly important.

My first career was as a certified nursing assistant. This gave me a chance to talk and get to know a host of people at the end of their long life journeys. I often talked to those I cared for about their lives and experiences. I never once heard one say, “there was that day I got four hundred twenty-eight words in fifteen minutes,” or “I missed a blog post once because my darn kids kept me so busy.” No, they talked about the moments that mattered with family, long-range personal achievements, places they’d traveled and the interesting things they’d seen.

Enjoy life, my friends, and don’t stress the adjustments or “losses” that occur as a result. We control our goals, not the other way around – took me a long time to learn that and become comfortable with the thought, but I will say that I’m far happier since arriving at the epiphany. And, I’m enjoying life and family more. And – I’m more productive overall.

And now the update…

-Write 7k of fiction each week. Nope, this didn’t happen this week. Not a single word. From last Sunday until yesterday when I posted Blog Treasures I didn’t blog or formally write – things were that busy and I concentrated on life. However, this isn’t to say I was completely idle. I did begin plotting out and working on a treatment for what will be my first official fiction series – paranormal sci-fi, novella length. I also finished setting up and learning all the apps for my “phone as a mobile work station” project (which went so well my wife is having me set hers up the same way today). So, no I didn’t write, but yes, I did accomplish my long range goals.

-Read, well, this is on hold but I do have the next set of books picked out. I’ll put an official “read by” date on this one next week once I’m past Beth’s graduation and the end of the school year for the other kiddo’s. The next batch: Three e-books: Mugging Your Muse by Holly Lisle, You Are A Writer by Jeff Goins and Platform by Michael Hyatt. One print craft book: Outlining Your Novel by K.M. Weiland. Three fiction: White Star by James Thayer (sniper thriller), Leap Point by Kay Kenyon (paranormal sci-fi) and The Inshore Squadron by Alexander Kent (Victorian-era war series). I’ll be doing a bit of reading *grins*

-Visit at least 15 ROWers each week. Yep, right on the number last week and I’m hoping to get around to a few more than that today. Be sure to get out and support your fellow ROWers and remember that life, every day of it, is a precious commodity that should be cherished and savored – Carpe diem, mei amici.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to ROWdate 5~27

  1. Way to go, Beth! That is so awesome… she sounds like an amazing young lady!
    And yep, life does tend to take the front seat when it comes to our goals.. it’s all good! You did accomplish some goals, and that is a very good thing… πŸ˜€

  2. Juliana Haygert says:

    Wow, Gene, what an inspiring post! Thought provoking, the kind I like. I agree with you all the day. Enjoying life and good times with family are the most important thing.
    You did well anyway!
    And congrats Beth!
    Have a great week!

  3. Kat Morrisey says:

    Sounds like you had a fantastic week! Congrats to your daughter on all her achievements (and to you and your wife for obviously being awesome and supportive parents!) Love what you said about enjoying life. It is so true. I was so wrapped up this past semester with school and teaching that I barely had time to sleep let alone spend quality time with loved ones. Now I am reveling in all the time I have been spending with my family and niece and nephew at their baseball/softball games, concerts, birthdays and other fun times. Enjoying life (and those around us) seems to make everything else fall into place. Have a great week!

  4. K.B. Owen says:

    How fabulous, Gene! Major congrats to Beth. It’s easy to see she’s your daughter, LOL. πŸ™‚ Enjoy the celebrations, and thanks for being such a supportive peep to me, even when you’re so busy!

  5. Wow, congratulations to Beth.
    A great post. It’s the one I needed to read. Have a good week. πŸ™‚
    Laura (http://www.lauraparish.co.uk)
    xxxxx

  6. John Holton says:

    Congratulations to Beth. I’m sure you’re very proud, as you should be.

  7. Congrats to your daughter! And you are sooooo right in pointing out what really matters. Thanks for the perspective tweak! You’ll enjoy and get plenty of inspiration from Mugging the Muse. All of Holly’s books are great!

  8. Marcia says:

    Congratulations, Beth! How nice that your eldest takes after you, Gene–dedication, discipline and an eye on success. Family matters more than anything. You’re so right-sometimes you have to let other things slide to take care of what’s most important. You did well this week on many levels! I’m so excited that you have direction and focus on your story – paranormal sci-fi series! WooHoo!

  9. kerrymeacham says:

    Nice job, Beth. Nice job, Gene. It looks like your priorities are in order, bro. Have a great summer.

  10. Beth is an amazing woman, and I look forward to so many more accomplishments in her life. As a bonus daughter, she is top notch. Thanks for the positive reinforcement Gene, we all need to let ourselves breathe and re-evaluate our goals. That said, I am off to post for myself.

  11. Sounds like you’ve had a fantastic week πŸ˜€ Many congratulations to Beth! Sounds like she takes after you! We can all use your reminder because it’s definitely easy to forget. I’m pretty good with letting things slide when I’m enjoying other things. If I could just be ok with letting things slide when I’m not necessarily enjoying all the mundane things that have to be done to get to the enjoying, I’d be stoked lol. Looking forward to hearing how you liked all those books!! Have a nice week πŸ˜€

  12. Em says:

    I love this post! Congratulations to Beth very inspiring! Great to hear you had such a brilliant week and nice to get a glimpse into your life πŸ™‚

    Have a brilliant week!

  13. Definitely a proud parent πŸ™‚ Congrats to Beth!

    It sounds like a fantastic week and your priorities in the right place. Hope you have a great weekend Gene!

  14. Congrats to Beth! What great accomplishments! And congrats to you for giving family and friends such an honoured place in your life. I get it. I’m all about relationships. If my goals don’t reflect that, it’s definitely time to tweak my list.

    Have a great week, Gene. TTFN

  15. Reetta Raitanen says:

    Congrats to your daughter and your whole family. You’ve supported her and helped her to become the hard-working and successful young woman she is today. Thank you for the reminder about what is really important in life.

    And great book choices. I’m really looking forward to your reviews. I’ve read Holly Lisle’s Mugging the Muse and K.M. Weiland’s Outlining book taught me a lot about planning novels. I highly recommend them both. You also made me really curious about Michael Hyatt’s book. I’ve enjoyed his blog and I love reading marketing books.

  16. amyshojai says:

    Congratulations! You have every right to be proud and what a terrific “reality check” too.

  17. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    Congratulations to Beth on all her wonderful accomplishments! And congrats to you and your wife for raising such an amazing young woman. I’m glad you touched on the not feeling guilty about reaching our goals since I won’t be posting tomorrow and maybe not at all this week. I have so much catching up to do in so many other areas, something had to give. So blog posts it is. I need to comment back to a bunch of blogs from last week before I post anything new!

    Hey, I wanted to tell you that I watched a movie with my hubby yesterday, “Pirate Radio.” If I hadn’t read your post about it a few weeks ago, I wouldn’t have said, “Hey, let’s watch that one.” I was hoping it would be about that crazy guy you wrote about who declared his own nation, but it wasn’t. Even so, it was a good movie, and the music rocked! Big time!

  18. Jenny Hansen says:

    Fantastic week at your place, Gene! I’m smiling because while you’re graduating your gal, mine is starting pre-school. (And I’m pretty sure we’re about the same age!!) Life is fascinating, isn’t it?

    • Gene Lempp says:

      *rushes in* Whew, made it πŸ™‚

      First off: Thank you to everyone that gave Beth congrats, she really appreciated it (and got to see the beauty of blogging and the ultra-cool people that stop by this one!). You all are simply the best πŸ˜€

      Marcia: Yeah, paranormal sci-fi – an idea I’ve been brewing since the beginning of the year combined with a concept I’ve had in mind for about four – really nice to see things start to click, it’s been a long wait πŸ™‚

      MaryJo: Love ya hun πŸ™‚ (By the way, Mary Jo Gibson is my wife, just so you don’t think I get “fresh” with all my commenters) πŸ™‚

      Lauren: LOL! Right with you. The mundane can be anything but when it gets in the way. I just power through those times and don’t stress over what I “want” to be doing, then I find I get to those wants faster and in better mental health to enjoy them πŸ™‚

      Reetta: I’m about a third of the way through Holly’s Mugging the Muse and love it (but have been a fan of her craft material for years) and looking forward to reading K.M. Weiland’s book which comes highly recommended and I’m a new fan of her site thanks to all the recommendations. I found Michael Hyatt through Jeff Goins, whose “You Are a Writer” I’m about 70% through (according to my Kindle for Android app) and wow, what a powerful read that is! Great comment, thanks πŸ™‚

      Lynn: I’ve seen Pirate Radio, no not the same place or guy but definitely a fun one to watch. Glad you enjoyed it πŸ˜‰

      Jen: I “think” we are close to the same age. I’m 43 (see how easy it is for guys to through that number out there *grins*). We don’t always get to choose when we have kids but we do get to choose how we use the time we have with them. Love is to children as water, sunlight and good soil is to a flower πŸ™‚

      • Marcia says:

        Hey, I thought that must be your wife, Gene. I just went to her blog and it’s amazing! I thought all your other readers ought to know about it, especially if they like history and art! http://thiswritelife.wordpress.com/ You are one lucky man, Gene. A beautiful and smart woman who loves and supports your kids, on top of amazing kids! Happy for you!

  19. Jess Witkins says:

    Kudos, Beth! What an exciting time for her! Tell her to enjoy her summer, relax a little, and go off to college with all the verve it sounds like she has buckets of! She’ll meet so many interesting people and do really well. It’s a big change ahead, a lot of learning moments and decision making, but I know she’s got a great support system to help her on her way.

    I’m glad you “stopped” to enjoy life; you had lots to celebrate!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Marcia: See, this is why I adore you. Saw this on my phone as I was roaming through the house and showed it to MJ – you totally just made her day. Thank you πŸ™‚ And yes, I am very fortunate *bigger smile*

      Jess: I will pass this on to her (she’s a bit irked about having to do some big pile of dishes, or something *grins*). She’s going to love it, bit of trepidation at the moment but we all have that when on the verge of great change. Thanks, Jess πŸ™‚

  20. Julie Glover says:

    Fabulous advice, Gene! A good reminder for me at the moment as I’m up to my ears in to-do’s and my kids are out of school this week. I don’t want to neglect enjoying time with them because I’m playing constant catch-up, so something may have to give.

    Enjoy the reading! And congrats to your fabulous daughter.

  21. Your daughter has an impressive list of achievements! Congratulations to you and her.

  22. Pingback: ROWWriter 6~3 | Gene Lempp ~ Writer

I'd love to chat with you!

