Random Act Of Kindness BLITZ!

A smile. An encouraging word. A thoughtful gesture. Each day people interact with us, help, and make our day a bit brighter and full. This is especially true in the Writing Community.

Take a second to think about writers you know, like the critique partner who works with you to improve your manuscript. The writing friend who listens, supports and keeps you strong when times are tough. The author who generously offers council, advice and inspiration when asked.

So many people take the time to make us feel special, don’t they? They comment on our blogs, re-tweet our posts, chat with us on forums and wish us Happy Birthday on Facebook.

Kindness ROCKS!

To commemorate the release of their book The Emotion Thesaurus, Becca and Angela at The Bookshelf Muse are hosting a TITANIC Random Act Of Kindness BLITZ. And because I think KINDNESS is contagious, I’m participating too!

While there are many that I am grateful to for their support, encouragement and guidance, most of all Kristen Lamb, Piper Bayard and Jami Gold, there is one person that stands out – Marcia A. Richards. Marcia has been a regular to my blog since almost the beginning, always leaves an encouraging comment, has been with me through good and bad times, a writing comrade in arms and whether she knows it or not, a mentor in many ways. Marcia, I want you to know how appreciative I am to you for sticking with me all this time and the inspiration you hand out like candy. My ROAK gift to you, is a $20 dollar Amazon gift certificate – just drop me an email and I’ll send the certificate to you. Marcia, thanks for being the great friend and woman that you are *smile*

I really appreciate Marcia, who blogs  at Stories of Sexy. Smart. Strong. Women with Heart. If you have a minute, please stop in and tell her how awesome she is!

Do you know someone special that you’d like to randomly acknowledge? Don’t be shy–come join us and celebrate! Send them an email, give them a shout out, or show your appreciation in another way. Kindness makes the world go round. 🙂

Becca and Angela have a special RAOK gift waiting for you as well, so hop on over to The Bookshelf Muse to pick it up.

Have you ever participated in or been the recipient of a Random Act Of Kindness?  Let me know in the comments!

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Random Act Of Kindness BLITZ!

  1. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    Wow, this is awesome. Congrats to Marcia. Everyone needs people like her in their lives. Thankfully, I have friends like Marcia, too. My two co-authors, Kathryn Sant and Maria Toth, are always supportive and have words of kindness, plus they say the funniest things when I need a laugh. I guess from working together for over five years, we grew very close. I have other writer friends I’ve met online who have been supportive and encouraging and are wonderful people to know. You’re one of the first tweeps I met on Twitter, Gene. I’ve learned so much from you, and you’ve shown nothing but kindness and support. So thank you for all your help and guidance. Have a wonderful week, Gene.

  2. Marcia says:

    Wow, Gene! What an amazing way to start my day! I’m so honored that you chose me and I honestly feel the same way about you. You stuck with through 4 months of of our exercise challenge. By doing that, I never felt alone. You are a fantastic partner to have in any endeavor! You’re constant in your friendship, sincere in your encouragement and motivational in your support. I value you highly as my friend. Thank you for choosing me from a host of others who undoubtedly feel the same as I about you. You make a difference, Gene. Hugs and thanks. 🙂

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Lynn: You’ve always been a great friend as well and let me say that this was a difficult choice because of all the fantastic readers and friends I have out there. I do remember when we first met and your friendship has always been reciprocal, Lynn. Thanks so much for all the support and the positive attitude you always carry like a ray of sunshine 🙂

      Marcia: Very glad I could give you a smile this morning. You’ve always been there for me, not just here, but in Lifelist, ROW, email (still working on the Goodreads thing but it is getting closer to the top of the list now) and so many other supportive ways. It is my honor to have you as a friend and I look forward to the days that are yet to come. Hugs back and you are most welcome 🙂

  3. Stacy Green says:

    As I just said on Jill Kemerer’s blog, this is a great idea. And I have to give my shout out to my critique partner, Catie Rhodes. She’s worked so hard with me on the plot of this new book, and I certainly wouldn’t have a contract for INTO THE DARK without her.

  4. LauraDrake says:

    What a fantastic idea. Reading it, I knew JUST who I was going to recognize, and how – I’m going to do it now! Thanks, Gene!

  5. Kindness so does rock, Gene! Love this post, and agree with Marcia. There’s no better way to start a day or week. The other night a friend of mine accidentally left $100 instead of $20 at a restaurant, for a meal that cost $15. The server ran after us in the parking lot and returned it. We were so touched, that we tipped him big-time.

  6. Sooooooooooooo cool! I love it Gene….

  7. Marcia sounds like a wonderful person. What a great RAOK.

  8. Jenny Hansen says:

    LOVE it, Gene! And I agree that Marcia rocks. 🙂

  9. I love ROAK! Marcia is such a fantastic woman and so deserving of your ROAK award. I try every day to do at least one ROAK, sometimes in the writing community, sometimes to the lady at the local market. It always lightens my heart and gives me warm fuzzies inside. Today I have a good friend of mine on the blog because I think she’s darn special and I wanted to share her with all the amazing online friends I’ve made. She’s my real life Marcia.

  10. What a cool idea! I’m giving a shout-out to El Farris of Running From He’ll With El. She’s my writing partner, and we have really become a support system for each other over the last months. It’s my blogoversary month, so I have all kinds of random acts going on. But lots have strings attached. So I love this and plan to pay it forward.

  11. angelaackerman says:

    I think it sounds like the two of you are a great match, keeping each other going with encouragement. So nice to read a bit more about Marcia and thank you so much Gene for joining in on the RAOK Blitz. This was such a good day, seeing all the kindness everywhere. I hope there is more to come this next week!:)

    Angela

  12. Marcia says:

    Lynn, Cherie, Jenny and Tameri, thank you for your kind words…you’re all pretty awesome yourselves!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      I’m glad to see that so many of you enjoyed this and I’m sure (hope) that there will be more events like this in the future. It was a total honor to be a part of Angela and Becca’s ROAK Blitz and to get to share my friend Marcia with all of you. You are all awesome!

  13. Pingback: Humor Hits Hook Readers by Margie Lawson | Jenny Hansen's Blog

  14. A brilliant post, Gene. I think you always do random acts of kindness, though. I know I have some words of yours in my Pick-Me-Up file (yes, that’s what it’s called!)

    So, thank you!

  15. Lovely gesture! Marcia’s blog is a great read and the ROAK concept rocks.

  16. Jess Witkins says:

    Woo! Congrats to Marcia! Couldn’t go to a more worthy writer. Marcia is a joy to work with, so motivating and supportive to everyone. I would add to that list, your name, Monsieur! You are so kind with your plethora of tweets, helpful emails, well researched and structured advice, and let’s face it, your mash ups are untouchable!

    Love this RAOK activity!

  17. What a wonderful RAOK post! Congrats to you both for being awesome. 🙂

  18. AWWW!!! That’s so awesome! 😀 what a super cool gift, to a super cool gal, from a super cool dude…

I'd love to chat with you!

