ROWdate 5~13

Hello everyone! As it is Mother’s Day and my time is promised to the special lady in my life, the update will be brief.

And here it is…

– Write 7k of fiction per week. I exceeded this with 8271 although much of that was in testing out various ideas for POV, setting descriptions, dialogue and such. With all the craft books I’ve read in the past 15 months have come a ton of exercises that I typically skip over due to time constraints. Now I am catching up on them and reviewing the material, which has been very helpful.

– Read and review 4 books by May 20. So, I didn’t finish Memo yet, mostly due to wanting to concentrate on the above exercises. However, I’m about a hundred pages from the end and should be able to complete it, and this goal, before the deadline. Watch for the review next week.

– Visit at least 15 ROWers each week. I was able to stop by 19 between Sunday and Monday and will endeavor to do the same this week – although most will probably be tomorrow.

Be sure to honor your mom’s today in whatever manner is evidence of your love for the investment of time and effort that they made in helping to shape you. And to all the mom’s that read this: Thank you and I wish you all a safe, happy and joyful Mother’s Day. *smile*

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to ROWdate 5~13

  1. Congrats on your progress! Have fun with the craft exercises and have a great week!

  2. I know what you mean about skipping writing exercises. I’m also going back and working on some I’ve missed. Great work on the wordage Gene. Wishing you a fabulous week and your wife a wonderful Mother’s Day.

  3. EM Castellan says:

    8K is great, congratulations on keeping up the good work! Also, I love your post picture πŸ™‚ Have a great writing week!

  4. Kat Morrisey says:

    Yay for all those words!!! What a fabulous week of writing–I hope this week is just as fruitful! Have a great week! πŸ™‚

  5. Juliana Haygert says:

    Thank you!
    Like usual, your kicking ROW ass!
    Have a great week!

  6. Julie Glover says:

    Great word count! Seeing you hover around that 7k mark each week (and now way beyond) is inspiring. Happy Mother’s Day to the lovely lady in your life! Have a marvelous week!

  7. Reetta Raitanen says:

    Congrats on your process, Gene. Craft excercises are most useful when you apply them to your own work in progress. I hope you and your family had a wonderful Mother’s Day πŸ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Jeanette: Thanks, will do πŸ™‚

      Raelyn: Some of the exercises were really just waiting for me to have enough WIP to use them on. I’ve found it well worth the time and useful on cleaning up some of the ideas I had. Thanks for the Mothers Day wishes, my wife appreciated it πŸ™‚

      EM, Kat, Juliana: Thanks!

      Julie: Thanks, my wife is appreciative of the well wishes πŸ™‚

      Reeta: Yep, have to agree, I’ve been using the exercises in connection with my WIP and have found them to be useful. Thanks for the well wishes, much appreciated πŸ™‚

  8. Big squee on your word count goal this week, Gene!!! Testing out ideas for POV, etc. is okay in my book. Better to play around early versus the end. I know a writer who was repeatedly told what her novel draft needed to be from a different POV for it to work. Nearly sent her into madness having to go back and completely retool. That one makes me really pay attention if my writing group starts making POV comments on early pieces/drafts. I also go back and do craft exercises from books as prompts or to better grasp a concept I’m struggling with in my draft. Sounds like you are on track for having another great week!

  9. kimpdx says:

    Excellent progress! Your comments about the craft book exercises being helpful makes me think I might have a look at the exercises in some of my books.

    I hope you and your special someone had a lovely day!

I'd love to chat with you!

