Blog Treasures 5~5

Welcome to Blog Treasures! Here you’ll find the best of the blogsphere from the past week. So, grab your coffee, sit back and above all – enjoy *smile*

Featured

Larry Brooks is a master of locating the the beating heart of a working story, unearthing the rich lessons of it for us to use. This week begins his in-depth look at the seasons top book/movie: Deconstructing the Hunger Games, Part 1.

On the Publishing Industry

Why one Traditionally-published Author is now choosing Self-Publishing by Jessica Park, guest posting on Elizabeth Craig’s site.

The Indie Publishing Adventures of Author Aiden James an interview by Catie Rhodes.

On Aspects of Publishing

From Dean Wesley Smith: Think like a Publisher: Projected Income.

Self-Publishing Basics: Introduction to Metadata by Joel Friedlander.

Thinking the Wrong Things about E-book Pricing by Chuck Wendig.

Anthologies & Collections: Putting Stories Together to tell Bigger Stories by Gabriela Pereira.

On Social Media

10 Tips to help you Keep Your Head while Vlogging by Jenny Hansen. Excellent tips!

How Writers can get started with Google+ by Dan Blank (vlog).

Social Media…The Death of us all? by Cate Woods.

10 Things Writers Shouldn’t Say in a DM by Kait Nolan.

Why I gave up trying to Build a big Social Media Following by J. Steve Miller guest posting on Joanna Penn’s site.

On Writing Craft

Man Against Nature – How to make it work by the ever-fabulous Kristen Lamb.

Want to be an Editor when you grow up? by Theresa Stevens at Edittorrent.

Before Fingers Touch Keyboard: My Six Pre-Writing Steps by Roni Loren.

How to make your novel Scratch and Sniff by Marcy Kennedy. Great advice for using smell in your writing.

How to Fix a Weak Opening by Kara Lennox guest posting on Writers in the Storm.

Writing Tools: How Useful is Speech Recognition Software for Writers/Bloggers? by Sonia G. Medeiros. Stop by and let Sonia know your experiences, struggles and triumphs.

On the Writer’s Life

You are a Writer. Act like One. Joanna Penn interviews Jeff Goins. Lots of great tips here.

25 Realizations Writers Need To Have from the prophetically hilarious Chuck Wendig.

Ways to Be a More Productive Writer: Don’t Finish by Janice Hardy.

Tolkien’s 10 Tips for Writers by Roger D. Colby.

Your health is a key part of remaining a productive writer, trust me, I learned this the hard way. Then I found writer and health guru August McLaughlin and her information filled posts, like this weeks: Fact or Fiction: 10 Diet Myths Debunked.

Fun Posts!

Remember the days before the world was sanitized to protect every single little twitch of the sensitive soul? Ellie Ann Soderstrom takes back on a journey to those days with Hilarious Old Ads – go for the ads, stay for the witty comments.

Jennifer Joseph of Slacker Heroes guest posted on Piper Bayard’s site this week with what has to be the funniest post of the week (at least from my perspective) – check it out! Zombie Apocalypse Basics.

“I’m inspired by cooking my pets and my loved ones” – yeah, punctuation makes all the difference. Check out K. B. Owens hilarious Writers and Language.

“Long before middle-aged American retirees from the 1960s started flying to Paris to board those European torture tour buses, one American set a standard for “unwelcome tourist” that has yet to be surpassed…”: The “Ugly American” who would be King of Mexico by Holmes.

Movies: Gloria Oliver reviews The Raven. Tameri Etherton does May Movie Madness with looks at Snow White & the Huntsman, Moonrise Kingdom and The Avengers (trailers included in post). Amanda Rudd reviews The Avengers (and other films): Dust and Even Though the Entire World is Burning.

Designing from Bones ~ Heaven’s Monasteries: Since the legends of the Tower of Babel, mankind has striven to reach the heavens – proximity and piety driving us ever upward. Today, we will look at two stunning examples of the Babel principle…

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Blog Treasures 5~5

  1. Carrie M says:

    Another great round up, Gene! Thank you!

  2. LauraDrake says:

    This one was full of gold for me, Gene. Larry Brooks’ blog broke the logjam problem I had with my WIP!!!!
    Thank you!!

  3. EllieAnn says:

    Wow! So many awesome posts to check out this week. Thanks for putting them all together.
    And thanks for including my old ads! =)

  4. K.B. Owen says:

    I’m going to have to set aside time from my gardening this weekend to check out some of these fab posts, Gene! Thanks for the linky love, too!

  5. Jenny Hansen says:

    I’m with Kathy – I’m gardening and throwing a birthday party for Baby Girl (who’s rapidly becoming “not a baby” *it’s making mama sad*). AFTER all that, I’m going to grab coffee, put my feet up and read these treasures! Thanks for including me. 🙂

  6. So many great links to check out. Thanks, Gene! Hope you’re having a great weekend. 🙂

  7. And… THANKS for the mention! So glad you found the post helpful.

  8. Wow, I think I only read two of these this week, but I need to read them all! Awesomely great mash up this week. Thanks so much for the movie mention! I’m off now to catch up on these fab posts. Thanks again!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Laura: Larry’s deconstructions always give out a ton of tools for constructing stronger stories. I’ve found them quite useful in the past.

      Thanks to all of you for coming by, sharing the post and I hope you enjoy the links – I know I enjoyed reading all of them 🙂

  9. Marcia says:

    I played a game with myself this week…see how many of the posts I’ve read will be included in Gene’s mashup…of your 30, I’ve only read 5. I’ll be working out my reading glasses on Sunday. Great lineup, Gene! Thanks!

  10. Reetta Raitanen says:

    Brilliant mash-up again, Gene. So much good stuff to read. Thank you.

  11. Piper Bayard says:

    As always, Gene, a stellar lineup. Thanks so much for the shout out. It’s an honor. 🙂

  12. Roni Loren says:

    Thanks for including me in the round up. : ) I really needed your roundup this week because I’ve been in my writer cave and have missed all kinds of good stuff.

  13. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    Another great mashup, Gene. I’m glad you included your Designing from Bones post. Yep, you should include it in all your mashups for those who missed it!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks to all of you and glad you are enjoying the links – nice to know I’m picking good content 🙂

      Marcia: Love that game and glad I could put you on to some fantastic articles.

      Roni: Glad you came out of the cave to stop by and super glad I could catch you up. I read your Friday mashups, so, I’m sure the day will come when this will be reciprocal (hey, we all have writer caves, right?) 😀

  14. Pingback: Tall Tale Tuesday: Plant Some Ideas « Ellie Ann

  15. Pingback: Link Feast Vol. 7 | Reetta Raitanen's Blog

  16. Thanks for including me 🙂 I’m a little late to the link fest this week because my weekend went haywire, but I’m excited to settle in for some reading tonight. The first one I’m heading to is the Hunger Games analysis…

I'd love to chat with you!

