ROWthief 4~15

The Beauty of Spring by Lazy Vlad - compliments of designdazzling.com

Ah, the beloved Ides of April – the playful trill of birds reveling in the warming skies. Squirrel couples out for leisurely strolls in the greening pastures of springtime lawns. Yes, even with the occasional lightning-ripped thunderstorm thrown in – the raging teenage angst of what a few months ago was baby New Year – this time of year always gives me a feeling of renewal and joy. I hope it is the same for you.

Today, we have a review of the Thief followed by a look at my ROW80 week.

Review of The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

Gen is a thief that brags of his unmatched talents in wine shop after wine shop – which, of course, lands him in an inglorious incarceration. At least, that is, until the need for a master thief comes along – a quest for an ancient item of the gods that is said to grant immortality.

Turner blends together fantasy, medieval culture and the myths of an alternate Earth history to create a magical world filled with mystery and the machinations of the power hungry. The Thief is a fun and clever adventure with interesting characters, well designed settings and plenty of twists. I found the book enjoyable and am looking forward to reading the next two in the series at some point in the future. Recommended for those that enjoy light adventure mixed with a healthy dose of dark reality.

And now, this week’s ROW update.

-Write 7k of fiction per week. This was another week were I barely managed to get this in, but I did get it. The job side of my life has seen quite a few twists and disruptions over the past couple of months but I think that things will finally be calming down (knock on wood). Having a set writing time and daily word count target that I’m accustomed to has made all the difference. For those that wonder how I manage this each week the above is one of a couple key factors. I actually started this routine last year during Nanowrimo and have tweaked it to work as my every day thing.

-Read and review 4 books by May 20th. Above is the review of the first of these. I’m currently reading The Eight by Katherine Neville who has a gorgeous writing style that I’ll be paying close attention to – the story is excellent as well. The Eight is around 600 pages long – not a light afternoon read – so, it will be a couple weeks before I finish it.

-Visit at least 15 ROWers each week. Oddly, due to the disruptions I mentioned above, I missed this by one – really should have counted better I guess. So, today, I’ll aim for at least 16 of you. Support your fellow ROWers and try to meet someone new today.

Until next week…

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to ROWthief 4~15

  1. Ali Dent says:

    The daily writing time set aside is a big key and 7,000 words is nothing to sneeze at, Gene. You’re one of the most productive people I know. Looking forward to the review of The Eight.

  2. Stacy Green says:

    You did great as usual, Gene. You’re an inspiration to all of us. Thanks for the review!

  3. authormarieandrews says:

    The Thief sounds like a great read, definitely adding to my book list. Amazingly enough, I have The Eight sitting on my bookshelf and planned to start that several times, but it is a big book…and I’m at a loss for sufficient time to start it yet. Still, I’ve heard nothing but positive reviews for the book and her writing style.

    I think it’s wonderful how you’re making work and writing work, even when work tries to trump the writing time. That’s dedication πŸ™‚ Great job on hitting your goals Gene!

  4. I need to get better about blocking out a specific writing time…it’s obviously working wonders for you. Fabulous work this week Gene! You are inspirational πŸ™‚

  5. Marcia says:

    As always, Gene, you rocked it! Even when you struggle, you succeed! Good for you. I have to get better at using my scheduled writing time for writing alone. Have a great week!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Ali: Thanks! The Eight is a fantastic read so far and I’m just in the First Act.

      Stacy: Thanks – happy to inspire πŸ™‚

      Marie: The Eight is not a fast read, and in honesty, I’m reading it slower than normal to absorb Katherine Neville’s gorgeous writing. Found this at a Salvation Army for a dollar, great investment. Thanks for the wonderful support πŸ™‚

      Raelyn: Dedicated writing time is an essential part of a good breakfast, er, productivity system. It took some major discipline at first but now that its a stable routine the benefits are tremendous.

      Marcia: Simple goals are the easiest to be successful at. Yep, dedicated time is just that, nothing else. I’m going to be trying out Write or Die to try to improve the time even more and will let all of you know how it works out for me.

  6. I’ve heard great things about The Thief, and now that I’ve read your review, I’ll definitely have to check it out. 7K a week is a fantastic goal, Gene, and you are such an inspiration with the way that you’ve managed to get a system that works for you in place. Can’t wait to hear what you think about Write or Die, too.

    Have a great week!

  7. Great word counts as always, Gene. Having a particular routine makes all the difference, doesn’t it? That’s what I’m working on.

  8. Reading and reviewing books is so hard. I try to do no more than 1 a month so I can be sure to give them the thought they need. Good luck!

  9. Great job, Gene! You are still one of my ROW80 heros. I’m trying to build in a more daily habit goal this round and it is hard. Setting the daily writing time alludes me because my schedule can fluctuate so much after work. Some days, I can crank out time right before I leave the office while others I have appointments and am not home for a few hours. I’ll keep at it and find a system that works. Have a great week!

  10. kathils says:

    Hmm, Thief sounds like one I may have to add to my reading list. Sounds like you’re doing awesome with your goals. I’m not ROWing this round, but like to keep checking in with everyone — in a random sort of way. πŸ™‚

  11. Reetta Raitanen says:

    Thanks for the great review, Gene. And congrats on achieving your goals so well. 7000 words a week is an excellent accomplishment.

  12. Great review and goals for the week! While I know meeting new ROW80’s is one of your goals, I like the challenge…perhaps its time I branch out and meet some more fellow writers!

  13. Great as usual!
    I’m curious about The Thief now … I should check it out. Thanks for the review πŸ˜‰
    Have great one!

  14. EllieAnn says:

    Wow! Congrats on all the writing! I can’t wait to read it.

  15. Julie Glover says:

    That 7k word count is marvelous! Great job! Thanks for the review on THE THIEF. I am putting that one on my TBR list.

    Indeed, as I type this, we are having that “occasional lightning-ripped thunderstorm.” Texas weather. Go figure. Tomorrow it will probably be 92 degrees. Still, I love spring. Enjoy!

  16. Em says:

    Great job especially with twists and disruptions! I am always impressed you never seem to give in to the things life throws at you. Inspiring as always!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Lena: Looked at Write or Die a bit ago and I’m going to try the Web version out over the next few days. Love the options – it beeps at you if you slow down for too long *laughs*. Guess that means I can’t nap while I write anymore πŸ™‚

      Lauralynn: Routine makes all the difference – once you find the right place in your day to place the routine – and that is the tricky part. Persist. πŸ™‚

      Jennifer: Thanks!

      Barbara: Aw, thanks! It can be a struggle to find the right consistent time to set the routine, but persistence will win through in the end – don’t despair, press on πŸ™‚

      Kath: In a random sort of way – thanks much *smile*

      Reeta: Thanks!

      Claudia: Definitely, meet a few new friends. As I’ve mentioned I try to stop by one persons site I’ve never visited before each Sunday and I’ve yet to be disappointed – ROWers are the best!

      Juliana: Thanks!

      Ellie: Ha, me too! Can’t wait for edits – I’m really trying to have something out by the end of 2012. More info once I’m closing on my target.

      Julie: Oddly, when I wrote my update it was about an hour after an eight hour long lightning storm, then sunny, then storm – love spring. Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

      Em: I will not say it is easy to stay on track or that I succeed on a daily basis, but I never give up and that is the real key. Persist regardless of events and you will succeed. Happy to inspire. Thanks, Em πŸ™‚

I'd love to chat with you!

