An Alien Heat and ROW Launch

Hi everyone!

Well the break is almost over and I hope everyone enjoyed the days and is ready to head back into the writing fray refreshed and invigorated. I was fairly busy over the past ten days or so. Fought off a cold but kept pounding away at the goals and doing a fair amount of reassessment – which is the never-ending process. I finished one of the books I had listed for a Round 1 goal over the past week and will be reviewing it. Following that will be my Round 2 2012 Goals. Enjoy.

Review of An Alien Heat by Michael Moorcock

Imagine time traveling to a distant future on LSD and you’ll have a perfect understanding of this book. Published in 1972, it is clear that Mr. Moorcock spent a good deal of time observing the culture of the ’60’s and translating it into what I consider the most incredible and bizarre mind trip I’ve ever read.

Humanity has progressed to the point where death is no longer a factor. Nor is want or resources. A world where each person controls a vast area that acts as their playground. Want the sky to be orange – twist a power ring and your wish is granted. Want a pile of gold, flex a single nerve in one finger and its yours. Want to keep a time traveler in your personal zoo for your pleasure – done. Yeah, that last one is a bit creepy but the humans of this time are nearly god-like in power and their decadence is without bounds.

Moorcock does a wonderfully brilliant portrayal of this future culture – it’s games to stop the boredom – its weaknesses – its lack of what we would consider morality and the reverberations of love in a world where ultimate power and ultimate loneliness are synonymous. If you’re looking for an enticing mental vacation that will thrill and titillate your imagination, I’d highly recommend An Alien Heat.

And now, my Round 2 2012 ROW80 Goals.

-Write 7k of fiction per week. No changes here from last round. By the way, I am restarting WWBC as of today – but there is no way to define this as a “goal” at the moment so I’m not including it at this point.

-Read and review 4 books by May 20th. I actually changed the titles for this one over the break. I’m finishing Nail Your Novel by Roz Morris today and will be reviewing it next week. I’ll not count this one since it’s basically done already. The four titles will be: The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner (YA scifi/fantasy), The Eight by Katherine Neville (Adult Historical Thriller), Memo From the Story Dept. by Christopher Vogler & David McKenna (you knew this was coming) and Sharp Writing which is a Kaplan Publishing Building Block course in book form. I’ve been sitting on this last one for over a year and will be doing it alongside the others – I also will not be reviewing this one other than to say I found it useful or not.

– Visit at least 15 ROWers each week. This will include all the “2’s” on Sundays (my sponsor assignment) and as many others as I can get to. New opportunities and obligations have risen over the past month and all of them require time but know that I will endeavor to visit as many of you as possible. Be sure to support each other – it is truly what the journey is all about.

That’s it – simple, focused goals for me this round. Write. Read. Support. And – get to work on those new opportunities that I’ll talk about more once I can.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to An Alien Heat and ROW Launch

  1. You consistently rock the ROW Gene and are such an inspiration! I’m looking forward to your review of Memo. I added it to my to-buy list after it came up here on your blog but a few online line reviews gave me pause. All the best with your goals this round πŸ™‚

  2. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    Great review on “An Alien Heat.” Far out, man! I wonder why I’ve never heard of this book before. Best of luck with all your goals, Gene. It’s amazing how much you accomplish with everything on your plate!

  3. Great goals! And it reminds me I wanted to add reading WANA to my reading list!

  4. Marcia says:

    Keeping it simple and focused is something I’m aiming for, too. Good luck and see you in the ROWnd!

  5. Reetta Raitanen says:

    Wow, Alien Heat sounds like a wonderfully bizarre book. I’ve added it to my To Read List.
    Great ROW goals, and I can’t wait for the book reviews. All books on the list are really interesting.

  6. Em says:

    Your 7k of writing is awe inspiring, one day I will get there!! I look forward to seeing all your progress this round, here we go!!!

  7. Juliana Haygert says:

    As always, I know you’re gonna kick ROW’s ass this round too, Gene!
    Have fun!

  8. Stacy Green says:

    Alien Heat does sound really good, and as usual, your goals are inspiring. Good luck!

  9. fakesteph says:

    It’s great that visiting other Rowers is one your goals. If I post late, that looong linky can sometimes be overwhelming, but I think it’s important to visit other blogs. Good luck!

  10. authormarieandrews says:

    Way to go Gene – great job staying motivated and your goals are inspiring! I plan to do much better at visiting blogs to cheer on goal progress. You’ve inspired me to sign up as a sponsor for round three πŸ™‚ Hope you have a great week Gene!

  11. Gene, you are one of my greatest inspirations here at ROW80. I’m so glad you’re continuing to join us. Good luck with all your goals! Although you really don’t need the luck…you have the drive and self-discipline. πŸ™‚

  12. Love your simple goals for this round! I went for simplicity too. (It seems like a lot of us did LOL.) Annnd can’t wait to hear about these new opportunities – I bet it’s something fantastic! Your consistency really helps give a model to us that tend to flail πŸ˜€ so I always look forward to reading your check ins. Good luck with everything in this round!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Raelyn: Because reviews tend to be a bit subjective, I tend to trust my own instincts. True that not every much lauded wonder book is good, but I’ve never read one that was useless. Thanks for the support and I hope you enjoy Memo:)

      Lynn: Remember those psychedelic album covers from the 60’s and early 70’s – that is what this book reminded me of. Not a bad trip but an exceeding strange and evocative one. Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

      Alica: Awesome on the reading, glad to inspire. Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

      Marcia: I started my first round in ROW with 10 goals, every round that list has become smaller but my successes have become greater. There is a lesson in that – focused work stands a better chance. Have a great ROWnd!

      Reeta: An Alien Heat is a fun ride, devoured this book in two solid reads – it is just that cool. Enjoy πŸ™‚

      Em: Thanks much! I look forward to following along with you this round as well πŸ™‚

      Juliana: Thanks! I see you are back with us which is totally awesome – have a super round πŸ™‚

      Stacy: Thanks! An Alien Heat is the first book in a trilogy (found that out after I read it) and I’m planning to hunt down the other two for my future read list.

      Steph (fake and/or real): I really think that having others to share the writing journey with is the greatest thing about ROW and it is what got me in to begin with and keeps me in. Good luck to you this round as well πŸ™‚

      Marie: Woohoo! I know its a few months away but it will be great to have you as a sponsor in Round 3. Have a great week, month, round as well, Marie πŸ˜€

      Lauralynn: Aw, thanks! I’m glad to be along and hey, my weeks have all the chaos and trials one would expect; which is to say that I am inspired and motivated to press on by all of you as well. Don’t believe in luck but I do believe in the power of positive relationships and they are right here in ROW.

      Lauren: Four rounds have taught me that simple is best (see my note to Marcia above). Yep, the new opps are super awesome just not the time to share yet – but soon. Glad I can act as a bit of an anchor and like I said to Lauralynn, you all are one for me as well. Have a great round πŸ™‚

  13. Now I want to read Alien Heat. Sounds good. Of course, all your reads sound interesting. Great goals too. I plan to do a better job this round visiting and commenting, especially since I’m sponsoring again as well.

  14. Julie Glover says:

    7k — very nice. That may inspire me to make my own goal of 5k per week. We’ll see how this ROW80 goes! Best wishes.

  15. I am a newbie to Row80 and in awe of how much is here, and the support of the program. I have felt isolated and rushed on other writing challenges. This one has uplifted me. thank you for sharing this. btw, Moorcock is a favorite author from many years ago. Nice to be reintroduced!

I'd love to chat with you!

