The Tiger Warrior & ROWdate 2-5

Hi everyone! It was an incredible and intensely busy week, one goal completed, another added and one floating in limbo. But first – a review of the third book of my fiction goal.

Review of “The Tiger Warrior” by David Gibbins

What do you get when you mix a healthy dose of Indiana Jones with a side order of James Bond and place him on the trail of a mystery wrapped in history, myth, legend and archeology covering a quarter of the globe? You get an intense thrill ride from one of my new favorites, David Gibbins.

“The Tiger Warrior” centers on Jack Howard a world famous marine archeologist and his team as they hunt for the truth behind a cluster of loosely connected historical legends that Gibbins wraps together with precision and his own formidable resume. The lost burial chamber of the First Emperor of China surrounded by its army of Terracotta Warriors, roman legionnaires seeking treasure in the East after serving as prisoners of war, the mysticism and legend of the deep jungles of India, and a series of mysteries from the long history of the Silk Road combined with a brotherhood of killers bent on protecting the secrets of the past twist into a powerful page turner.

David Gibbins

Gibbins begins the book with a legend and presents the story from three different time periods, the distant past, the recent past and the present. Each time line is well-placed to give the reader a chance to bring together the entire tale and see where those in each time guessed correctly and where they missed the mark. The truth is often hidden by the perceptions of those seeking it more than by any other force and Gibbins shows how this concept applies in each time line leading to a thought provoking conclusion.

“The Tiger Warrior” is a fun ride, a vicarious adventure of epic proportions, that will keep you guessing to the end. Final thought: Full marks, highly recommended.

And now to this weeks ROW update.

-Write 7k of fiction. I wrote above the goal and now have a second series brewing as a result. I don’t typically do horror, but a discussion at the day job put a “zombie adventure” idea in my head and after exploring it through fiction for a few days I came up with an interesting concept. So, I may be doing a bit of zombiepocolypse writing in the future. I’m working out the lead for the Paranormal Archeologist and generating a list of possible mysteries for him to explore which is great fun (yeah, I’m a geek for history).

-Turn in WWBC material on time. Sigh, this one is still a bit stalled but I am making progress. I used a couple of my fiction sessions this week to explore the characters and world I have in mind. The search was fruitful and it helped me to lock in on precisely what I want to do so hopefully this will be moving to the next stage very soon. Wish me an epiphany *smile*

-30 minutes of Treadmill 5 times a week. First off, total success for the December-January challenge with Marcia A. Richards! And – I had a wonderful dinner and movie outing with my wife last night to celebrate. We went to see “Grey”, wow, what a ride that movie is, we loved it. Continuing forward, Marcia and I decided to press on with a February-March challenge. For me this means 48 walks in 60 days, so my goal is changing to “30 minutes of Treadmill 6 days a week”. For those of you that are interested in group support for your exercise goals, Marcia hosts #Hotwriterbods on Twitter and is a superb cheerleader. Stop in and say hi. Marcia’s Health Challenge.

-Read three fiction books during Round 1. Up above is the review for #3 which means this goal is completed. I’m recycling this one, here is the new goal: Read one craft and three fiction books by March 21st (45 days). Because I am rarely idle, I’m already 90 pages into Syd Field’s “Screenplay”, the craft book. The three fiction titles will be: “Lord of the Flies” by William Golding, “Mission of Gravity” by Hal Clement and “The Eight” by Katherine Neville.

-Keep up sponsor duties. I visited 27 ROWers last week and made a couple of new friends as a result. I look forward to visiting at least that many this week and as many more as time allows.

I hope your week was productive. Keep pressing for those goals, the future is waiting just a few steps ahead.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Tiger Warrior & ROWdate 2-5

  1. You’re doing an awesome job, ROWbro. I’m truly impressed. ~clink~

  2. I like the sound of your zombie horror project even know its not my thing, but sounds intriguing. Great work this week. Over 7k is a lot.

  3. Gene, great job this week, and thanks for giving your sage advice on my question about serialization. I also watched “The Grey” with my sister this week – it’s always inspiring for me as a short story writer to see full-length films that are based on short stories!

    Wishing you the best in your coming endeavors,

    Edward
    http://read-write-listen.blogspot.com

  4. Marcia says:

    You continue to amaze me, Gene! Your goals are challenging yet you always seem to meet them! You obviously know, well, what you are capable of accomplishing. Thrilled to have you as a partner again for the treadmill! I do wish you an epiphany–good luck with your projects and may they all be best-sellers!

  5. It feels as if a conspiracy is afloat to get me into a “get healthy, now!” goal.. and the thought of combining it with a group of other writers appeals to me. Hmmmm. Thanks for another nudge….

    Did I ever mention to you I played a Zombie Queen (in disguise as a school janitor) in a movie? My name was Grandma Betty & on the day with a lot of people on set I didn’t even mind being photographed with everyone and anyone for a day. It was sort of like walking around a mall as Santa… I made everyone point, smile and want to pose with me.

    Your posts are always inspiring, Gene. Fantabulous work all the way around….

  6. Em says:

    I am going to have to check out #hotwriterbods because my exercise goal seems to be the one I struggle to meet the most.
    Sounds like you have had a great week and it is exciting to be thinking up mysteries for your Paranormal Archeologist to get involved with. Thank you for your constant support and motivation. Have a great week!

  7. K.B. Owen says:

    Gene, you are a force of your own! Fabulous work on your goals. Where do you get the energy?! Good for you!

  8. Uh Gene, do you sleep? lol

    It sounds like you had an awesome week! Great reading, writing, and a wonderful evening with the wife. Can’t beat that!

    And you made the time to come by and encourage me. Thank you Gene. I really appreciated it! πŸ™‚

  9. Wow, sounds like a fantastic week! Way to go πŸ™‚ Best of luck for the upcoming week.

  10. Ali Dent says:

    You impress me, Gene. You set reasonable goals and you obviously work very hard. At the same time, you come across as steady and patient. How do you get so much accomplished in a week? When do you set aside time to visit 27 Rowers twice a week? I need advice.

  11. Okay, I read through your post, loved all of it, found it interest, but the thing that stood out the most is #Hotwriterbods. This just cracked me up. I really have to check that out on Twitter. I’m doing much better on exercise lately, so I should check out that challenge, too.

    You’ve been doing a great job on all your goals. Good luck for the rest of the week!

  12. Great review, I totally want to read The Tiger Warrior now, lol. Cheers and confetti at your accomplishments this week, you’re driven and as always, inspirational. I do believe that when we take good care of ourselves, everything else follows. So keep up that walking and I’ll definitely check out Marcia!

    Marie

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Yeah Super Bowl halftime!

      Kerry: Thanks, ROWbro πŸ™‚

      Nicole: Thanks. The zombie story has been fun to write, not sure I’m going to carry it forward for awhile though due to an already full schedule.

      Marcia: Yeah, most of last year was spent learning my limitations. I went way over quite a few times but have it pretty well defined now. Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

      Julie: Yes, it is a conspiracy to get you healthy *grin* I can totally see the Zombie Queen being fun to play, I bet you had a blast!

      Em: Definitely check out #hotwriterbods Anything that helps is a good thing and Marcia is a superb motivator. Can’t wait to get back into the Paranormal Archeo, writing the foundation draft for it was the most fun I’ve had this year.

      Kathy: Coffee. That is the key. Lots of coffee πŸ™‚

      Karen: It is rumored that I sleep, but one shouldn’t believe all the rumors they hear *grin* Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

      Raelyn: Thanks πŸ™‚

      Lauralynn: Yep, Marcia picked a fun name for it. There was a different hashtag originally but another group of people hijacked it. Personally, I like the current one better. Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

      Marie: Always great to see you *smile* The Tiger Warrior is fantastic. I’m going to be picking up the rest of Gibbins books (although it will take me into 2013 to read them all). I’m right with you on exercise. Health often equals productivity and loss of it is a surefire way to disaster. Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

  13. Jenny Hansen says:

    Dang, dude…48 walks in 60 days?? Are you gonna be at DFWCon so we can all admire your #HotWriterBod-ness? LOL.

    Great job on your goals. I cannot imagine writing more than 7K a week, although I guess I do that between fiction and posts. Hmmmm…

  14. Wow – fantastic week on all fronts. Total inspiration to get my butt in GEAR!
    BTW, loved the encouragement & tough love comments. Totally needed and totally appreciated!!! Here’s to kicking up the word count this week! πŸ™‚

  15. Lena Corazon says:

    Okay, definitely adding The Tiger Warrior to my TBR list — that’s definitely right up my alley.

    Sounds like you’re had a great week, and thanks for telling us about #hotwriterbods. Just added the column to my Tweetdeck.

    Have a fantastic week, Gene!

  16. Pingback: yadseuT elat llat sdrawkcab « Ellie Ann

  17. Catherine Johnson says:

    The Tiger Warrior sounds a bit like a James Rollins. I love forward to reading it, thanks Gene. 7K and all that walking, you must be #hotbodywriter of the week or something πŸ™‚

  18. Pingback: Blog Treasures 2-11 | Gene Lempp's Blog

I'd love to chat with you!

