ROWdate 1-8

Stardate 6047…

*the ship lurches forward*

“Scotty?”

“Sirry Cap’n just testin’ out the new engines.”

“I thought we agreed you wouldn’t do any more tests without asking me first.”

“But Cap’n she was reedy. Callin’ ta me I tell ya.”

“I’m sure, she, was. No more tests without approval. Wait…how come the stars look different? Computer. Location?”

“Deck Nine, hallway H, apartment..”

“No Computer. Location of the ship.”

beep. “Gamma Quadrant. Four parsecs from PlotMia.”

“Thank you computer.”

“I’m lonely. Please visit me.”

“Um, sure. Scotty. We didn’t move. Your little test just spun us in place.”

*cussing* “Musta switched tha inductor cables. Now where is tha bloody deagram?”

“Yeah. Get back to me on that. Captain out.”

Hi everyone!

No, the above is not an indication of my week which went very well. Here’s how things patterned out.

-Write 7k of fiction per week. I exceeded this. I’ve been taking a writing prompt each day and choosing one or two writing aspects (POV, dialogue, genre type, pacing, etc) to test out in the story. Practice, but fiction all the same and at least 4 of the stories have the potential to turn into longer, more detailed pieces. It is a ton of fun to just sit down and write for a couple of hours and explore. I came up with this idea while reading Dean Wesley Smith’s blog. If you aren’t familiar with him, follow the link once your done here and check out the tabs along the top. He provides a ton of resources and information for writers on craft, the writing life and production. The advice has been invaluable to me.

-Turn in WWBC assignments “on time”. I turned in my logline for the novel project on the 2nd and passed the first “gatekeeper”, my team leader Donna Newton yesterday. Still have to work out some things that the second gatekeeper thought could use a touch, but I’m confident in completing that today.

-Thirty minutes on the treadmill 5 days a week. I walked Tuesday through Saturday for five walks total and brought my 32 walks by January 31st total to 13. This is a challenge with ROWsis Marcia A. Richards and I get a peaceful dinner alone with my wife if I meet the goal. I am totally going to meet this goal (my wife is making sure I succeed *grin*).

-Read 1 Craft Book during the round. I’m on page 209 of Stephen King’s “On Writing” and should finish the book by Wednesday. I’ll be reviewing it here next Sunday. Stay tuned.

-Read 3 Fiction Books during the round. I’ll start these once I finish “On Writing”. I did pick out the three books, however. Starting with some “old school sci-fi” at first: Roger Zelazny’s “This Immortal” (Hugo award winner) and Poul Anderson’s “The High Crusade” (history and aliens how could I pass it up). The third book is more recent, David Gibbons “The Tiger Warrior” (Roman legionaries, shadow ops, history, archeology, all things I love). I’m planning to start This Immortal by the next update.

-Keep up sponsor duties. All good here and I’ll be stopping around to see the “2’s” (and others of course) throughout the day.

Hope you all had an awesome first week.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to ROWdate 1-8

  1. Nice week, ROWbro. It appears you’re off to a stellar start, Cap’n. πŸ˜‰

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Kerry: Thanks, Rowbro πŸ™‚

      Nicole: I supposed to read it last round. Glad I waited, more relaxed and able to enjoy/absorb it now then during the hectic end of the year.

      Rant: I spent my first six months or so online sifting through hundreds of blogs and think I’ve found an excellent group of people to follow. Glad you are finding them useful, makes the effort worthwhile πŸ™‚

      Stacy: Thanks!

      Prudence: You should be. I read your update as well. The inspiration is mutual πŸ™‚

      Myndi: My wife and I always have a good time when we get to go out kid free, nice to have them all be teens finally.

      Marcia: Awesome, go, go, go, we are so going to make this challenge work (what happened in December stays in December). I’ll give your hashtag a look next time I’m on Tweetdeck.

      Raelyn: Thanks!

      Rob: Yeah, she can be great motivation. I do enjoy sci-fi but it is the historical angle that catches me, alternate history writer and all, ya know.

      Thanks for the comments and support. You all mean the world to me πŸ˜€

  2. I’ll be checking back for your review on On Writing. I read it in the last round of ROW80.

  3. King’s book is one of my favorites on craft. In part because it’s as easy to read as a novel. That goes a long way towards me finishing it. I’ll be interested to see what you think. Glad to see you’re back, and I have to say, your Twitter feed is one of the most helpful I’ve stumbled upon. I’m new there and your links almost always take me somewhere that I end up staying a while for a good read through.

  4. Stacy Green says:

    Excellent week, Gene! 7K is an amazing number. Keep up the good work:)

  5. You rocked it this week. I’m inspired.

  6. Very nice, Gene! Hope you get that lovely date night with your wife!! πŸ™‚

  7. Marcia says:

    You always impress me with your progress, Gene! Holy cow, 7K! You hit the mark on all your goals. I wish you the same for next week. You’re doing great on the treadmill! You’ve got great motivation!
    On the health challenge, I’m up to 16 walks and I sure hope we make it to 32!
    I opened a new # for Twitter where everyone who wants in can meet. #2012healthchallenge.

  8. LOL, love your updates. It sounds like a stellar week! Best of luck for the upcoming week Gene.

  9. ronetw says:

    Excellent article we particularly like the motivation your wife is giving you… it certainly helps keep your focused (or not) ;)… going on the genre of books you read we’re assuming you love science fiction?? πŸ˜€

  10. Em says:

    Glad you have got off to a great start and I have to say I thought of you as I was walking last week (evening though my walking was in the cold and rain!). Have a great second week!

  11. What a great week you’ve had! Good job! And I love the Star Trek thing. Yes…I’m a Star Trek geek.

  12. K.B. Owen says:

    Wow, great progress, Gene! So are we assigned sponsors? How does that work?

  13. Great progress week one, Gene! I love the exercise challenge you have going. Accountability is key. Cardio can be a lonely sport. πŸ™‚ And, for me, On Writing is one of the best craft books out there. Looking forward to your review.

  14. Amanda Rudd says:

    Have I mentioned lately how much I love all your funny Star Trek references and parodies. Also, sounds like you had a great week! I’m jealous! And congrats!

  15. Jaleh says:

    Wow, you’ve had a great week. I finally wrote out my goals and got started. Hope you have another fabulous week with keeping up on your goals.

  16. Wow, do you sleep Gene? lol Silly me. Well I hope I can keep up with all of you. Whew!

    Prudence is right, Inspiring IS the right word! But I do hope you have a lovely evening with your wife. You deserve it after reading this check-in! πŸ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Em: Thanks and yeah, that’s why we have a treadmill, once the snow starts walking outside can get a bit surly πŸ™‚

      Lauralynn: Lots of us ST geeks out there. Glad you are enjoying the openings πŸ™‚

      Kathy: Thanks. No (on the sponsors)…WE are assigned based on the numbers from the Linky Tool. I, for instance, am the 2’s this round.

      Barbara: Cardio and writing are both lonely sports, and oh so worth it. Thanks for the support!

      Amanda: Glad you are enjoying the openings, thanks πŸ™‚

      Jaleh: Awesome, Jaleh! Glad to have you with. ROW is a fantastic way to stay focused and move the writing (or whatever you need to get focused on) forward.

      Karen: Yes, it is rumored I sleep. Rumored *grin* I’m sure my wife and I will have a grand time.

      Thanks for the lovely comments. Peace, friends πŸ™‚

  17. Callene Rapp says:

    Awesome, Gene and I love the new blog look. Very inspirational post and now I’m off to check out Dean Wesley Smith’s site! Thanks!

  18. Tia Bach says:

    Wow, great progress and love your goals. I just finished On Writing. It doesn’t give specific techniques, but it sure fired me up to sit my butt in the chair and write. Hope it did the same for you. Thanks for Dean W Smith’s blog suggestion… sounds informative, and I plan to check it out.

    Hope you are enjoying being a sponsor. I’m on my second sponsor gig and it only adds to the wonderful ROW80 experience.

    Here’s to another great week!

  19. Congrats on the 7K and using the daily writing prompt. I’m doing something similar and am finding it very useful as well. Been tracking you for a while now (sorry if that sounded stalkerish, um, meant through Kerry’s updates). Your comments and posts are inspiring. πŸ™‚

  20. Woot! You’re kicking ROW’s butt!
    Hope all the weeks to come are like this one πŸ˜‰

  21. Ah, adding reading to your list of goals! I knew I forgot something. πŸ™‚ Well, I’m glad to see everything is going so well for you! I’m looking forward to your review on “On Writing.” It’s been on my to-read list for longer than I care to admit.

  22. Wow, you have made great progress! Kudos to you! I love your optimism and I hope that everything continues to flourish for you. Great job…have a wonderful week!!! πŸ™‚

  23. Fantastic job this week Gene! Way to go πŸ™‚ Congrats on exceeding your word count goal…looks like you’re typing up a storm. Continued success this week, and every week. You’re inspirational! I’ll pop back in on Sunday *hugs*

    Marie

I'd love to chat with you!

