ROWdate 12-21

Hello everyone!

Well here we are at the end of ROW80 Round 4 2011. At the beginning of the year I was still shadow stalking the net and here at the end, a ROW sponsor and overwhelmed by the number of friends and accomplishments that have happened since the last drop of the New Years ball.

I have to give a shout-out to the person that really got me going in ROW80, my esteemed ROWbro, Kerry Meacham. Thanks, bro, without you I wouldn’t be writing this right now, nor would I have pushed so hard to come so far.

During Round 4, I pushed my way through a two months of NaNoWriMo, one in preparation and one in the actual writing. Success was there and it is an experience that I will never forget and from which I learned more than can be spoken or written. First, I found a personal passion for a different genre then I originally saw myself writing. Second, I discovered that I could push myself far beyond what I thought was possible given my schedule. Finally, and most importantly, I found a group of wonderfully supportive and dedicated fellow writers in ROW80 to which I will be eternally grateful. Thank you Lauren, Em and all the other sprinters. You are the best *smile*

The Round was not without its glitches, consistent exercise continues to allude me but I have been on the treadmill for the past two days, bringing me to 6 of 32 challenge walks with Marcia A. Richards completed. I’ll be continuing this challenge into Round 1 of 2012 and look forward to filling you in once we are rolling again.

I had quite a few requests from fellow ROWers to do a few posts on Scrivener and comparisons with similar writing platforms that I’ve used and will do so during the first part of Round 1. I designed my own novel template and am just starting to use it so in the near future I should be able to say what works and what doesn’t. Can’t wait to share it with all of you.

This (and my Designing from Bones post) will be the last ones for me in 2011. I’ll be taking the rest of year and New Years Day to assess goals for 2012, make some changes to the site and spend time with my family while the kids are on winter break. I wish you all happy holidays, may they be peaceful and filled with joy.

I’ll be back as a sponsor in Round 1 of 2012. See you on January 2nd, goals in hand and ready for another fantastic round of ROW80.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to ROWdate 12-21

  1. Congrats on your accomplishments. Happy holidays, and enjoy the short break.

  2. Gene, you have been a true inspiration to someone new this writing world. I’ve been so impressed with your dedication and perserverance. It inspires me to push harder and write more. I can’t say congratulations enough on all that you’ve accomplished and learned. Wow!
    Wishing you and yours a wonderful holiday season. Here’s to a fantastic 2012 and I’ll see you rocking around the ROW80!

  3. You’ve rocked the ROW! Way to go. And you’ve been extremely inspirational. See you in 2012.

    Hope you have a wonderful holiday!

  4. Stacy Green says:

    Great job on this round, Gene. Your dedication and organization have always impressed me, and you definitely deserve a break. Enjoy it!

  5. kerrymeacham says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, ROWbro. I’m here to tell you that you gave as good as you got, probably better. πŸ˜‰

    ROW80 is a great format for goal setting and encouragment/encouraging. I look forward to 2012. Enjoy your time off. ~clink~

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thank you all and happy holidays πŸ™‚

      Natalie: You always get me to smile. Thanks for being such a wonderfully positive person!

      See you all in 2012. Rock the ROW!

  6. Congrats, Gene! You certainly did a lot πŸ˜‰
    See you on the next round!
    Happy Holidays!

  7. amyshojai says:

    I’ve been SO pleased to meet you (and many others) this year and what you said–ditto! Although I’ve not been a ROW-er, reading your ROW-icity whilst you paddle along (or row along) has been entertaining, enlightening, and inspiring.

    Maybe I’ll jump in the boat in 2012 too, if’n I can find my floatation device. Enjoy your family holiday celebrations!

  8. Glad NaNo wsa so productive for you. Learning you have a new passion is so exciting and opens up so many new doors. Good luck in the new year, and I look forward to your Scrivener comparisons. I’m being such a fence sitter on this and I need to make a move to something, I just can’t make up my mind.

  9. Em says:

    Thanks for the sprinting shout out and your lovely comment over at my place.

    What a year it has been! Exercise WILL feature in my 2012 round 1 goals. You inspire me to do it and I know it needs to be done.

    Merry Christmas!

  10. You’ve come a long way, Gene! I look forward to seeing you in Round 1 2012.

    I’ve noticed that of all the goals being set in ROW80, the exercise goal seems to be the one where most of us fail. I’m going to try to change that next round!

  11. You did AMAZING this round Gene. I definitely gotta get more disciplined next year. Looking forward to your Scrivener posts. Thinking of buying it.

  12. Congrats on everything you accomplished this round! πŸ™‚ I’ll see you in the next round. Happy Holidays!

  13. Congrats, Gene!!! ROW80 has been brilliant for me. I’ve learned so much. Can’t wait to ROW80 some more in the new year.

    Love your new blog header and tag line!

  14. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Congrats on all the progress, Gene! It’s been fun writing with you and getting to know you.

    Have a great holiday season. See you again next year! πŸ™‚

  15. Tia Bach says:

    I’ve never used Scrivener but have been considering it, so I’m very much looking forward to your posts about it. ROW80 has brought me out of my shell, too, and I’m thrilled to be starting off 2012 with all my new writer buds.

    Wishing you the best of the holiday season and many blessings (and words!) in 2012.

  16. Congratulations on all your accomplishments. I bought scrivener, then decided to wait until the beginning of the year to give it a go. I’ll probably be joining you with the exercise goals for 2012. Merry Merry Christmas and happy writing in 2012

  17. What a great year you’ve had, Gene! You’ve also been very supportive and helpful through it all as well.

    Have a great holiday break. I’m looking forward to rowing along with you in 2012.

  18. Congrats on a phenomenal year. Isn’t it great to start the next one with momentum moving through your writing hands and your bloodstream? Looking forward to writing with you again in 2012!

I'd love to chat with you!

