ROWdate 12-11

Stardate, um, twelve, twelve, twelve, see owner’s manual. It’s in Ferengi, which no one reads, but we have figured out fixing the clock has something to do with latinum and earlobes. *cough* Regardless, I’m not entirely certain where we are. Allow me to explain.

Two weeks ago Confused Doctor’s Kid, upset over nearly being left behind on NaNoMia decided that the smart thing to do, because we all know how smart he is. Really. He tells us all the time. Anyway, he decided to get a little payback and eject the dilithium core. Of course, in his brilliance, he decided to do this manually, so as not to trigger alarms and his suit became attached to the core as it launched into space. Onboard cameras showed his expression as a mixture of surprise and rapture as he rode the core to glory.

The resulting explosion ruptured space time creating a temperal vortex that, minus the core, we were unable to resist. Onboard systems are damaged but the crew is working hard to repair the ship and determine where exactly we are.

“Scotty, any luck getting the engines functional?”

“Well yes, Cap’n. I’ve asked em nicely and invited em over fer tea. I’m sure they’ll be hummin along in no time.”

“I’ll take that as a no. Keep working on it.” *comm out*

Hello everyone πŸ™‚

As you can see, I’ve decided (due to popular demand) to continue with the Sunday Star Trekkian openings. Hope you enjoy them.

So, the week.

I spent most of the week gathering research, articles, maps, some deep scientific stuff that makes the brain want to sleep to escape and roamed the halls of history and myth. I think I have everything I need at this point and will be moving to stage two (compiling, characters and logline/core plot) this coming week. Total time investment of 27 hours since last Monday.

I used my NaNo discount and picked up Scrivener over the past week as well. Loving this program. Yes, I was using WriteWayPro. It worked fine. Scrivener is an upgrade and I love the overall functionality and ease of access between information (the inspector and split screen are awesome features). I’m also loving the corkboard which is a big improvement over the one in WWP. Got any Scrivener tips? Leave them in the comments, I’d love to know what you like the best and any tricks you’ve learned using the program.

No new changes to the blog this week. I’ve spent a few hours looking at every free theme on WordPress and some of them are bizarre have narrowed it down to the one I”m using, Fusion, or Twenty-ten. These two have many similarities with the primary point of divergence being the way the top of the page / banner area displays. In Fusion, my Gravatar blocks the view of the Milky Way in the banner picture (yep, its right behind my forehead. See it?). With Twenty-Ten, the banner is fully visible and the Gravatar shifts down to the top of an aligned side column. Still debating this as I only want to make one shift. Have an opinion? Let me know.

Walking went well, I’ve completed 4 of 32 walks in my 60-day treadmill challenge with Marcia Richards. She is a walk ahead of me at this point but I’ll be walking this afternoon so maybe I can tie things up.

How was your week? Got any Scrivener tips, tricks, favorite experiences? Have an opinion of choices of WordPress theme? I’d love to hear your thoughts *smile*

Be sure to get out and support each other. Rock the ROW!

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to ROWdate 12-11

  1. I’ve been using Scrivener for only over a month. Haven’t learned much yet, but I’m in love with it. The corkboard is perfect. No more index cards for me lol
    For my website/blog, I use wordpress too, but I paid for a template (Striking – $35, if I’m not mistaken).
    I see you’re keeping up qith your walks. Good for you!
    And 27 hours working on your new WIP is a great amount of time! Nice going!
    Hope next week is as good or better than the last one! Good luck!

  2. kerrymeacham says:

    Great job ROWbro! You’ve been kickin’ some major writing @$$. I’m doing this via iPhone, so I’ll just say, “You’re Rocking the ROW, bro!” πŸ˜‰ ~clink~

  3. Jenny says:

    Wow, you’ve been uber busy. 27 hours is a lot for research. I have heard Scrivener is very good but I’m a panster, not a plotter. I have some timelines written out and some character development guidelines in Word but I just write. I know a lot of peeps think I’m nuts but my brain is just not wired any other way.

    I use the Coraline theme in wordpress for my blog. It’s versatile, you can change headings, colors, layout. I find it to be very flexible depending on my needs. Maybe someday I’ll purchase my own (dot) com name and buy a different theme for my blog, but for now, this one seems to be working great.

    Keep up the walking. That’s great you’re doing that. it’s great for the mind and the body.

    Have a great Sunday and keep it up with the Star Trek openings. They are always entertaining.

  4. Stacy Green says:

    Love Scrivener for keeping things organized, especially scenes. My favorite part is being able to move things around and see how they work together.

    Great job this week!

  5. Great job with your goals!

    I just got Scrivener with the NaNo discount too. I’m still learning it but the feature I’m looking forward to using in revisions is the collections where I can have a collection for each POV character. You may want to check out http://gwenhernandez.wordpress.com/scrivener/ I think she uses the mac version but suspect most of the features work the same for the windows version.

    Best of luck with the upcoming week!

  6. I swear you all are going to make me buy Scrivener before I even try it. I have the trial version, but I’m too scared to start using it and loose my work. I know its silly. Maybe for WIP2 I will give it a go.

    27 hours is a lot of work! Yay Gene.

  7. Em says:

    27 hours of dedicated time is great, well done! I need to look into buying Scrivener with the winners discount….I enjoyed using it (apart from the losing the chapter situation and the messed up word counts) and I think any problems I had were due to the fact I only downloaded it just before NaNo and didn’t have time to learn how to use it.

    Great job with the walks too…exercise is defiantely going to be in my New Year goals!

  8. Marcia says:

    Time flies when you’re researching, doesn’t it? It’s great that you were able to get that much done…now you can get to the plottting and writing.
    Glad things are going well with your walking, too.
    Regarding themes, I originally used Twenty-Ten (Twenty-Eleven is the update for it). I liked it but wanted a slightly smaller header and a little more flexibility. I switched to Coraline and liked the layout and I think it had a few more features. Recently I bought a premium theme, Luscious, because I wanted a white text page over a customizable background. I also wanted, again, a slightly smaller header. The color pink was also one of my criteria, but I’m pretty sure it won’t be one of yours.:) It was frustrating to me to go through so many themes and then find that a couple days later there were a few new ones. With the free ones, you can change them anytime without disturbing your blogs. Not so with a premium theme, well you can but then you’ve wasted your money on the premium theme. Anyway, good luck with it.

  9. Wow – you are doing amazing Gene. Making tons of progress. I keep hearing about Scrivener and it’s amazingness! πŸ™‚ And woot woot on the walking. Keep up the great work.

  10. Gina says:

    hey gene – i plan on picking up scrivener too! glad it is working out for you. i’m waiting to learn it for the next project i start.

    good luck in the last 10 days!
    gina

  11. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Twenty-ten, like me. *g* Seriously, it has big advantages, since it’s so versatile. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it …

    Scrivener: I’ve been using it for a couple of years now, but I’m far from expert. When rewriting my last novel, I was incredibly grateful for the metadata and synopsis features. In the metadata, I redefined the labels for pov characters so that I could read threads by character for consistency and plot arc. In the synopsis, I kept track of all kinds of things like characters and places mentioned and passage of time. I printed it out separately and read through it for extraneous and/or repeated info. Invaluable.

    There’s so much you can do with Scrivener, I doubt if I will ever take advantage of all its features. πŸ™‚

    Have a great week!

  12. Jenny Hansen says:

    Hey there – I’m working on some Scrivener posts. I started using it during NaNo (before the dreaded pleurisy) and I LOVE IT.

    I use the Twenty Ten theme too (as does Writers In The Storm) and I love it. It’s very easy to customize and has 90% of the widgets I wanted. Some of those themes are seriously whacked. Designers on psychadelic drugs kind of templates (entertaining to look at but extremely hard to use).

    27 hours?? Dude, I bow to you. I’m on the slacker train still and loving it. πŸ™‚

  13. Kim Switzer says:

    Trying to think of something to say besides, “Wow, you’ve been getting a lot done!” You have, though, so way to go!

    I like how you count the planning and research in as part of your writing. This is a lesson I keep struggling with, feeling like I’m not really working on my book unless I’m writing scenes (even though I know that’s nonsense), so I love seeing others giving that important work its due.

    I like the theme you’re using, even if your forehead is covering the Milky Way. I like the image raising up and breaking the boxiness of the header.

    I’m going to work on my outlining now–thanks for the inspiration!

  14. Thanks for posting the link to my Scrivener page, Raelyn. I do use the Mac version, but the 1.x posts (bottom section) should be very similar to the Windows version. Good luck with your writing, ladies!

I'd love to chat with you!

