ROW80 Update 12-4

Hello everyone πŸ™‚

For those that like the Star Trekkian openings I’ve put them away for now but am sure that they or some other fun thing will pop up in the future.

NaNoWriMo is over, lessons learned and I thought I would share my top lesson with all of you. After 80k of writing (50 for NaNo, 30 in prep) I have discovered that I’m in the wrong genre. Well, partially, and at least for this project. I came at the storyline as epic science fiction because that is what has played in my head since I was a kid. Great idea right. Well, no.

The reason it didn’t work is simple. While epic science fiction may be the movie that plays in my head it isn’t my passion. History. Myth. Legend. Archaeology. Philosophy. Those are my passions. Took me 80k words to figure it out, but hey, can’t be quick every day.

I’ve tossed out all but the core of the NaNo project and am reworking it as an Alternate Earth/Alternate History story. For those that read my Wednesday Designing from Bones posts I’m sure you can see how this is more in line with my personal passions then epic sci-fi. As time goes, I’ll be sharing bits and pieces of this new journey, new lessons learned and cool things I run into.

The Goals

I’ve talked with my WWBC team leader, the fabulous Donna Newton, and she’s giving me time to reset. I put in 15-20 hours of research time since Wednesday gathering elements for the new story direction, historical aspects and where things can be “changed” (the heart of Alternate History) to create the story setting I know fits on an Alternate Earth. I’m hoping to compile all of this material and have a new logline by the end of the week.

I am participating in PlotWriMo and am up with the lessons for that one.

I’ve done the 1st of 32 treadmill walks for the Dec-Jan treadmill challenge that Marcia Richards and I are doing. The 2nd walk will be today. Wanted to do it yesterday and then spent 12 hours researching and lost track of the sun.

No more changes to the blog this week, between work, research and family I didn’t have many spare moments to work on it.

Hope your weeks were great ones and all the best for the one that awaits.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to ROW80 Update 12-4

  1. Gene! I’m so excited for your epiphany, of sorts.

    And I’m amazed that – rather than feeling discouraged, you are finding a way to make your new logline fit into your true passion for history. Fantastic.

    Are you SURE you won’t teach my 7th grader social studies? Your passion for history is positively contagious!

  2. amyshojai says:

    Been there, done that–it hurts like hell but is worthwhile in the end! That’s a brave thing to do. All the time spent and words written were needed to get you from herethere and the book will be better for it.

    Hang in there! Now you’ll be ready to roll!

  3. K.B. Owen says:

    You’re definitely looking at this the right way, Gene – sometimes it just takes “priming the pump.” You can’t use what comes out first, but it gets you to the stuff you’re looking for. After reading your blog all this while, the Alternate Earth approach just seems right (and fascinating, personally, to me – I’d love to read that. Ever read Jasper Fforde? I love his novels).

    Hang in there, and best of luck!

  4. Stacy Green says:

    Glad you were able to get things figured out. Big changes like this can hurt, but they are great in the long run. Writing about something you’re passionate about is a lot more fun, and you always wind up with a much better product.

    Good luck!

  5. Ryan King says:

    *sniffle* Kirk to enterprise, all Star Trek openings to beam up. *sniffle* That’s a hard lesson to learn but it’s good to know. Good luck πŸ™‚

  6. Amanda Rudd says:

    I am definitely going to miss the Star Trek openings. That always made me giggle.

    Congratulations on finishing NaNo! I can’t wait for an opportunity to read some of your story. I have no doubt its going to be awesome.

  7. Hey ROWbro, I was there a couple of months ago, as you well know. I’m glad you found your passion, and as with most epiphanies it seems obvious in retrospect *slaps forehead*.

    I’m excited for you, and keep Rocking The ROW.

  8. Marcia says:

    I think it’s it’s wonderful that you found out you need to switch genres in one month of writing rather than in spending a year trying to finish a novel you didn’t really like. Alternate earth is ‘you’ in my opinion, too. Now your writing will be more exciting and fun. Congrats on your discovery!
    You’re off to a great start on December…keep workin ‘it!

  9. alberta ross says:

    well changing now sounds good better than in six months time – and nothing is wasted -it maybe suprising how much of the spirit is kept – my nano changed a lot from 1st idea 20 years ago to reality in nov but I can still sense that first idea in there somewhere

    all the best for coming week

  10. Hmm, I’m also interested in History, Myth, Legend, Archaeology and Philosophy. Looking forward to hearing about your new project(s).

  11. Em says:

    I am so impressed you are taking this as a lesson learned and moving forwards on it straight away. Also glad you feel this is the right direction for you and I hope everything goes well for you this week. Keep up the good work!

  12. You definitely are better off writing what you’re passionate about. I think it’s good that you’ll be able to use the core of what you’ve already written and incorporate that into your new project. It’s not really like starting from scratch…but kind of. LOL

    Keep writing what you love! πŸ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      My thanks to all of you for the wonderful support. It was not an easy choice to make, shifting genres, but since doing so I have a love for this project that just wasn’t there at the beginning. Oh, I loved the concept, just not the way it was playing out. I’ve put in around 20 (or more) hours researching Alternate Earth ideas and things just keep leaping out of history wanting to be used. Like doing a wake for the spirits of the past and they are talkative. I look forward to sharing everything with you over the coming weeks, well everything I can anyway πŸ™‚

      I hope you all have excellent weeks πŸ™‚

  13. It’s all about channeling your passion. Definitely not an easy choice but a courageous one!

  14. That’s a really awesome step to take — it takes guts to realize a better route and work through cutting a bunch of your work.

  15. Jenny Hansen says:

    Gene, I am SO happy for you. Every person I’ve seen tap into their “down in the gut” passion have written books that make me stand up and dance. I can’t wait to see yours. I can already tell it will be awesome.

    Good for you for being brave enough to throw out writing that wasn’t working once you found the bonfire of your passion.

  16. Glad you had such a revelation!
    It took me two manuscripts (and about 3 or 4 half ones) to find out I was in the wrong genre too!
    At least, you got to learn with those 80k words! Writing is never wasted πŸ˜‰
    Good luck with your new goals πŸ˜‰

  17. I too am sad about the missing Star Trek openings, but I suppose I’ll live LOL. Awesome that you figured out the genre issue during Nano. It’s funny how one month of intensity can help you figure out things that may have otherwise taken months or years. It’s definitely one of the reasons that I am now in love with Nano for all writers, but especially new ones.

    I love all your interests too and have been seeing your tweets go by with amazing blog topics to check out. I haven’t yet because I know if I do, I’ll be lost in them for days. Reading all the amazing blogs and articles out there is something I need to figure out how to keep up with. I’m not quite sure how you do it!

    Have a wonderful week of reorganization!!

  18. Kim Switzer says:

    Glad to hear you’ve figured out what genre your story is going to be in. Sorry you had to do *so* much writing to get to that point, but I think figuring it out is a victory overall. And perhaps some of what you wrote will morph and filter its way into the novel after all. Congratulations!

    Thank you for your comment and encouragement on my blog. I’m a little (more than a little) nervous as I move into the uncharted territory of actually continuing my writing past November and finishing a novel length work, so the nice thoughts are greatly appreciated.

  19. Very excited about your new direction, Gene, because you have a true talent for making archaeology, myth and legend exciting and accessible. I know you’ll succeed!

I'd love to chat with you!

