ROWdate 11-20

“Stardate. Some ridiculously long number no one will remember. Well, that one guy will but he still lives in his mom’s attic. Scotty and the away team have made contact with an alien race of saber tooth chipmunks. I’ve sent Councilor Helen and Security Guy number six to assist the team with first contact. Councilor have you been able to communicate with the Munkians?”

“Well, Captain, I brought a bag of Beta-Troy nuts and things seemed to be going well until they ate them. They are just sitting there staring at each other. I can’t sense any emotion.”

“Wait. Did you say Beta-Troy nuts?”

“Yes.”

Brainy Annoying Vulcan, “Aren’t those the same nuts that provided your species with telepathic powers?”

“Well, yes, but it shouldn’t…”

Confused Doctors Kid, “Hey, guys, like, why are the Munkians all starring at Security Guy Six?”

Councilor Helen, “SG6 what are you thinking about.”

Security Guy Six, “Chipmunks killed my puppy. I hate chipmunks.”

“It wasn’t a real puppy, just a peanut sculpture…”

*angry chipmunks squeaks and screaming*

Scotty, “Beam us out Cap’n! The Munkians are trying to eat Security Guy Six!”

Councilor Helen, “Fascinating, the Munkians emotions are, well, exuberant. Hurry Captain, SG6 is going to need therapy and I can’t wait to get started.”

*smile* Hi everyone.

For those of us in NaNo it is day 20 and I’d bet most would be happy to have a little therapy or may be feeling like a life-sized peanut sculpture. Chocolate, anyone? Goes great with nuts. Just sayin’.

Well last week was a swirling chaotic blur but that is not a bad thing. Actually, for me, that might be the norm. So, here is how I did on my goals.

The NaNo project is moving along nicely and taking some interesting turns. I’m actually looking forward to December when I can dig into what I’ve written and harvest some of the cool character and plot ideas that have come out of this draft. I’m planning to do PlotWriMo or at least follow along in December which I think will assist with this. Oh yeah, word count. I was at 27,259 on Wednesday and am now at 34,874 or a little over 7600 words added. I would have liked more but as mentioned, chaotic blur.

I haven’t had a chance to do anything with the Blogging class other then start looking into some potential upgrades to my site. Banner. Buttons. You know, spruce things up a bit. I’m planning to make adjustments in December. Any suggestions?

The treadmill walks are going well. Missed putting out an accountability tweet yesterday (I wasn’t at my computer for most of the day) but the week was a success. I mentioned on Wednesday that Marcia Richards and I are going to be doing a “treadmill challenge” starting in December. Here are the details. We each have very busy schedules and decided that we would run a 60-day challenge. Each of us picked a number of days on which we would do a 30-minute walk (32 times for each) which averages to 4 walks a week. However, as long as the walks are done during the 60 days it doesn’t matter if we walk seven times one week or one time. In addition to this, we each have chosen one incentive bonus prize that we can award ourselves if we exceed our number of challenge walks during the 60 days. Mine is going out to dinner with my wife, no kids, no calls. Bliss.

That’s it for this update. How was your week?

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to ROWdate 11-20

  1. kerrymeacham says:

    Good job, Gene. I hope you and yours have a great Thanksgiving holiday. Saber tooth chipmunks? Nice touch, ROWbro. ~clink~

  2. Have a Happy Thanksgiving! And good word count. I am right about 34K also, although I hope to add about 2K today. All my NaNo buddies are doing great! Maybe we’ll have some winners in our midst!

  3. Stacy Green says:

    Great job, Gene. Your word count is awesome, and I’m totally jealous. Have a great Thanksgiving!

  4. alberta ross says:

    please reassure me those sabre tooth chipmunks will be a story- really!!!:) good work on nano and blurs can be quite exciting sometimes! Not sure about the walking buisness although you stir some guillt in the recesses of my brain – all the best for the coming week

  5. Oh I laughed so hard at those chipmunks!! Boyfriend has started calling me “mad scientist cyclone.” Not very flattering, but at least it’s something lol. What on earth is PlotWriMo?? I have a feeling I’m going to need it πŸ˜€

    You’re doing great with words and treadmilling!! I am a huge fan of rewards to help change habits…I know you’ll get that kid-less, call-less dinner. Keep it up and see you at some point for sprints this week!

  6. Lena Corazon says:

    I am cracking up over these killer sabre tooth chipmunks — fantastic! Glad to hear that things are going well, if chaotic (and honestly, when are they not chaotic?). Have a wonderful holiday week!

  7. K.B. Owen says:

    Hmm…those chipmunks. IDK, maybe cut back on the caffeine a bit, lol. πŸ™‚ Great progress, Gene!

  8. LOL, love your opening. Completely appeals to my inner geek πŸ™‚ Great job with your goals. Best of luck with the upcoming week.

  9. Em says:

    Great check-in and I am glad thing are going so well for you! I echo Lauren by asking what is plotwrimo? Sounds interesting!

    Keep up the good work and I hope to sprint with you soon even though each time so far you have left me coughing in your dust!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Glad everyone enjoyed the chipmunks and no they aren’t a part of my NaNo project, but, they are targeted to be part of another project I have brewing in the wings (we all have a few of those I bet) πŸ™‚

      Kerry: Thanks, ROWbro. You have a great Thanksgiving as well.

      Nadja: Hopefully quite a few winners and I’m sure you’ll be one of them.

      Stacy: Thanks! Hope your Thanksgiving is good as well.

      Alberta: Answered above. Guilt is a great motivator is it not πŸ™‚

      Lauren: Mad Scientist Cyclone, love it! I’ll drop a link to PlotWriMo on your site comments and say more about it in next weeks update.

      Lena: Spoken like a fellow denizen from the eye of the chaos storm. Have a great holiday πŸ™‚

      Kathy: No. I love the caffeine. You can’t have it *grins and grips his coffee mug tighter*

      Raelyn: Glad you are diggin’ the Trekish opening. Fun to write them.

      Em: I may get you in sprints but you are still way ahead of me. Plotwrimo, see Lauren’s response, same. Love sprinting with you, Lauren and the rest. Most of the days I was with you that was my only writing time. You all rock πŸ™‚

  10. Wendy says:

    Very good check-in. Sounds like a perfectly reasonable prize to reach for. Thanks so much for your support with the word sprints. They have been such a life saver. I wouldn’t mind keeping those up even after NaNoWriMo. i admire your time with the treadmill. I’m horrible about exercising. I use the excuse that I vacuum everyday, carry loads of laundry up and down the stairs all day, and chase a nuclear powered kitten who thinks he can steal anything that’s not tied down. But regular work out schedules are very beneficial. You’re making me look bad πŸ™‚

  11. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    I love the telepathic chipmunks! You’re kicking butt on NaNo. Very impressive. Mine is slow going. I can see why your weeks are a blur, but you’re accomplishing so much, so blurs are good, right?

  12. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Great chipmunks, Gene. πŸ™‚

    Congratulations on your progress on the novel, and thanks for the Plotwrimo mention. I’ll give it a look.

    Have a great week and great holidays!

  13. Nellie says:

    Woot, woot! You can do it.

    And everyone seems to have a better exercise regime as me. I really need to work on that. πŸ˜€

  14. Actually, I like the layout of your blog — very clean and easy to find things. No suggestions from me! I like the treadmill challenge though, what a good idea. I’ll be watching from the sidelines of course…

  15. Catherine Johnson says:

    For a minute I thought that might be an exert from your NaNo writing πŸ™‚ Love it! Rachelle Gardner has a #30minutesaday hashtag at the moment you could use that. I’d laugh if I got the hashtag wrong, can you tell I don’t use it? πŸ™‚

  16. Tia Bach says:

    Great update! I joke that crazy is my new normal. πŸ˜‰ Sounds like NaNo is going well. Looking forward to seeing your check in tomorrow and just how close you are to 50K. I think December will be rewarding for all you NaNoers, because you’ll get to start shaping the blur of words. But nobody would blame you for waiting until January, either.

    Cheering for you!

I'd love to chat with you!

