ROWdate 11-13

“Captains Log. Stardate umm, wait, you mean this advanced computer doesn’t come with a time stamp,” grumbles unintelligible words,” Stardate today,” grins,”we have successfully navigated the debris field of plot points and dangerous twists. We are unsure how the destruction happened. I’ve sent Scotty to the surface with an away team to investigate an alien technology that might hold a clue.”

“Scotty, have you reached the NaNoMia device?”

“Yes, Captain. Brainy annoying Vulcan and the confused doctor’s kid are working on it now.”

Confused Doctor’s Kid, “Take that Vulcan scum. See how you like a logic bomb.”

“Can’t. Keep. It. Together. Thoughts. Blurring,” Vulcan swearing.

“Captain I do’na think we can hold it together much longer.”

“What the heck are you talking about Scotty? The device wasn’t even active.”

“Well, Capt’n we plugged it in and then this game loaded…”

Hello *smile*

As you can see, things have gotten a bit strange, but that is a good thing. The plot explosion has cleared and I’m now roaming the hills of NaNoMia causing havoc for my characters.

I’m currently at 22271 words on the NaNo project, which means I added 14,351 since last Sunday. Kerry and Jami and I are doing another sprint this morning and I’m hoping to be at or near 25k by the end of the day. The midpoint is like the peak of a mountain, everything on the other side is easy and carefree. Right?

Kristen’s Blogging class is steaming along nicely with suggestions for my blog tagline. I am currently using Unearthing the Future. Two others that have potential are Unearthing the Futurescape and Future, Philosophy and…Oh Squirrel! Not sure what I will end up with yet. Any thoughts?

The blessed treadmill was finally freed from its appliance prison last night and I will be walking later today. I did squeeze in exercise at a few points this week, if you count rearranging major appliances as exercise. Ever bench press a washer? Just kidding, but I did get out of my chair on occasion and move around. New week. Back to action. Watch for the #ROW80 Accountability tweet later today.

How has your week been? I hope to get around and visit as many of you as I can today. Have an awesome week.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to ROWdate 11-13

  1. kerrymeacham says:

    LOL – Love the Star Trek intros there, Gene. I’m glad your appliance situation has been taken care of. Keep Rocking The ROW, bro. 😉

  2. Laura Drake says:

    Wow Gene, you’re cranking! I’m not doing NaNo, ou’re making me feel guilty enough about blog surfing to get back my recalcitrant chapter.

    I’m going in – wish me luck!

    Hope you have a productive week.

  3. catemorgan says:

    Confused Doctor’s Kid: “Waitaminute. Why am I wearing a red shirt?”

    *snicker* Thanks, that’s just what I needed this morning until the copious amounts of caffeine kicks in.

    That’s alotta words down, sir. Keep it up, and good luck on eradicating the red-shirt wearing goals this week!

  4. Em says:

    I have to say I like Unearthing the Future. Don’t know why, I just do!

    Well done with the word count and glad things are clearer. Keep up the good work!

  5. Katy Bennett says:

    Sounds like you’re in charge of nano even if it does get rocky. Hopefully that’s the end of the appliance take over. Best of luck for the week.

  6. alberta ross says:

    well done on nano – and getting appliance ready bench pressing a washer tickled my sense of humour:)
    I quite liked unearthing the future i do like mixed time zones and periods – flexibilty is all in time

    all best for coming week

  7. Congrats on your many words! I like your current tag line and ‘Unearthing the Futurescape,’ which seems to encompass your novel genre.

    I hope your walking goes well. The great thing about treadmills at home: TV! 😉

  8. K.B. Owen says:

    Woot, Gene, way to go on the word count!

  9. Marcia says:

    I like Designing from bones, but if you feel you must change it, I suppose Unearthing the Future is better than the others. Though I think your current tagline makes more sense and ‘bones’ makes me think of the bones of the story that need to be fleshed out.

    Good job on the word count! I’m off my ROW80 daily word count for the WIP and using it for my blogs. Trying to blog ahead to early January by the end of the month so I can spend all of December writing and focusing on my stories.

  10. Your word count is fantastic! Wow…seriously kicking butt!
    I love love love Unearthing the Future. So you!
    And I dig the Star Trek intros. RIOT!

  11. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    I love the Star Trek opening! You’re really cranking out that novel and I’m in awe! Plus keeping up with the Blog Treasures posts, too, and Designing from Bones, I’m wondering if you’re really human or an alien with super powers! Well, bench pressing a washer, I’d say alien with super powers! Haha! Good going, Gene. By the way, I LOVE your current log line.

  12. amy kennedy says:

    I’m still laughing from your opening gambit! I bow down to your nano word count, love “unearthing the future,” and yes, I have bench pressed a washer. My husband always uses me as his “moving ridiculously heavy objects buddy.”

  13. Debra Kristi says:

    I can’t stress enough how much I love the Star Trek opening. You hooked me and drew me right in! Congratulations on the word count. That’s fantastic! And I really like the log line a lot! Things are looking good for you.

  14. Nellie says:

    Congrats on getting your goals!

  15. Fabulous job on your word count. Have a productive and fun week ahead!

I'd love to chat with you!

