ROWdate 10-19

Welcome everyone!

I’ve been buried in NaNo preparation the last two days and there is progress and reversals and more progress and much banging of the head on my desk (not literally, of course, I like my head).

Overall I think I am finding my pace with this project and still hopeful that I’ll have something resembling an outline ready by November 1st. My greatest enemy is perfection, yep, I’m one of those cursed people that loves having things right the first time and you all know that never happens in writing. So, I’m just putting together what I have, which I think is considerable given that I’ve only been working on this for 18 days and let the chips fall where they may.In the end, I’ll have a solid vision of this story by the end of November, and know what will and won’t work for it.

Looking to the long road, December will be assessment and re-outlining followed by a January-February rewrite. Yes, that’s right, NaNo hasn’t started yet and I’m already planned for re-writes.

I’m caught up on my lessons for Kristen Lamb’s Blogging for Brand class. Tons of great information there, by the way.

I did my first walk on the treadmill in about a month and a half on Sunday. Felt good and yes I tweeted it on #ROW80. Every time I walk I’ll be putting out a tweet that says #ROW80 Accountability: I just walked for x minutes and x distance. Or something similar. Next walk will be this afternoon so watch for the tweet. I know my awesome ROWbro Kerry is doing the same thing.

Thanks to everyone that commented, left suggestions, war stories and generally threatened to keep us accountable on Sunday. Your friendship is invaluable *smile*

Hope all of you are having a great week! Oh, and, *teaser* there will be kitten pics on Sunday.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to ROWdate 10-19

  1. Lena Corazon says:

    Loving the Star Trek-esque dates, Gene, and I glad to hear that (reversals and head-banging aside) the NaNo outlining process is coming along. I hear you on that long-view projection — I’ve been planning time for edits and rewrites of both my August NaNo piece (that’ll be December’s project) and the upcoming WIP (January/February). It’s good to keep the big picture in mind.

    I’ll be looking forward to your accountability tweets (great idea, BTW), and I’ll be especially looking forward to the kitten pics. KITTENS!

    Have a great rest of the week!

  2. HI Gene, I’m with Lena in waiting for the kitty pics. πŸ™‚

    Sounds like you have a great handle on what you need to do for NaNo to make the time and work count, including how you’ll handle revision on the back end. Good stuff and something to learn from. Good luck the rest of the week!

  3. Good stuff ROWbro. It sounds like you’re well on your way with the NaNo outline. Looking good on the exercise front, too. Keep it going, and I’m off to do my check-in now. ~clink~

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Lena: You always inspire me back, much appreciated. There is a part of me that wishes it was Nov 1 already so I could just sit back and write. Kittens are cool aren’t they πŸ™‚

      Barbara: Time is too precious to not plan. I’m happy to invest a month writing (looking forward to it in fact) but I want it to be more then just a pile of words I cram in my drawer. Kitty pics Sunday. Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚

      Kerry: Probably not as far along on the NaNo Prep as you are but I’m learning as I go. ~clink~

  4. Hartford says:

    Doing great Gene! You should very well prepared for NaNo and I think you’ll come out very pleased. Stick with it. And woot woot on the exercise. I walked the dog Monday AND Tuesday this week (yeahhh…) so I am super pumped. It’s HARD to stay committed to that goal so we gotta take our WINS where we can. I think the accountability tweet will do wonders at motivating you.
    And KITTENS…did you say KITTENS?!?!?!?! I can’t WAIT!! Wahoooooo….

  5. Glad to hear you’ve been hitting that treadmill! I don’t know about you, but I resist exercising even though I feel great after doing it! No matter, my brain still needs ‘convincing’ each time I contemplate exercising again. Can’t explain it…

    Great planning on your NaNo novel. That’s terrific. I’m in a similiar place there. If I have a complete outline, I’ll join up. Today is a NaNo prep day for me…so I’d better get busy. Oh! Don’t forget to check out the link back to your Designing From Bones series I put up today. Really, Gene, this is one of my favorite reads. Keep up the great series!

  6. K.B. Owen says:

    Nice work, Gene! I am a perfectionist like you, and the first draft is the hardest for me to write. It’s easy to freeze up when you’re expecting to get it right the first time. Letting go is a journey as well as a skill, isn’t it?

    Keep plugging away!

  7. “I’m one of those cursed people that loves having things right the first time” … I’m right there with you! And that’s why I’m so nervous about Nano hehe
    Anyway, you’re doing great! Congrats on exercising too … it’s really important, not just to keep fit, but to vent and let the mind wander πŸ˜‰
    Keep it up!

  8. Wait, wait wait. So you’re doing ROW80, NaNo, a blogging class, excersizing, taking care of kittens, and i’m sure your reading and probably getting a few hours of sleep at night too. I think we need a post on how you organize everything. πŸ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Natalie: Thanks and great job getting your pup to help out with the exercise. Pretty sure I’ll be fine for NaNo (keeps repeating it *lol*). Kitty pics Sunday πŸ™‚

      Nadja: Best of luck getting the outline done, would be great to see you in NaNo. I’ll be sure to check the link out.

      Kathy: Thanks. The first draft (and sometimes just working out the concept in a plausible manner) are the hardest things for me. Once I have a framework and time to get to know the characters then I find the process flows better for me.

      Juliana: Glad to know I’m not alone on this one (was pretty sure I wasn’t). Thanks for the encouragement.

      Nicole : PLUS I have three teenage daughters all with different schedules. I sleep between 4-5 hours a day and I wish I was organized but honestly with the number of variables that can affect the outcome of my day it is hard to set anything in stone. I’ll have to consider a post for this at some point in the future.

  9. Ooh, Kittens πŸ™‚

    You’re prep sounds like it’s going well, even if you’re taking steps backwards, as long as overall you’re going forward you’re doing well.

    This is the 3rd blog I’ve read today about NaNo prep – I’m worried I haven’t done any, and am focusing on another project. Eek!

  10. Katy Bennett says:

    Hi Gene sounds like you’ve got everything under control, I think I’d spend all my time cooing over the new kittens. Good job on getting back on the treadmill.

  11. Matt says:

    I banged my head on a desk once. It didn’t do any permanent damage that I’m aware of.

    That whole perfectionist thing? Exactly why I’ve steered clear of NaNo. It’s like putting a square writing peg into a circular writing hole for me. Metaphorically speaking, of course. Props to you for giving it a go. Best of luck turning down that stupid, annoying little voice… which reminds me…

    I banged my head on a desk once. It didn’t do any permanent damage that I’m aware of.

  12. Stacy Green says:

    Great work, Gene! Glad to hear the Nano process is going well. And yay for getting back on the treadmill – that’s always tough.

    Waiting anxiously for kitten pics!

  13. Em says:

    I wish you could do my NaNo prep for me!!!! You seem to know exactly how to get what you need to get done, done! I guess I am still learning, I just hope that on the 1st of November I know where to start!

    Glad you are having such a great week and keep up all the good work!

  14. Way to go on the outline, Gene! I can definitely empathize. I’m a ‘recovering perfectionist’. lol

    Glad to hear that you’re hitting the treadmill. I ought to add a goal of the sort, myself, but… Maybe next go around.

    Keep up the great work!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Newtowriting: Sometimes the best way forward is by going back to a path we missed. Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

      Katy: Thanks!

      Matt: LOL, love the comment! Lots of us perfectionist, recovering perfectionist types out there and I can understand now why NaNo is such a challenge for us.

      Stacy: Thanks! Kitten pics on Sunday, just got a couple of new ones today.

      Em: Check out Alexandra Sokoloff (links on my last Blog Treasures). Her series is the best for plotting rapidly that I have found. Also, Jody Hedlund has a great post up on Jen Hansen’s site that is super helpful.

      Dawn: Thanks from one recovering perfectionist to another. Thanks for the support πŸ™‚

  15. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Good for you on planning beyond Nano! That’s never the end, at least not for those of us who aren’t Jack Kerouac — and of course his legendary three weeks weren’t the end either, that’s just a lovely literary myth. πŸ™‚

    Have a great rest of the week!

  16. Yeah, the headbanging thing kind of hurts. Virtually not so much. *grin* Glad to hear the nano planning is going well. I’m doing the same thing. Keep on hitting that treadmill. Feels good after a awhile and your body will miss it when you don’t do it. Speaking of which, that’s where I’m heading off too in a couple minutes.

  17. I also tangle with the perfection monster! But first drafts will always be at least a little rough, there’s no way around with it. Sounds like you’re doing great on your goals!

  18. deniz says:

    Sounds like you’re doing great! So many of us seem to be participating in NaNo this year – will the blog world be silent or will we all blog about the dreaded middle of the novel? πŸ™‚

I'd love to chat with you!

