Blog Treasures 10-15

Welcome to Blog Treasures, my weekly roundup of the best of the blogsphere from the last week. I’m working hard, gearing up for NaNoWriMo, so for you NaNoites I’ve added a section of links just for you (although the writing advice contained in them applies to all writers). Enjoy the links!

Featured

NaNoWriMo Prep: Story Structure 101 by Alexandra Sokoloff. This one will get you started but her site is full of useful information for all writers. Great Stuff!

NaNo Fever

NaNoWriMo Resources by WriMoFTW (tons of links to NaNo information here).

Nail Your NaNoWriMo #9 by Larry Brooks (there are 15 tips in this series currently, links to the others can be found midway down the side column).

NaNoWriMo Writers Wanted: Kids and Teachers may apply by Cate Woods

Bran Flakes and Two Magna Carta’s (great NaNo advice here) by K. B. Owens

On Publishing and Social Media

Ebooks in Europe: The Game Really is Afoot by Eoin Purcell.

On Group Blogging by Elizabeth S. Craig

Are Writers Without Business Sense Doomed? by Jami Gold.

The Sustainability of an Indie Author – Will Self-Publishers Survive? by Bob Mayer

Introduction to Self-Publishing Options by Jen Talty

Upping Your Self-Publishing Game by Kait Nolan

Return on Investment Cannot be Measured in Revenue by Dan Blank

Should You get a Kindle if You are a Book-Lover? by Aliventures

On Craft

The Bookshelf Muse: Worry Wort; Dusk.

Structure Part 2: Plot Problems by Kristen Lamb

You spin me round: Making Cliches Work For You by Janice Hardy

Social Issues in Christian Fiction by Jeannie Campbell (The Character Therapist)

On the Writing Life

2 Misconceptions of New Writers by Roz Morris

Advice for Aspiring Authors from Susan M. Toy by Carrie Mumford

Are Writers more like Painters or Photographers? by my ROWbro Kerry Meacham (While your visiting Kerry be sure to check out the Roman Candle Dog video!)

Got Blog Fatigue? by Sonia G. Medeiros (Great post!)

Another Cyber Sucker Punch! by Lynn Kelley

How to Write a Query by Janice Hardy

Blog Killers: They Don’t Care About You by Pat Thunstrom

Fun Posts!

If you’ve ever wondered about my connection to the Squirrel Kingdom, I guest posted on the fabulous Clay Morgan’s site this week with Agents of the Squirrel Nation.

Cabinet of Curiosities by Mary Jo Gibson. Be sure to check out the Enchanted Landscapes, great visuals to inspire stories!

Anthony Blunt – The Chicken or the Egg of the Cambridge Forty (Part 1) by Holmes (via Piper Bayard) AND Anthony Blunt – The Egg of Unknown Origin (Part 2).

Household Hacks (that make life easier) by Catie Rhodes.

Pet Books, Webinars and Hallo-ween by Amy Shojai (the creepy two-faced cat pic is well worth the look)

Butterfingers, Faeries and Demon Cats (now there is a combo worth seeing) by Shea MacLeod

The Zombies are Coming (be sure to vote in the uber cool poll) by Sonia G. Medeiros

Hilarious post from Leanne Shirtliffe the Ironic Mom: Children in Cages!

Spooky Spiderweb Cake! (cool recipe) by Kate Woods, author.

The Guilty Pleasures of Autumn (awesome photography, relaxing) by Jess Witkins

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Blog Treasures 10-15

  1. Piper Bayard says:

    Thank you, Gene. Honored. And as always, a spectacular mashup. 🙂

  2. amyshojai says:

    Terrific group–thanks for the mention, Gene. Did I ever tell you my twin brother is named Gene? *s*

  3. K.B. Owen says:

    I always enjoy your mash-ups, Gene! You and Jenny Hansen make my Saturdays fun! I’ll have to try that cake…

  4. Jami Gold says:

    Thanks for the link, Gene! And oh, I see you updated your blogroll for “honorary ROWsis.” LOL! Yay!

  5. eritta says:

    Great list! I’m working my way through slowly.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Piper: Very welcome and thanks for the compliment!

      Amy: I’m sure your twin is a super guy, like all Gene’s 🙂

      Kathy: Mmmm, you said cake! Glad you are enjoying the links.

      Jami: Yep, you are official and stuff now. Updated it in last night 🙂

      Eritta: Thanks and hope you enjoy the links. Lots of great posts this week!

  6. Whoa, Gene! This is a BIG one. So many GREAT links. With all the Nano stuff, I feel like I should say, “Na No Na No Boo Boo.” Okay, so I need more coffee…..

  7. I’m sitting here slumped over my laptop with a persistent sinus infection. Thanks for cheering me up with a great mash-up and the linky love. 🙂

  8. Catie Rhodes says:

    Thanks for the mention. I had missed your post on Clay Morgan’s blog so I’m off to check that out. 😀

  9. Thank you for teaching me a thing or seven today. I missed Catie’s post. I’ll have to check that out! See how it all works out. There is definitely a cosmic balance in the blogosphere. 😉

  10. Thanks for the shout out, Gene, great mash-up!

  11. Great mashup, as always. Thanks for the double mention.

  12. carrie m says:

    I always look forward to your list, Gene – it goes so well with a cup of coffee 🙂 Thank you for including my post!

  13. Great as always–love when Nano comes around because it is such a great way to collect new links. Thanks for putting this together, and for the mention! Have a great week!

    Angela @ The Bookshelf Muse

  14. Jess Witkins says:

    Ooooh one awesome blog mashup! Thanks for including me in it. I’m definitely checking into the nano posts I’m gearing up too. The newly formed Bravo team on WWBC should really force me into hyper gear. How about you?

  15. Thanks, Gene! Fantastic roundup and I’m honored to be included.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Alexandra: The honor is all mine, your site has been an extremely valuable resource to me during NaNo prep. I ended up reading most of your site (with the rest being read this week). All the best to you!

  16. Thanks for the mention – as always, Gene!

  17. Hartford says:

    Fantastic line-up – off to check em’ out. Thanks for taking the time to pull them all together in one place!

  18. A mega mashup! Superb!! Thank you so much for including me.

  19. Super list, as always, Gene! A treasure in itself. 🙂

  20. Pingback: Writing Tips And Advice|Writing Tips|Writers Hangout|top 10 fantasy books|top 10 censored books|internet censorship

I'd love to chat with you!

