ROWdate 10-9

Welcome!

*laughs* Thought I would try ROWdate for a title, has a Star Trekkian feel to it (one of my fav shows and no I’m not going to debate the merits of the various series. Next Gen was the best. There, now you know.)

If you’ve visited the ROW blog (you did, right?) then you know that the ROWbuddy system is now live and official! ROWbuddies are accountability partners. Someone with common interests and direction. Friends.

You’ll notice that Kait’s post on the ROW blog suggests listing some of your writer statistics. For instance, with Kerry and I; we both are morning people, primarily use Twitter, both enjoy blogging, are plotters and are freshman/sophomore writers (Randy Ingermanson’s terms, his post). We also both enjoy long walks on the beach. *grins* Just kidding on that one, but you get the idea. We mesh.

Kerry Meacham and I took this route during Round 3 and it worked very well. We helped refine each others goals to be realistic and definable. We chatted about our successes and trials throughout the round. Offered advice and motivation and suggestions on where and how to adjust. And knew that we always had a friend out there ready to kick our butt back into gear when the evil internal slacker got out of hand.

So, yeah, if you are looking for a ROWbuddy (and know some of you are or have already found one) then take a moment to let the rest of us know by using the super-cool Linky that Kait has provided. I wish you all the best in your search and hope that you are able to find a ROWbro or ROWsis to share the journey with.

Now, my goals from this last week.

Kristen Lamb’s blogging class: I’ve read the first two assignments and am working on the homework from Lesson Two. Should finish that up today, so in good shape. By the way, if you haven’t taken one of Kristen’s classes I’d encourage you to catch the next one.

NaNo Preparation: I fought, struggled, banged my head on the desk through most of the week trying to find the story in the concept I decided to use. And then. I found it Friday. Guess I had to get all the crappy ideas out of my head first as this concept has been sitting in there festering for ten years. Since Friday, I’ve put in a bit over 12k in outlining: concept and logline (albeit a thin logline at this point), brief character bio’s for my main players, brief descriptions of about half of the story milestones and a list of scene ideas that came immediately to mind. Like a light switch had been flicked and suddenly I could see the story. I’m right on target for November 1.

By the way, if you’re doing NaNoWriMo, I’d be happy to be your NaNo buddy! All ROW80 participants are welcome to buddy up with me. Here’s the link to my NaNo Author Page: GeneLempp. Just send me a private message or leave your info in the comments to be sure I don’t miss adding you back.

I hope you all had a great week. Off to stroll the halls and visit some of you *smile*

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to ROWdate 10-9

  1. Great update and progress on your goals Gene! Glad the story fleshed itself out for you.

  2. All I can say is this; Pat Stewart is amazing and you need to check out this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a-boJLL2BUs&feature=fvst

    Other than that keep up the good work!

  3. kerrymeacham says:

    Another great week ROWbro. I “buddied” you at NaNo, so if you see a buddy called “TheProject” you know that’s me. That was before KL’s branding came along, and as near as I can figure you can’t change handles without losing all previous information. Regardless, let’s NaNo ROWbro!!!

  4. Stacy Green says:

    You’re always so great about staying on task, Gene. I envy you for that. I’m still deciding about NaNo. I think Row80 is more my style.

    Great job!

  5. Marcia says:

    Off to an awesome start, Gene! Partnering seems to work great for you guys. You’re ambitious doing NaNo and Row80 at the same time! I wish you all the best!

  6. Laura says:

    Well done. πŸ™‚

    Also, great suggestion on the ROW buddy. It’s a great idea.
    My NANO username is Laura Parish.

    12K in just outline!! Wow. I’m lucky if I get a page. It’s something I struggle with. I’m actually using Ready, Set, Novel (which was put together by the NANO guys) and it’s been a godsend.

    πŸ™‚ x

  7. Ruth Nestvold says:

    I love it when things come together like that — it’s one of the best moments in writing!

    Keep up the good work and have a great week. πŸ™‚

  8. Ruth Nestvold says:

    BTW, I just added you as a Nanowrimo buddy. My handle there is specficrider.

  9. alberta ross says:

    hi well done on the planning – I have been but its mostly in my head just notes on diff. scenes – must check out ready set novel laura – I have buddied you gene and i will go and buddy the others I’m alberta ross

    all the best for coming week

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Thanks for all the great comments. I’ve been working in the yard and then on NaNo prep all day (which included watching Star Trek Nemesis because I actually had the TV all to myself for two hours, woot! Odd thing was I kept seeing Picard sing the alphabet song. Thanks Jennifer *grins*).

      Laura, Ruth and Alberta: I found and added all of you as NaNo buddies. This is my first NaNo and I’m really looking forward to it πŸ™‚

  10. Just added you as buddy on NaNoWriMo =)

    And 12k of outlining and brainstorming? Nice!
    Keep it up!

  11. andrewmocete says:

    Holy gargantuan outlines, Batman!

    I did NaNo once and once was enough for me. Learned a few things about myself, but so not the best way for me to write. Hope you enjoy your first NaNo!

  12. Lena Corazon says:

    So happy to see that your NaNo story is coming together for you, Gene! I’m excited to follow your progress through November.

    Have a wonderful week!

  13. Sounds like you are doing great. Good luck with your nano preparation. I decided to sit it out this year but I’m wavering. As long as an interesting idea doesn’t suddenly pop into my head that seems doable. Have fun!

  14. C.M. Cipriani says:

    I too decided not to do Nano this year. I really like the freedom of ROW and I’m a mom which means my November is usually dedicated to holiday shopping and cooking (for five kids). November is not a good month for me to take on deadlines (though it’s taken me two years of Nano to figure that out…)

  15. heatherishither says:

    Good job meeting your goals!

  16. Katy Bennett says:

    You know I tend to write first plan second but sounds like the story rolled along of its own accord for you. Best of luck with nano

  17. Susan A. says:

    Looks like you are off to a great start and I’m sure it helps having someone to keep you accountable. Also like the wording for your check-in post! Hope you keep up the good work πŸ™‚

  18. Rowdate! I love that! New catch phrase!

I'd love to chat with you!

