Blog Treasures 9-17

Welcome to my weekly roundup of the best Treasures I’ve found on the blogsphere during the past week. Enjoy!

Featured

As writers and bloggers we are constantly looking for fresh ideas. Life, travel, surfing the net, television, newspapers and magazines, our children, our neighbor’s dog, all can inspire us to write. Jami Gold brings us an excellent post this week that inspired me, I hope it will you as well: Where Do You Get Your Ideas?

On Publishing

Today, I am dedicating this section to YA/MG Writers who have come under increasing fire over issues of language, violence, character sexual orientation, race, and a host of other concerns by a small group of vocal detractors and publicity-seeking venues. Support your YA/MG writers, they are doing fantastic work in the middle of a media minefield. Here are some of this weeks posts:

Kait Nolan hosts Stacey Benefiel on Walking the line between YA and Grown-Up.

From Kait Nolan, herself: Don’t Kill Diversity.

Cate Woods gets to the heart of the matter in It’s Just So Hard: suppressing the inner you.

From Amanda Rudd: My LGBT YA Bookshelf.

On Social Media

Social Media Master for Writers, Kristen Lamb, explores how Social Butterflies trump Worker Bees on Social Media in: Meet the Connector.

There is a right way and a wrong way to approach everything. August McLaughlin explores some of the dangers for writers in Writers’ Deadly Vices.

The fantastic Roni Loren guest posts at Writers in the Storm with White-Knuckling Your Author Platform: How to Rein in the Social Media Pressure.

On the Craft of Writing

How we view our future readers has an impact on how we write. If they were standing on our front lawns waiting to have us read our latest writings to them, how would we treat them? Would your house still be standing afterwards? Kristen Lamb addresses this subject in her continuing series: Deadly Sins of Writing #7–Treating the Reader Like a Moron.

The writer should always be in control of their own story. However, that isn’t always the case. How do we regain and maintain control when things have fallen apart? Roz Morris explores this topic in: I rewrote my novel through a critique group but I’ve lost my way.

Amy Shojai brings us some of the writing tips she learned at Thrillerfest in: Reverse, Reveal, Surprise.

Details are what brings writing to life. Jen Talty hosts P.W. Creighton (@RavenRequiem13) with an excellent post on Contrast, Details, Emotion.

Editing is essential to our writing but there are dangers involved in the process as well. Janice Hardy explores this topic in When Editing Goes Astray.

On the Writing Life

Writers are faced with a myriad of frustrations from life, family, reviews, critiques and unruly muses. Yet, can we use those annoyances to our advantage? Angela Ackerman addresses this subject in: Frustration: Your Novel’s Best Friend.

Carrie Mumford recently participated in a writing challenge and offers us the wisdom she gained on the journey in Lessons Learned from the 3-Day Novel Contest.

No writer is truly an island. Jenny Hansen offers us great tips, keys and advice on How To Build a Writing Team.

Elizabeth S. Craig brings us a great article on 15 Reasons for Writers to Love Libraries. Also from Elizabeth an MUST READ article for writers: Resources to Protect Writers.

Fun Sites

One of my newest online friends, J.M. Randolph (a.k.a. Accidental Step-mom) offers fun posts on the parenting life. The zombie house-guards are a must see: Time Out at My House.

Catie Rhodes explores the measures of beauty over the course of time in What is Beauty?

Piper Bayard’s writing partner Holmes proffers another well-researched and written spy history with Kim Philby: Who’d Have Thought? Why would someone work against their own interests?

Lynn Kelley brings us an excellent profile on writer and graphic artist Tommy Kovac. The cover art pics are well worth the look.

Ellie Soderstrom interviews the first blind feature-length film director Joe M. Monks. Joe is a great inspiration who enjoys blind sky diving, writing horror and recently won the Achievement Award at the Gasparilla International Film Festival.

Clay Morgan hosts Susie Lindau with an excellent post on Danny Elfman – From Oingo Boingo to American Composer.

That’s all for this week.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. “Only the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in Resources and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Blog Treasures 9-17

  1. Terrific post, Gene. Keep up the fantastic work!

  2. Another great mashup Gene. Have a good weekend.

  3. EllieAnn says:

    Cool! Thanks so much for the shout out of Monks’ interview.
    I’ve been reading the MG/YA diversity blogs all week and have such a better idea about the philosophy out there — and my own philosophy. Thanks for the new reads! I enjoyed them.

  4. Lynn Kelley says:

    Wow, what a wonderful surprise, Gene, to find my profile on Tommy Kovac listed in your Blog Treasures! Thanks so much. Tommy will be thrilled, too. And thanks for all of these links – looks like lots of gems for us to check out. I’ve read some of them and look forward to reading the others.

  5. amyshojai says:

    I am SO gonna share this! Something for everyone here, Gene. And thanks for the linky luv.

  6. Amanda Rudd says:

    Thank you for including me! You’re mash-up is wonderful and comprehensive as usual.

  7. carrie m says:

    This is a great round-up, Gene! I love your categories of links. I’m flattered to be included among such wonderful bloggers!

    I’m off to enjoy your reading suggestions over my morning coffee! Thank you!

  8. GREAT links, Gene! I absolutely loved Stacey’s guest post on Kait’s blog, and was really proud of Amanda for listing the group of YA books that have received some controversial criticism these past weeks. As always, my favorite mashup of the week!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Great blogs from all of you this week. I have to echo Tiffany’s comment, I’m very proud of the YA writers this week and how they have stood up against the attempts to suppress and oppress their work. Diversity is the key to change and protecting ours, and our readers, rights is essential to the future.

      To everyone & my readers: You are all special people, don’t ever let anyone tell you different 🙂

  9. L.S. Engler says:

    Hooray, Blog Treasures! I do love all the great and interesting things you post that I can try to catch up on. I think I might actually have a chance today, too.

    I mean, there’s a Danny Elfman link this time around. What more could you want?

  10. Echoing LSEngler here – all this and Danny Elfman too! And thanks for mentioning my post

  11. Piper Bayard says:

    I appreciate the work you put into your mashup. Thank you for the shout out. It’s an honor to be included.

  12. Jenny Hansen says:

    I lo-o-ove Danny Elman – and Gene’s treasures!! Thanks for including me in your mash-up…what a nice present for the weekend. 🙂

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Danny Elfman is a popular link, makes me wish I’d written the piece 🙂

      Jen & J.M. : Glad to have you both on the list. Excellent writing is hard to pass up. Enjoy the links and the weekend!

  13. JM Randolph says:

    Thanks so much for including me! These are some fantastic links!

  14. susielindau says:

    Thanks for the shout out Gene and for making me feel welcome in this part of the the twitterverse!
    It is very much appreciated!!
    I have some reading to do. You have mentioned some very interesting and fun posts!!

  15. Jami Gold says:

    Thanks for the link love, my friend! I’m so happy you found inspiration. 🙂

  16. Thanks for this Gene–I look forward to this every week! And thanks for the mention, too! 🙂

    Angela @ The Bookshelf Muse

I'd love to chat with you!

