ROW80 Update 9-14

Welcome!

Quick update today. It’s an overtime week for us but I’ve not been idle.

I’ve written around 500 words since Sunday. Not great but between work, children and writing blogs (which I if I counted in would put me at 2300 words) I’ve used the time I had available effectively.

I’m nearing the three-quarter mark of Description & Setting and Rozelle’s tips continue to be useful. If you haven’t read this one yet, I’d recommend finding a copy. The chapter segments are given in easy to digest chunks that have allowed me to steadily progress while waiting on children and sporting events.

I am guest posting over on Nicole Basaraba’s site today with a review of Blake Snyder’s Save the Cat. While written for screenwriters, the practical advice given by Snyder equates perfectly for novelists and writers of all kinds. Give it a look.

My newest Designing from Bones, Kitchen of Time, is up as well.

How has your week been? Read anything this week that is clever and crafty?

That’s it for now.

Peaceful Journeys!

About Gene Lempp

Gene Lempp is a writer blending elements of alternate history, the paranormal, fantasy, science fiction and horror for dark and delicious fun. He unearths stories by digging into history, archeology, myth and fable in his Designing from Bones blog series. β€œOnly the moment is eternal and in a moment, everything will change,” sums the heart of his philosophy. You can find Gene at his Blog, Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, WANATribe, Google+, Pinterest and StumbleUpon.
This entry was posted in ROW80 Updates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to ROW80 Update 9-14

  1. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Yeah, Life sometimes slows down the writing a bit, doesn’t it? But 500 words is better than none!

    Now I *really* have to read Rozelle. Maybe it will go with me to Norway …

  2. *bows down to you sir* A round of applause for those 500 words – and for all your productivity! It’s easy to tell yourself that you can’t make time to write…but you fit it in, and that’s kudos worthy πŸ™‚ I’m intrigued to read the Designing from Bones post and will stop by once I’m done here.

    Keep up your amazing progress! I can’t believe we have only a week left! Hope to see you in the next round!

    Marie πŸ™‚

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Marie: Thanks. Yes, I will definitely be back next round. I’m already thinking through goals that take my recent schedule shifts into account. Glad to see you enjoyed the Designing from Bones post as well πŸ™‚

      L.S: Have to agree with you on that. 500 quality words are worth more than 3000 that will need to be deleted later. Thanks for the comment and support πŸ™‚

  3. L.S. Engler says:

    500 words is definitely good stuff indeed! Sometimes, I think I feel even more accomplished with “just 500 words” when I’ve got a lot of other stuff going on, because that’s still pretty good for everything else keeping me busy in life. Keep up the great work, Gene!

  4. Ahhh, the fall sporting schedule! I’m able to laugh at it….as my boys participate in a winter sport. But don’t worry, I’ll be getting mine soon enough. It’s great that you made time – even a short time – to write. Habits are something you seem to understand. ~ Nadja

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Yeah, I have habits down, just figuring out how to work a habit when there is no set schedule. But I think I’m making progress on that. Have to be ready to seize the moments all the time. I get the sports schedule fall through spring (actually the older one never stops for more than a week, year round).

  5. Well, Gene I know you’ve been doing a lot more work than the appearance the number 500 gives you! Adding Rozelle to my reading list. Thanks for the tip. Of course Save the Cat is on my list now too. I think I will be turning to you for all craft book recommendations from now on. You should be dubbed the King of Craft!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Nicole: Thanks. I started as a pantser (why do I need a book I know how to write, right?) and didn’t get very far due to lack of structure. Luckily, I’d been collecting books on writing that “I would get to some day”. Well, a year ago that day came and I devoured about 30-40 craft books at 1-2 a week, ran out and bought more. So yeah, I’ve read a bit πŸ™‚

      Marcia: It does get hectic at times but I totally adore my daughters. They work with me to be sure I get things done as well. Its a nice trade off πŸ™‚

      Jaleh: You’ll love Save the Cat. There is a wealth of advice in that book and Blake Snyder has a very relaxed voice. Thanks for the support!

  6. Marcia says:

    Great job, Gene! I’m reading Save the Cat as well, so I’m heading over to see your review! I remember how it was to be running the kids everywhere, so kudos for all you were able to accomplish!

  7. Jaleh says:

    I’m hoping to pick up a copy of Save the Cat in a few weeks. Good luck over this next week!

  8. I hear ya on having to squeeze in writing and blogging time between kids and everything else. Nice job on the forward progress.

    I loved Save the Cat, it really changed my focus for writing (and inspired a love of books on the craft). I’ll have to find Description and Setting as well.

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Every parent understands this one and every non-parent is glad they don’t (or should be *smile*). Definitely pick up Description & Setting its like a 200 page master-grade college course on the subject. Rozelle does a fantastic job!

  9. Great job ROWbro. Life happens, but you still worked through it. One week left in the ROW80. Rock on.

  10. Hang in there! You’re still doing well. There’s natural ups and downs with the writing, I think. I’m still working on Save the Cat. Loving it so far. It’s really making me think about my MIP in a new way. Going to put Description and Setting on the reading list too.

  11. deniz says:

    Sounds like a good week! I can’t believe we’ve only got one week to go – better look over my own goals!

    • Gene Lempp says:

      Sonia: Agreed. Life does tend to be cyclic. Hope you enjoy Save the Cat, great read.

      Deniz: Less than an a week and wow it seems to have gone quickly. Can’t wait for Round Four. Have a great week.

I'd love to chat with you!

